We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Ranked #358 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location, great room, but the best of the hotel are the staff. Friendly and helpful professionals. They did my trip and my stay easy and amazing.
They spent their time with me to explain all the beautiful places near to visit ever with a smile in their faces.
Free happy hour at 6:30 pm with wine and something to eat. This is another thing to comment.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarmolBeCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed here after an all night flight. We were exhausted and went on tours all day while the hotel held our luggage. After reading prior reviews I made sure that my travel agent booked our room in the main hotel and not the annex. Much to our demise, when we arrived back at the hotel the bell hop brought us to the annex. We were place in room 401. It was terrible as the air conditioner did not work. After speaking to the front desk we found out that the hotel was overbooked for the night. We were not charged for the night, which was great. We slept only because we were exhausted. The following night we were placed in the main building in an air conditioned room. Yay! My advice- Stay here in the main building, enjoy the breakfast and the great location in Rome. Book directly with the hotel and arrange for them to pick you up from the airport for a nominal fee.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Loveart07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My stay at Hotel Sant Angelo was wonderful! The staff was very friendly and everything was in walking distance! The rooms are perfect, with nice amenities. The hotel has a warm feeling and it is a little older (sticking with Roman tradition) which makes it very charming. I would recommend the hotel to friends and family and would consider staying again next time I am in Rome.

Room Tip: The rooms can be a little loud, request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kailhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent service with helpful staff who were very willing to help. Comfortable rooms with everything you need and great location especially for the Vatican. The only negative was that the air conditioning was very loud!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keeleigh1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our stay at hotel sant Angelo was very pleasant. We had a nice room and the staf was very kind and offert good service. We definitely want to come back again. The location of the hotel is very good. You can visit many things within short time walking from the hotel which is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maribel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel before heading to Sorrento. Its location is spot on, you can walk to central Rome in around 20 minutes. Lovely restaurants and bars very close by too. The staff were really helpful and recommended a superb restaurant a few minutes away - we arrived quite late into the evening so this was fab. The room was pretty basic but we spent so little time there it more than did the job. Breakfast was lovely - just what you need before a busy day exploring Rome. I think next time I visit Rome and would perhaps go for a more luxury hotel but if all you need is a place to sleep I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The very best part about this hotel is its location. The neighborhood is quiet, calm and safe and one can easily access central Rome by foot from the hotel. A 15-minute walk to the Vatican and 20-25 minutes to Piazza Navona or the Spanish steps and really good shopping.

As for the hotel itself.. The rooms are quite simple and small but essentially has everything you need. Beds comfortable and AC in the room worked well. However, the bathroom was very small and also the ventilation in the bathroom was not good at all. As a result of bad ventilation, there was black mould on the tile and in the corners of the shower space, which is of course unacceptable. Due to this there was also a very bad smell in the bathroom and we had to keep the bathroom door closed at all times. The showerhead was also leaking and water pressure therefore very low, which made showering quite challenging. When pointing this out to the staff someone in the staff did try to fix the showerhead, although it made barely any difference. Since there was black mould - which certainly isn't healthy to inhale - in the shower we asked to switch rooms but as the hotel was fully booked it wasn't possible. Instead we received a 10% price reduction, which is an unacceptably low compensation considering there was toxic black mould in our room. However, that's all they could give us, we were told.

Breakfast standard was a little mediocre but acceptable.

Staff was very friendly and service-minded with what they could do, although we had expected a much better compensation than a low 10% price reduction for our trouble.

Because of the friendly staff and the superb location we could consider staying there again if the rooms were sanitized and guaranteed black mould-free.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gl0betr0tterP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#209 of 1,269 in Rome
803 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#197 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#104 of 1,269 in Rome
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#62 of 1,269 in Rome
662 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#253 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,269 in Rome
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Angelo

Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Rome
#322 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing