We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thomas”
Review of Retrome Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Retrome Rome
Ranked #543 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Perfect situaded near Colosseum and for those who want some gaylife it´s really Close to some of the best bars in Rome. The room was nice and clean and the personal was very nice and helpfull when we arrived.
The bad thing was the bed, terrible to sleep in. Also that we couldn´t pick up our luggage later after our last day there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MI2ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our second time at Retrome and it remains our pick for Rome accommodation.

It is in a chilled out area, very close to Colosseum, but on other side of Rome to all the main tourist attractions. It is convenient enough to easily walk over to the big sites but far enough away that you can walk out the door without being runover by a tour group. There is an awesome wine bar on the same street, about 50m metre away on the corner. It is the perfect pitstop on your home after a day of wandering the town.

The rooms are impeccably clean, quiet and have cool and colourful decor. Giving the place a bit more personality than your generic Rome B&B. The staff are always friendly and helpful. We will be back again.

The only thing we don't really rate highly is the complimentary breakfast at the cafe down the road. We tried it a couple of times and it can be a bit hit and miss. But it is not a big deal. We just pick up breakfast elsewhere, it's not like it is hard to find other options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bechicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

When we first saw the outside of the hotel and the main entrance we were a bit worried. It seemed old.

However rooms are renovated and so are the common spaces. The room we stayed at was very nice and comfortable. The employee was very nice and helped us a lot during our stay. Provided us with a map with all main attractions and explained us how to get there. Location is very nice, approx 5 min from the Colosseum. If you don't mind walking, you can go everywhere from here like we did.

On our next visit to Rome, we are definitely staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yug0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

very nice hotel, ideally located near the Colloseum and its metro-station. The design of the rooms is in a very nice retro-style, room & bathroom are very clean. you are warmly welcomed and you get some informations about the hotel, the neighboorhood and Rome by the reception. Really a great service! We haven't had breakfast, because we preferred to get some in different coffee bars each day. On each floor there is a little kitchen with a fridge where you can make some coffee or even keep something fresh, great idea and service too! you feel a little bit like in a familiar hostel, but with more luxury and good services. for sure we will come back when we will get back to Rome!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hard to locate the location. Breakfast was quite bad and we were only served small teaplate of ceral from the appointed place and was only served breakfast after 45mins. service was not bad at the reception. but common kitchen quite bad in shape.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Hi Kel,

Thank you for your review and for the time you took in order to share your experience.

The Colosseum Garden is a concept boutique hotel, and as such, the kitchenette which is being offered in each floor, is just an extra on top of our regular service. We know that most of our guests really appreciate the fact that they get the opportunity to make (free of charge) Espresso/Cappuccino or tea, and that there is a small fridge where they can cool some drink.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

First, Romans are not polite, or helpful, and a nice clean hotel with kind employees isn't common. Remember this in regard to where you stay. To enjoy this B&B you have to understand that it's not a all-inclusive hotel, or even really a true B&B as it states. It's a nice, comfortable room (good bathroom too), with helpful people at the front desk in the morning and whenever you set up with them. It's like having your own nice apartment in Rome to come back to at the end of the day. For us, this was perfect. Make sure to coordinate checking in and out beforehand, as the front desk is only part-time and by appointment. If only other Romans were as courteous. Right up there with Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate the time you took in order to share your experience with Retrome with other travelers.
Our service is the key aspect of the total product we serve. It starts with the fact that your host will always speak good English, and will be able to give you all the inside information you do not normally get in any hotel in Rome. You will be always welcome with a nice cup of Espresso or Cappuccino, or just with a cold drink on a warm day.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in Rome. If you plan to travel to Barcelona, please check out our new boutique hotel in the center of the city.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed there with a party of 8 and had one entire floor. It isn't the most lavish place but the people are nice and the rooms were clean. The location was great and allowed us to walk to all the major attractions in Rome. We did a lot of research prior to reserving rooms at RetRoom and the price was by far the best in Rome. Given the low price, we were pleasantly surprised by the good service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Pisa Hotel
Pisa Hotel
#795 of 1,272 in Rome
166 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#305 of 1,272 in Rome
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#67 of 1,272 in Rome
2,149 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#152 of 1,272 in Rome
1,411 reviews
Esquilino
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
Aldebaran Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 3,779 in Rome
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retrome Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retrome Rome

Address: Via Marco Aurelio 47, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £40 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Retrome Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retrome is a design, boutique accommodation, offering private guest rooms and apartment suites all with private en-suite bathrooms in Retro-Vintage design in the very center of Rome, in a quiet location just meters from the Colosseum.Our air-conditioned guest rooms are spacious and comfortable and our apartment suites varies in size and can host up to 8 guests in the large 2 bedroom suite. Our design concept and standards have been recognized by travelers, magazines and newspapers around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retrome Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing