We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda al Viminale
Ranked #23 of 3,764 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Wow where do we begin! It started even before we arrived when Carla was in touch with us to offer us a better price (how genuine is that?!) When we did arrived, after being swindled by a taxi driver (by the way play only €30 from Ciampino, we were charged €50!). We rang Carla as the taxi driver pointed us in the wrong direction. Paulo came to rescue us and carried my partners bag to where we were supposed to be.
We then checked in where Paulo immediately offered us a drink and they produced a map highlighting where to go/eat and see. Our room (101) was gorgeous. Carla told us that the room was a walkway for nuns going to a church. They couldnt do enough to make us feel welcome, so much so that it felt so much more personal than a B&B. It felt like we were lodging with friends.
The room was lovely with a small balcony where we ate breakfast. Which was beautiful, fresh coffee, pastries and cheese.

We didnt hear any outside noise (quite unusual for a location so central... 3 minute walk to Piazza della Republicca).

We truly loved our time in Locanda al Viminale. I wasnt going to put a review on as we want to keep Paulo and Carla to ourselves but you couldnt wish to meet more lovely people, or stay in a more charming B&B.

Grazie mille

Paul and Tracy

ps you must come to our house at "Windsor Castle!" ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our family spent 4 days in Rome and stayed at the apartment; it is an excellent location situated on via Nazionale. It is walking distance to the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum, Pantheon, Spanish Steps and a host of bars, restaurants and shops. Hop-on, hop-off tourist buses stop adjacent to the apartment and the main train station is just around the corner (literally); as is the metro subway which is the easiest way to get to the Vatican City.
Our hosts Carla and Paolo were very helpful; they arranged transport from Rome airport to the apartment, provided maps and advice on the city and booked our tickets on the train to Venice. The apartment is well maintained and clean with all the facilities including a bathroom, toilet, Wi-Fi, TV, air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen. Supermarkets are located close to the apartment on via Nazionale where food and alcohol can be purchased. The apartment is on the first floor and a lift is available.
We would recommend the apartment to anybody contemplating a stay in Rome; our regards to Carla & Paolo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a two week trip to Italy, about a week of which was spent in Rome at the Viminale. We were looking for a little B&B and this totally fit the bill! Carla and Paulo were great to work with! They arranged transit from the airport on our first night and even helped us with museum reservations before we arrived. The location was great and was very easy to get to all the major Rome sites. Carla and Paulo were also great with pointing out how to find restaurants or how to get to other things in the city. There was a little bit of noise from upstairs tenants moving around and traffic outside, but nothing besides what you'd expect staying in a big city. Oh and the pandoro for breakfast on Christmas was delicious! One of my favorite parts of the trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajhalvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My family stayed five days in Rome in December and we really enjoyed our stay the moment we arrived at the airport. Carla had made arrangement for a transfer from the airport to the room for us. We were able to check in at around 10 a.m. and were warmly welcome by Carla and her husband. They gave us a detailed orientation of Rome and wonderful advice on how to travel safely. The rooms were very well-maintained and neat. Free coffee and tea were available 24-hours. On top of this, the location of the place is wonderful. It is within 5-10 minutes walk to the Colosseum, Trevi fountains, the Roma Terminii and other attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3yj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Right from the start to the finish, Paulo was incredibly welcoming & accommodating. Our room was a beautiful room, very clean, spacious & remarkably, had all the small & important things covered.Excellent b'fast provided by the friendly & beautiful staff member. Great location as well.

( Would have given 5 stars but being a very light sleeper & even though Locanda attempts to block traffic noise with dble glazed windows the room was still a little noisy at times for very light sleepers, though my wife had no problems. )

Highly recommended & thanks Paulo for looking after us so well !

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Police/Ministry can still be a little noisy from the traffic if your a very lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JohnnyD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Easily accessed from Roma Terminii, this B&B Is actually beside a police station so a great sense of security prevails. It is actually on Via Palermo looking across a piazza. 4 rooms total this 1st floor B&B run by Paolo & Carla. Clean, comfy and well located to the main rd Via Nazionale. Walking distance to the iconic Roman sights and nearby narrow cobbled streets of cafe's and restaurants. You will enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandysamnmynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locanda5, Proprietario at Locanda al Viminale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you our welcome guest
we wish you a Merry Christmas and a fabulous New Year
Paolo e Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough great things about Carla and Paulo! Gracious, thoughtful, detail oriented! Room was exceptionally clean and well appointed! Would highly recommend! Close to all the activities, restaurants and historic places you want to visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keywestlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#21 of 3,764 in Rome
414 reviews
Monti
La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gianicolense
Casa Eli Roma
Casa Eli Roma
#4 of 3,764 in Rome
285 reviews
Testaccio
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
Althea Inn Roof Terrace
#8 of 3,764 in Rome
598 reviews
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 3,764 in Rome
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Viminale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Viminale

Address: Piazza del Viminale 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 3,764 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda al Viminale is a wonderful guest house with rooms for 2/3/4 people. 1 Bedroom apartment for family with private bathroom and kitchen for 4 people and 1 Apartment with 2 bedrooms, private bathroom and kitchen for 4/6 people. We are close to the main monuments: Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc ... We are near the Republic metro stop and in 10 minutes you can reach the Vatican with metro A - 5 stops (St. Peter). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing