We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #334 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Second time I have stayed here and seems to have been improved from last time with better breakfast and updated decor.location can't be beat, just across from the river, walking distance to the vatican and other major sites. Good aircon and wi-fi,which has complicated instructions. Excellent proximity for airport bus. Only downside is the staff, who have difficulty dealing with check-in, key returns, payment. Systems they use need updating so if checking out be prepared to wait.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    367
    142
    48
    45
See reviews for
187
372
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Some reviews were less than complimentary about the Annexe, we were on the 3rd floor and it has just been refurbished, it was clean, comfortable, with aircon and doubleglazing. Added bonus that there was a small Cafe opposite for breakfast croissants and coffee ( we were room only) also a Pizzeria opposite. It is close to all the main sites , we bought tickets on the plane for the 'Bus shuttle' the Vatican stop is only 200mtrs from Hotel so a very good option.We loved our stay there

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Me and my friend stayed in hotel Sant angelo for 5 days of our beautiful trip to Rome. Regarding the prices in centrally located roman hotels, we did not expect much, but vere pleasantly soprised. Everything in this hotel was almost perfect - small but clean and charming room, very clean bathroom, very good brakfast with variety of all kinds of very tasty food, service and above all - excellent location. Also, very important is a fact that the airport Fuimicino is easily reachable by shuttle bus and bus stop is located only about 100m from the hotel.
We will definatelly go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bojanajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We had a triple bed room, quite small but pleasant and very quiet. The air conditioning worked well. The breakfast was nice (fruits, breads, chocolate and vanilla breads, cereals...). The staff was very friendly, they speak english but also french. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mag-90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel's biggest advantage is its location. It's near Piazza Cavour, just a short walking distance away from Vatican City with St Peter's Square, only 10 minutes to the Spanish Steps the rest of the tourist attractions in Rome really aren't that far either. The room was spacious enough and the beds very comfortable. It's in a quiet neighbourhood, so street noise is virtually non-existent. However, the doors and walls are wafer thin and you can hear everything that goes on in the hotel, so there was a lot of noise early in the morning or late at night.

The bathroom has everything it should have, but the shower is incredibly tiny, especially if you're a tall person, like me. But the most inconvenient part was that the shower's sliding door was broken and couldn't be properly closed, flooding half the little bathroom every time we took a shower.

Breakfast was better than we had expected. The buffet is nice and everything that's being offered is quite tasty as well.

One problem we did encounter though: we had booked 2 double rooms, but when we arrived we were informed that the second room would only be ready at 5pm (event hough check-in is from 2pm onwards) because they were still in the middle of refurbishing. When we checked it later on, the paint fumes were horrible and we couldn't possibly sleep in it. The hotel staff was very apologetic and immediately put us into another room, but this one was across the street at another building, effectively separating us from our friends, which was a bit disappointing. When we returned from exploring the city the day after, we found our key was no longer at reception, they had apparently lost it. Another long problem ensued. (They did end up giving us a discount on the second room, in the end).

Hotel staff was very friendly, spoke English and French well and were very eager to help us with the unforeseen problems. Nevertheless, we couldn't help but compare the situations which we faced with an episode of 'Fawlty Towers'.

All in all, I don't think I'd stay here again. It was a bit overpriced for what you end up getting.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We arrived at hotel Sant Angelo and were greated by a young friendly italian who spoke english very well. We were told we had to walk over 50 meters to another building where our room was. It was a little inconvenient with all our bags but off we went. The room was big enough and our bathroom was a good size (Europe standards). I was told I could get wireless but had a hard time finding it. After calling the front desk, the young man told me he'd come over to help me out, which he did and very much appreciated. The staff was very kind, all three that we dealt with. We found it a little expensive compared to the other hotels where we stayed, with things seem to be much more expensive in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We booked up the 'annex' room with booking.com. I was nervous, as it was slightly cheaper than another listing claiming rooms of the same size.
I needn't have worried too much - the room was basic but the reason it was cheaper was it was in another building on the same road. I get the feeling it was a residential building but we saw & heard few people. (if you paid for breakfast inclusive, you'd have to walk down the road for it).
The room had a double bed (requested, as often you get twin beds in a continental room), wardrobe, dressing table with the tv on it and a couple of chairs (not comfy ones).

We asked for extra pillows (expected there to be extra in the wardrobe but there wasnt) and never got them. Other than that minor problem, we had a stress free stay in Rome.

ooh word of advice...... dont book a taxi (to the airport for example) from the receptionist as they cant guarantee the price and you might end up paying a call out fee. Instead walk from the hotel towards the Vatican and there is a taxi rank in the first square (piazza cavour) - it's mins down the road.

Overall, not a posh hotel but it did the trick and we slept well here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BorisBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#223 of 1,257 in Rome
784 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#63 of 1,257 in Rome
625 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#184 of 1,257 in Rome
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#492 of 1,257 in Rome
518 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#73 of 1,257 in Rome
1,148 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#161 of 1,257 in Rome
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Property: Hotel Sant'Angelo
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#323 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing