We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid
Ranked #258 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here and enjoyed our stay. I liked the location as some days we walked to the main attractions and when not feeling to energetic we jumped on the tram, which was only a short walk. Sitting outside eating our breakfast with a view across to the top of St Peters was lovely. The breakfast was fine. Several nice local restaurants nearby.
I didn't find the people of Rome very friendly but I had already been warned of this. Rome is beautiful and there is so much to see.
For location and value I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar01Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    296
    98
    16
    12
See reviews for
111
263
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to stay at this hotel tonight. We walked into our room and found bed bugs. So disgusted we decided not to spend the night there. The man at the front desk was nice, but Best Western made us pay for one night anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therealgregmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFF_ASTRID, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
dear Madam
I am deeply sorry about this big misunderstanding!
Please accept my sincere apology but as our Revenue Manager, Laura, told you by phone, we are making prevention against this kind of bedbugs, because we know this is a big problem in many Hotels in all touristic city.
We use to put a bedbugs traps under our beds so we can check every day that everything is ok, in effect you didn’t see any bedbugs in your bed !
Kind regards,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my husband (first time for him) are on holiday in Italy for three weeks. What a great start staying at Best Western Astrid Hotel!
First, We were welcomed by Marie, she was such a cheerful lady, it was great to know that our room was ready for us after 25 hours of flying on two flights.
Room was tiny but clean and comfortable. The mini bar has 4 bottles of complementary water which wasca nice touch, wifi was good and free. Breakfast was delicious, we love the balcony table. It was a good choice. We enjoyed our stay at Astrid Hotel. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rover_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Friendly staff (a must for me), really good breakfast with spectacular view on rome!

This is placed in an old building so the rooms are not the biggest I've seen :-))

We were in a room near breakfast area so we can hear the staff preparing breakfasts but, at the same time, we had a beautiful view on st Peter!

From a logistic perspective is ok, just take tram number 2 and you're at flaminio station (never waited more than 5 mins for the trAm)

Room Tip: If possible avoid rooms closest to breakfast area but ask for something on fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hric0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel is a great choice for a short stay in Rome. Great location (nearby Plazza de popolo) with the tram that is 1min walking distance. The welcome was fantastic and the team (at breakfast and in HK) were absolutely first class (reception team Always happy to help with advises, direction and even ticket booking).
Breakfast & internet are included in the room rate!
We would stay again in this nice, cosy and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CedricGaillard_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

we stayed here for 6 nites in July.the hotel itself is not located downtown..but dont let that put you off because there is a tram line just 100 metres away that takes you straight to piazza del popolo and Flamini underground station in just 5 minutes..and the ticket you buy on the tram ( 1.50 ) covers u for the underground also.
The rooms in the hotel are ok..but a bit small and the bathroom shower cubicle very very small
breakfast was tasty and plentiful on the fifth floor with nice views
the hotel has wifi..but i found the connection was very unpredictable and i had to constantly login..but i not worry about it because we are out alot.
The staff here are very professional and very helpful in everything..speak excellent english and always making you feel very welcome and they will do anything for you.
even though its a best western it is a family run hotel and even the owner works in reception ( valentina ) so everybody is taken care of "first class" style
there are some restaurants near the hotel and we tried a few of them..ok but not what i call "typical italian food"
overall this hotel is good value for money and i would recommend..the wonderful staff far outweigh everything else!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFF_ASTRID, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Sir,

We want to thank you for finding time to write this review about our hotel. Let me tell you that we are very glad to know that our structure gave you a good experience. We look forward to a future opportunity to serve your lodging needs.

Sincerely

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here for a long time (more than 7 nights), enjoyed everything. I have been in a lot of hotels, but I can definitely say that reception desk is the best I have ever seen. So kind so helpful, so outgoing. I truly cannot say anything more that Thank you all ! Breakfast is delicious, with great cappuccinos and espressos' served by morning stuff. There are very lovely sitting areas outside on the balcony where you can enjoy a very nice view of the river and Vatican. It's true that walls are a bit thin, but need to keep in mind that this is an older but nicely renovated building. If you have some crazy couples next door, you might hear their yelling, fighting and crying. I was really dead tired from walking every day so it didn't disturb me very much and it happened only one night. Our room #411 was great , new bathroom, cosy. I like the smaller size as everything was so close, and easy to find. Cleaning lady was very very veeeery nice, leaving candy every morning, cleaning and chaining linings every day, and refilling bar with water. One day , reception desk followed up and brought a fresh towels to room. Really an amazing services. I have never experienced such a nice services . THANK YOU LAURA , ANDREA, THANK YOU TO a very nice girl with French accent - you were so great. THANK YOU ALL !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bojaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#241 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli
#529 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid
Address: Largo Antonio Sarti 4, 00196 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Flaminio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#224 Family Hotel in Rome
#227 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Astrid is located in Flaminio district, in a historic building that combines modern comfort with an exceptional view of St. Peter's Dome. Ideally located between Piazza del Popolo and Olympic Stadium, the hotel is situated in a small square overlooking Tiber River, just a stone's throw from Rome's historical centre. It is a family-run hotel which perfectly blends the warm Roman hospitality with the highest international hotel standards. Best Western Hotel Astrid offers a rooftop terrace with beautiful panorama view overlooking the city, including the Tiber River and St. Peter's Dome, and where every morning a rich breakfast will be offered to each guest, to start at best your day. Modern and comfortable, all rooms are decorated in warm colors giving to rooms a warm and welcoming atmosphere. All rooms have a private bathrooms and they are equipped with modern comforts including free WIFI, telephone, air conditioning and soft minibar for free. On top of that, the hotel's attentive staff will be pleased to help you for any need you might have, for a memorable stay in Rome. Best Western Hotel Astrid enjoys an exceptional location, thanks to the proximity of the Auditorium, Foro Italico and MAXXI museum, it is the ideal choice both for business travelers both for those who visit the city for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Astrid Roma
Astrid Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing