We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 4 star hotel+”
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #59 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great 4 star hotel+”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Wonderfully quiet little boutique Hotel with the most helpful, polite and friendly staff nothing was too much trouble for them to help us in any way (mad receptionist though !) Not worth spending huge amounts of money in Rome when you are going to be out all day, so this was perfect. Location is a 10 minute walk to the Vatican City and 15 mins to the Spanish Steps. It doesn't have a restaurant but there are a number of little restaurants nearby. Only poor comment is that much more could be made of the open-air rooftop terrace - otherwise no criticisms. Would definately stay there again when in Rome

Room Tip: The higheer the floor number (there are 6 in all) the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    532
    102
    21
    12
See reviews for
285
762
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our second time at the Hotel Dei Mellini. It's a nice boutique hotel. We were in town for the canonization of John Paul II so we wanted to be within walking distance of the Vatican. Great location not only for the Vatican but for the rest of the city. Our daughter was traveling with us and we had a great room that had a separate sitting area which had a sleeper sofa. Room wasn't huge but was very comfortable. Front desk staff is always very helpful. A number of nice neighborhood restaurants within walking distance which is wonderful after long days of sightseeing. We plan on staying here the next time we come to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just arrived home yesterday after staying at the dei mellini.

The attentive service and great recommendations made our stay both pleasurable and memorable.

It does seem, that anything is doable by this hotel and the consistency of service in all areas for us was faultless.

They kindly printed our boarding passes, our collesseum tickets and if you simply ask for a type of resturant, trust in the reply....location wise, fantastic.......20 mins to spanish step and the trevi fountain and 30 minutes to the Vatican (heed the advice and buy on line, you will regret if you do not) and 40 mins to the collesseum....all at a leisurely pace.

When we go back to rome, this is the only choice for us...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked this hotel with British Airways Holidays for my wife, one of her brothers and myself (01/05/14 to 04/05/14). The hotel proved to be in a very convenient quite position within easy walking distance of all the sights. The hotel staff were very helpful and the rooms very clean. Not having a restaurant was one of the down sides but there were quality choices nearby also the hotel provided good options further a field. The other downside was the cost of drinks but the bar staff were extremely helpful and it was convenient after a hard days walking to take some time to reflect on the day. We booked a deluxe room which was a good size and quite with plenty of storage.

We had breakfast included and it was a good standard with plenty of choice including scrambled eggs which were average, but that's understandable because of the lack of a full kitchen.

My wife used the internet in the public areas and had no issues with speed.

All three of us agreed that we would not hesitate to stay again because of the staff, cleanness and the convenient position.

Overall nice hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erskine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have recently returned from our honeymoom in Rome where we stayed at this beautiful Hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here the staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful to us. The rooms were spotlessly clean and tidied everyday for us with fresh towels, pillow cases etc. The hotel is in a great position, within walking distance to the Vatican, Trevi Fountain and the beautiful buildings of Rome an the Vatican City. We loved it and hope to return again very soon, we can highly recommend this hotel to couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we were a little bit late in booking our hotel for this trip and could get into this hotel which was not our first choice. opnion revised. definitely a nice area that gets quiet (nicely, not worrisomely) at night but still very close to most attractions. service friendly. room was big for roman standards. clean. We loved our shower. would return, though maybe not as first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toon Town
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent location virtually on the Tiber but in quiet area and just 15 minutes walk to the Vatican. Not cheap but location is everything. Good breakfast, with clean rooms and public areas. Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PassionateGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#68 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Property: Hotel Dei Mellini
Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing