We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend this hostel”
Review of Coliseum Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coliseum Rooms
Ranked #1,033 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
New Johnsonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not recommend this hostel”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hostel was extremely hot. There was no air conditioning, no fan, and we were unable to open the windows due to construction outside. The person that let us into the hostel was 2 hours late, and we never did meet the actual owner of the property. All of the locks were difficult to work, especially the lock to our actual room. The other guests staying at the hostel were extremely loud and disruptive due to lack of courtesy guidelines set out by the hostel. The only pleasant part of our experience was the breakfast provided by the bar next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColiseumRooms, Proprietario at Coliseum Rooms, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi guys,

I am sorry you had a bad experience in my b&b.

The building was undergoing some renovations at the time of your stay here. However, they’re done with most of it now and the building looks brand new.

As for my delay, it is clearly advertised on all website marketing that guests are requested to comunicate their arrival time when confirming the reservation. This enables us to assist you on the way and provide you with a smooth check in.

Many locks have been changed, thanks to our guests feedbacks, who are always pleased to report any inconvenience or issue.

Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    29
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This well situated 4 room B&B was even better than I had hoped it would be! My friend and I stayed in Room #1 which was large and very nicely decorated and furnished. The bed was even more comfortable than my bed at home! The 2 bathrooms were also very modern and well equipped, and it was nice to have use of a kitchen as well as a common computer with internet for the duration of our stay!

The breakfast at the bar/cafe just next to the B&B was also good. It is an excellent value and unexpected to have any breakfast at all included for the low price of the room!

The only 2 problems we had were the (inevitable) scaffolding blocking the lovely view from the window (as seen in other traveler photos), as well as the fact that we had around a 30 minute wait before we could be let in to the hostel as, Gianluca, the man who runs the B&B doesn't live there.

All of this said, I still gave this B&B the highest rating because things happen and scaffolding happens, but having a comfortable and clean place to stay after a long day of visiting a big city like Rome is priceless!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColiseumRooms, Proprietario at Coliseum Rooms, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi guys,

Thank you so much for writing this amazing review.

I am glad you understand the problem we had with the scaffolding. Everything is fine now, the building looks amazing.

Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

If you are looking for a budget hotel, I would definately reccomend this place. It is a good value for money. Rooms are basic but clean and the location is perfect! We liked this place because:

- very close to some major attractions (10 min. walk to Coliseum)
- only a few minutes away from metro station
- very helpful and friendly English speaking owner explained in detail what places are interresting and which busses to take
- clean, basic, newly decorated Ikea style rooms
- small quiet place - only 4 rooms
- small kitchen for making tea or so (cooking not possible)
- breakfast is included (croissant with coffee) at cafe next door
- free WLAN

There a 2 bathrooms which are shared, but we never had to wait. We used the red bathroom. It was clean, but it could be a little cleaner. But still ok and this hotel is definately a good value.

Make sure the owner knows when you are arriving and departing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2012 and throughly enjoyed our stay. There are only 4 rooms and a good size kitchen, which is lovely. It feels really safe as it is in typical complex of flats and you are sorrounded by Romans rather than tourists. The rooms are modern and nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. This is a really good value for such a lovely basic and easy access Roman b&b. Gianluca the owner is super helpful and will be happy to give you lots of advice on bus routes and places to eat and see. It helps that he also speak English, French and Spanish fluently. It's worth giving Gianluca a call from the airport to let him know that you are arriving as he doesn't live at the B&B. Breakfast is typical Italian (croissant and coffee) and bathrooms are shared (i2 bathrooms for 4 rooms) but that's really the only downsides. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and visit again myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed three nights over new years eve. The rooms were clean, newly furbished and also spacious. The B&B has two shared bathrooms, but even over new year when the b&b was fully booked it wasn't a problem. However, keep in mind that it is a shared bathroom, i.e. you have to walk through the hall.

The host was also very friendly and gave us a bunch of information where its good to eat etc. Breakfast is included at a small cafe right next door to the b&b, however don't expect an "all you can eat buffet" with scrambled eggs, rather a very delicious espresso/cappucino/latte with something small to eat.

Also the neighbourhood looked very safe - my girlfriend would not have had any concerns walking there alone at night.

Overall I can really recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for something with great value :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banane12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night after we arrived in Rome. I forgot the guy's name that checked us in, but he was super nice and was helpful in getting our room ready right away since we arrived ahead of schedule. He gave us a map right away and let us know how to navigate around Rome very easliy. The rooms were very clean and quiet. There are 4 rooms to stay in, a lobby, a kitchen and 2 bathrooms which are shared by all guests. The water in the shower was tough to stay warm if someone was in the other shower, which would be my only complaint. I'm a wuss when it comes to taking a cold shower. But it was tolerable and wouldn't have kept me from staying there again. You can use the computer in the lobby for free. There was no TV in our room, but we were not concerned with that while being in Italy :) We were given keys to all of the doors into the building so we could come and go as we please. Breakfast was in the Cafe downstairs and next to the building, a delicious cappuccino and a chioce of pastry, croissant, etc. It was about a 15 minute walk to the Coliseum and many other tourist sites. I would highly recommend this B&B to stay in on a trip to Italy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Room was very spacious and clean. Lack of a fan or air con was disappointing. Furniture all nice and new, however in the middle of the bed frame was a tempororary camp bed. Not the best. Bathrooms always clean, and never had to wait for one. Location is exceptional, 10 mins to the Coliseum.
Had to wait for the owner to let us in. 45minutes (and a couple of phone calls) after our stated arrival time he arrived.
Major complaint with the keys. we couldn't get into the main building door, needed someone to let us in. Seemed common as the doorbell was constantly ringing to let people in (inc. one at 130am).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#100 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coliseum Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coliseum Rooms

Property: Coliseum Rooms
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 130, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,033 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coliseum Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here is a brand new Rome B&B with great success!!!!!!There are only 4 bedrooms in the B&B, which share two large bathrooms. All rooms are private, very spacious, bright and clean. The B&B has been recently renovated, revamping the interior design of each room to a modern style.The location is amazing!!! It's just an easy 10 minute walk from the Colosseum and the city centre. The closest subway station is not even 1 block away and there are many local buses heading downtown. The main train station Termini is just two stops away (10 minutes walking). The neighborhood itself is nice and safe, there are loads of good restaurants, supermarkets, Italian deli shops and laundries. You'll have everything you need to feel local and at home.The staff speak english, french and spanish fluently and they'll show you the best places to go and eat while in Rome. Included in the price is wi-fi internet, clean towels and the typical italian breakfast at the cafè nearby.Why choose my B&B? Because it's nice, quiet but centrally located. It suits all types of travellers; whether you're a lone backpacker, a couple or a group of friends. It will exceed all your highest expectations! The staff are friendly and passionate about their city and will put the time in to make your experience in Rome one never to forget!I look forward to seeing you soon in Rome!Gianluca Fragassi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Coliseum Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing