We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel - excellent accommodation, amenities, staff and location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #69 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel - excellent accommodation, amenities, staff and location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

When we read the glowing reviews for this hotel we thought that it was unlikely that it could be THAT good. In fact, it was better! From the welcoming staff on arrival, to the little touches during our stay, everything was of the best. We had a spacious suite in which every detail was well thought out - a bottle of wine and fruit when we arrived, two WCs, two TVs, even a built-in square plug socket and an iphone charging point. The rooms were immaculate with linen and towels changed daily. The staff could not have been more helpful with tips about local restaurants and sites, and, although the hotel is not located in the centre, it is within a very pleasant 10 minute walk of the hustle and bustle of the city. Yet, after a fulfilling meal and local wine, it was a pleasure to meander back to the quiet of the hotel. All in all, four blissful days.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Two_Summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni_Mellini, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we all are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel dei Mellini reading how much you enjoyed the people here and the service at the hotel.

Please come and visit us soon again.

With warmest personal regards,

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    524
    102
    21
    12
See reviews for
274
740
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was my first trip to rome done a lot of research and wanted a unforgettable experience and I think we done well we booked through ba and they were fantastic first half more hotel second half rome

Transfers firstly I will be leaving a review separately for that horrendous company who left us at the airport for 2 hours and we ended up with a taxi which ba reimbursed us for that was £50 euros and we paid 88 English pounds so just get a taxi !! Pick up was to early really we could have had another hour

Arrival was quick and efficient lady who was pregnant ( Francesca I think ) was lovely and smilie gave us maps and was shown to our suite I had emailed before I went and they were friendly and quick to reply ! Nothing was to much trouble and always happy to help

Room we had was a suite room 310 if. Have the money pay it was lovely quiet clean huge with prosesco and fruit BED was best bed I've ever slept in turndown service fab ( maybe some water a day would be good ) no view but doubt u got one anywhere here even on street as quiet location was good between Vatican and collessum everywhere is walkable was lovely and quiet and out if the hustle of main streets
Roof terrace was lovely had beds and we often went up for some drinks it was always quiet and clean
Air con fab !!!

Negatives ;
Food wasn't personally good to me the breakfast staff were lovely and smilie welcoming and clean but the food left to be desired I know it's free and this what husband said to me constantly but they didn't even have toast just rolls cheese ham 3 cereals quassionts just to keep up the rating I would up the breakfast drinks fab hubby loved coffee and times were fantastic if u was early start or laying in

WIFI we paid £15 euros for 4 days for 2 devices your a 4 star this should be included considering it wasn't very good and couldn't always get it in room I needed it to contact children at home

BUT everything else was positive this is me being picky !! So don't be put off I loved it would stay again but them things could make the hotel pretty perfect !

We booked tours through ba and they used company called city wonders will also leave a review there but had valentina and Tiberius for our tours fab knowledgeable and worth every penny the second u see the ques ! We did the underground collessum tour do it while u can !

Ate a lunch at the cafe monumento de Emmanuel so resonable price wise and a fab view even ice fans we got sandwich 4 drinks for under £20 euros

We did everything Vatican climbed St. Peter sistine chaple all the walking places and collessum plantiine hill .. plan your time well and maybe check when work is being done ( and u in good health as exhusting lol ) maybe because it is August but Trevi fountain Spanish steps was completely under scaffolding some of the collessum but this didn't effect us seeing it

GO to piazza narvona for dinner we did on Saturday and its wonderful serenading food people watching in a magical little square !!

Recommend hotel and rome loved it

Room Tip: Suite if u can worth it ! Email hotel before ours was amazing :) 310
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muffinmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived at about 9:30am after an overnight flight from New York. We were exhausted and really wanted to take a nap. Our "Superior" room, which we had booked, was not available yet. But after explaining how tired we were, we were given an upgraded Deluxe room within a few minutes.
We were located on the 1st floor (which is really a 2nd floor in Europe) facing a quiet courtyard. The room was very lovely with a small entry foyer that had a large closet with drawers. The bed chamber was spacious and had 12ft ceilings, floor to ceiling light blocking drapes and a comfy chair to sit in. The bathroom was modern with a full bathtub and removable showerhead. It also included a bidet. hair dryer and a small bench at the vanity. It should be noted that the rooms do not include irons. Our second destination after Rome also did not. So I recommend bringing a small travel iron or steamer. Room keys turn on the electricity in the room, they have a very nice electronic climate control and "Do Not Disturb" signal---Make sure your room key is in when operating these.
The lobby of the hotel has great color and style. There is a small lobby bar where we enjoyed a few drinks before heading out to dinner. The staff were very helpful to us. They made local phone calls for us when we had trouble and also arranged car service.
The included breakfast was more than we expected in Europe. Along with the traditional continental breakfast (cakes , cereals, fruits, ham and cheeses) Every day there were scrambled eggs and hot sausages and ham. The wait staff were so friendly and remembered that I loved cappuccino every morning.
The location was in a more quiet part of Rome near The Vatican. I would assume a business/residential area. Some restaurants were closed in the area since we were there in August on a holiday week. But no problem, just a walk across the river and the tourist area is bustling
I would stay here again as it lived up to what we would expect in an upscale Boutique American hotel.

Room Tip: As the hotel is on a quiet street,. don't get hung up on your view. There is not much to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamarara65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a very good hotel in Rome with quality of service. The suites are very well decorated. The only issue we had reason why I don´t give it an excellent rating is that the sofa bed is extremely uncomfortable. If you are traveling with four people no problem. If there is an extra person in the room I don´t recommend this suites. There is nothing better when traveling that experiencing a great night sleep. The Sofa bed did not allow that for one go our kids. Aside from that this is a great and very friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Remember this is a Hotel with nice suites fro two people. Sofa Beds very bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Very clean and modern hotel. The superior double room was comfortable with the air conditioning. Staff was very friendly all spoke English and helped with making arrangements. Free wifi in the lobby and public areas also a major plus. Good location if you don't mind walking a little bit to all the major attractions. Breakfast was also very good and nice selection.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank brybluts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni_Mellini, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
We all hope that from next year celebrating your anniversary should become a tradition here at the Hotel dei Mellini.
Thanks again,


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is in walking distance of many of Rome's best sights, and is located on a quaint side street. The room was clean, but we had an inward facing room with a small vestibule below where people liked to smoke. The smell was unpleasant and unavoidable, but otherwise the room was fine, if smaller than expected. Service at the hotel is not great, we asked for dinner reservations to be made and it was not taken care of or recorded, which led to some hassle. The included breakfast is mediocre at best, and pretty sparse. We expected more considering what we paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewokrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni_Mellini, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.
Although I am pleased that you found your room to be pleasant and well appointed, it is unfortunate to hear about the smell of cigarette,we would move you in a different room if we knew it. I apologize for this, and assure you that this feedback will be regarded in a constructive manner.
Thank you again for your review and I hope that you will consider our Hotel on your next visit to Rome.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent a week at this hotel and had a very nice deluxe room. The view was not great being at the rear of the hotel, but this was not a problem for us. There is a very well maintained sun terrace. You can order food and drink or take your own up there. There is even a gymnasium! Meals and snacks can be ordered at the bar but we never tried this.The staff were really lovely and helpful. Breakfast was pretty good with as much as you liked to take. Wifi is free in the hotel lounge for up to 1MB which was ample for us. The TV in the room is only free for the news channels. To view more channels it cost 15 Euros a day which we thought a bit expensive, especially for the length of time you are in the room. The hotel is situated within walking distance of most attractions but we caught a bus to the Colosseum. Buses and the Metro are easy to use and very cheap. We would not hesitate to go back to this hotel and can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sootyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#80 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Property: Hotel Dei Mellini
Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing