We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up to American Standards”
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #63 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Up to American Standards”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived at about 9:30am after an overnight flight from New York. We were exhausted and really wanted to take a nap. Our "Superior" room, which we had booked, was not available yet. But after explaining how tired we were, we were given an upgraded Deluxe room within a few minutes.
We were located on the 1st floor (which is really a 2nd floor in Europe) facing a quiet courtyard. The room was very lovely with a small entry foyer that had a large closet with drawers. The bed chamber was spacious and had 12ft ceilings, floor to ceiling light blocking drapes and a comfy chair to sit in. The bathroom was modern with a full bathtub and removable showerhead. It also included a bidet. hair dryer and a small bench at the vanity. It should be noted that the rooms do not include irons. Our second destination after Rome also did not. So I recommend bringing a small travel iron or steamer. Room keys turn on the electricity in the room, they have a very nice electronic climate control and "Do Not Disturb" signal---Make sure your room key is in when operating these.
The lobby of the hotel has great color and style. There is a small lobby bar where we enjoyed a few drinks before heading out to dinner. The staff were very helpful to us. They made local phone calls for us when we had trouble and also arranged car service.
The included breakfast was more than we expected in Europe. Along with the traditional continental breakfast (cakes , cereals, fruits, ham and cheeses) Every day there were scrambled eggs and hot sausages and ham. The wait staff were so friendly and remembered that I loved cappuccino every morning.
The location was in a more quiet part of Rome near The Vatican. I would assume a business/residential area. Some restaurants were closed in the area since we were there in August on a holiday week. But no problem, just a walk across the river and the tourist area is bustling
I would stay here again as it lived up to what we would expect in an upscale Boutique American hotel.

Room Tip: As the hotel is on a quiet street,. don't get hung up on your view. There is not much to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamarara65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    537
    102
    21
    12
See reviews for
286
767
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a very good hotel in Rome with quality of service. The suites are very well decorated. The only issue we had reason why I don´t give it an excellent rating is that the sofa bed is extremely uncomfortable. If you are traveling with four people no problem. If there is an extra person in the room I don´t recommend this suites. There is nothing better when traveling that experiencing a great night sleep. The Sofa bed did not allow that for one go our kids. Aside from that this is a great and very friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Remember this is a Hotel with nice suites fro two people. Sofa Beds very bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Very clean and modern hotel. The superior double room was comfortable with the air conditioning. Staff was very friendly all spoke English and helped with making arrangements. Free wifi in the lobby and public areas also a major plus. Good location if you don't mind walking a little bit to all the major attractions. Breakfast was also very good and nice selection.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank brybluts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni_Mellini, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
We all hope that from next year celebrating your anniversary should become a tradition here at the Hotel dei Mellini.
Thanks again,


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is in walking distance of many of Rome's best sights, and is located on a quaint side street. The room was clean, but we had an inward facing room with a small vestibule below where people liked to smoke. The smell was unpleasant and unavoidable, but otherwise the room was fine, if smaller than expected. Service at the hotel is not great, we asked for dinner reservations to be made and it was not taken care of or recorded, which led to some hassle. The included breakfast is mediocre at best, and pretty sparse. We expected more considering what we paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewokrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni_Mellini, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.
Although I am pleased that you found your room to be pleasant and well appointed, it is unfortunate to hear about the smell of cigarette,we would move you in a different room if we knew it. I apologize for this, and assure you that this feedback will be regarded in a constructive manner.
Thank you again for your review and I hope that you will consider our Hotel on your next visit to Rome.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent a week at this hotel and had a very nice deluxe room. The view was not great being at the rear of the hotel, but this was not a problem for us. There is a very well maintained sun terrace. You can order food and drink or take your own up there. There is even a gymnasium! Meals and snacks can be ordered at the bar but we never tried this.The staff were really lovely and helpful. Breakfast was pretty good with as much as you liked to take. Wifi is free in the hotel lounge for up to 1MB which was ample for us. The TV in the room is only free for the news channels. To view more channels it cost 15 Euros a day which we thought a bit expensive, especially for the length of time you are in the room. The hotel is situated within walking distance of most attractions but we caught a bus to the Colosseum. Buses and the Metro are easy to use and very cheap. We would not hesitate to go back to this hotel and can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sootyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 night stay in Rome, booked a small package deal through an airline, up graded the hotel to the Dei Melling because of a roof terrace, the hotel was fine, and clean, always a good start. The rooms were comfortable and beds were a good size. The breakfast was good with a choice of hot and cold food. Shame you couldn't have this on the terrace though. It was also a shame that there was no evening restaurant just some light bar food, saying this there are loads of places to eat close by. The hotel is in a really good position, close to the river 10 minutes walk to st Peters Basilica and about 30 to the collesium. Loads to do though it was 37 degree's, maybe late September might be better next time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on our second trip to Rome. We chose this hotel based on location and reviews. Apart from the Colosseum all the other 'major' attractions are within a 20 minute walk. The hotel is very clean, rooms were spotless and although we had no view (inward facing) this didn't spoil our stay. We were on 6th floor where the roof top terrace is and used it every day, the hotel don't seem to mind you bringing your own wine/beer on to the terrace and it was ideal to relax after long hot days walking around the city. The staff deserve a mention as well, reception, breakfast, bar staff and housekeeping were all very pleasant and helpful - nothing was ever too much trouble. They will recommend local restaurants within easy walking distance which was good after sightseeing all day. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinWhereIsTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#46 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Property: Hotel Dei Mellini
Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing