We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Excellent Service ”
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #59 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Excellent Service ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We ended up moving to this hotel from another hotel, what a pleasure and great change. We had a suite which had a king size bed in the bedroom with a full bathroom and lots of closet space, plus shelves and drawers, additionally there was a living room with a full sized sofa bed and a dining table with 4 chairs and another half bathroom. There was a door to close off the bedroom from the living room as well and each had their own air conditioning controls. In the living room there was a tea/coffee pot too.
This was clean and spacious. The staff was so friendly and took the time to know out names and greet us directly. One evening I was carrying my sleeping 6 year old son in and the bellman opened the door, the elevator and walked me to the room and opened the room without even asking!
We liked the location as it was a bit out of the tourist section but a 12 min walk (with child) to Piazza de Popolo. The restaurants nearby were good.
The only suggestion is bring hair conditioner...they had nice bathroom amenities but no conditioner.
Also, the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, however they do have great breakfast, we enjoyed the fresh fruit selections and home made granola. We brought dinner in one evening and sat very comfortably in our living room to enjoy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ynaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    532
    102
    21
    12
See reviews for
285
762
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in June 2014 and asked for a quiet room. We did get that, apart from being able to hear the lift - but that did not spoil our sleep.

Hotel is small and on a quiet street only a short distance to walk from Piazza Navona, we enjoyed being slightly out of the centre of things. Room was fine, small but clean and had everything you'd normally expect (except i-Pod docks should be standard hotel equipment by now shouldn't they?). Staff were great, helpful and knowledgeable.

We took advantage of their limo service back to the airport at the end of our stay which was a little more expensive than a cab but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyP36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Dei Mellini. We had a truly wonderful time. The staff were lovely and our room was quiet and cool. The hotel is clean and perfectly located to walk and see the sites. Rome is a beautiful city and the only negative comment would be that in the shops we experienced some very surly and officious treatment. We would recommend this hotel to any visitors who want a quiet hotel close to the heart of the city. The staff really couldn't make you more welcome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and were extremely happy with everything about this hotel from the location, staff, accommodation and facilities and would definitely return. The staff at reception pointed us in the direction of several good restaurants as well as directions and the best way to travel to the attractions.

Room Tip: I can't speak for other rooms but we were on the 4th floor and were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

we loved our stay at this hotel. from the moment we walked in the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. they catered to all our needs, we were upgraded to a family room with a great view and although the room was a bit worn out and could use a bit of a refurb/retouching, it was very spacious and comfortable. breakfast was excellent. wifi a bit spotty but good enough. amenities in the room good. walking distance from a lot of the main attractions and in a nice residential street away from the buses and big groups of tourists.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dvt1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Mellini for two nights and had booked it based on all the positive reviews ... which were absolutely correct.

We stayed in a 3 person deluxe room (2 adults and 10 year old) and found it to be absolutely perfect. The main bedroom was very spacious (king bed, 2 night stands, desk, armoire with TV, double armoire with safe and bathroom). The main bedroom was divided with a door to the second room which had a pullout couch, armoire with TV, side table, and table with two chairs as well as a separate bathroom. We simply weren't expecting this much space so close to all the sites in Ancient Rome - it is literally a 20 minute walk to all the important sites.

We were also pleasantly surprised when we arrived to have a nice bowl of fresh fruits and a bottle of prosecco on ice. Very nice touch! We had wifi in our room which was great to check in on emails and my daughter on her ipod ... we could use up to 3 devices at once.

The breakfast was plentiful and from what I noticed everyone seemed to find something they enjoyed (cereals, toast, croissant, cake, deli meets, breads, eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, juices, milk).

Everyone was very pleasant to deal with and we would definitely recommend this hotel and return when in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise_S_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Thank you! Thank you! My husband and I were very pleased with our accommodations especially after a long day of standing and walking from tours. We couldn't wait to get to our lovely room. Initially, our deluxe room was smaller so I requested the larger deluxe since we were going to be there 11 nights. The receptionist Valentina helped us with getting the bigger room as well as with making sure our tours were scheduled appropriately. Grazie, to the bartender Desiree, who took good care of us, and made sure we had all we needed!! The breakfast staff should be commended for making sure my husband had his cappuccino extra hot every morning! The moonlight on the Terrace was romantic, and we made it part of our daily routine. Our first trip to Roma was phenomenal, and the staff at the Mellini helped make our vacation simply Fabulous!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#68 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Property: Hotel Dei Mellini
Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing