We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Ranked #17 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“location location location”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

stayed in room 502, which is on the top floor-it's the green room. the room, like all in rome, i suppose, is small. but it was immaculately clean and the bed was comfortable, and you dont go to rome to stay in the room. there is a good, hot shower, as well.

the location is key- the campo is a very short walk- like 5 minutes, to the pantheon and piazza navona. it isnt much further to the vatican, and also within walking distance of trevi fountain and spanish steps. the campo itself is a great location, with its morning market and nighttime scene (think bars, restaurants, and a few shops). true that the campo isnt exactly quiet, but the noise dies down around 11pm and the room's soundproofing helps a great deal. the 3 minutes of church bells every night at 7 is that one sound that you will remember as the soundtrack of your stay.

breakfast is very good, although the eggs are so-so. the coffee and pastries and blood-orange juice are delightful. the desk is staffed 24 hrs a day, and the staff is generally helpful and fluent in english. there was a problem with the taxi service we had arranged through the hotel, in that we waited for over an hour for them at e airport, and ultimately decided to get our own ride, which is the easiest thing to do at the airport anyway. by the time we arrived at the hotel, our driver was belatedly calling the hotel looking for us, and there was some reluctance on the part of the desk staff to remove the charge from our bill. as with rome in general, you have to be firm sometimes, and this initial experience did not detract from our trip or our stay at the hotel.

the rooftop terrace is gorgeous.

would definitely stay at this hotel again, and we can recommend it without reservation (well, you do need reservations, of course- you know what i mean.)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49212Rudiger_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    431
    79
    28
    20
See reviews for
515
1,376
91
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night stay in this charming small hotel. The location is perfect - just off Campo de Fiori, which is a market by day and a drinking/eating destination long into the night. All major attractions are walking distance from the hotel. The hotel was a good choice and Rome delivered everything we expected, and more!

While you can book a car or take a taxi from the airport (55 Euros) we took one of the regular buses (SIT Shuttle bus, 6 Euros each) which has a drop-off point in Piazza Cavour, just by Castel Sant Angelo. That was a pleasant 15 mins walk from the hotel, and saved a trip into Termini.

The roof terrace is as stunningly good as all the comments suggest, offering a full 360 degree panorama of Rome.

We booked a deluxe double but, on checking the website photos on our return, I see the room we were given (304) was actually a classic double. I was happy with the room but the hotel should have been a little more honest about what was effectively a down-grading. It was a lovely quiet room with a small balcony opening onto an internal service courtyard. Even when Campo de Fiori was in full swing late at night, the room was very quiet. To be fair, I do not think there is much difference between the "classic" and "deluxe" room types, apart from an internal/external view, and I think I would prefer the classic room as this is quieter and has a balcony door you can leave open, whereas the front-facing deluxe rooms only have windows.

I would very happily stay here again. As we were staying over the busy Easter holidays we booked in advance and paid a very high room rate. For such a high-rated hotel, I was surprised to see the hotel still had vacancies and room rates dropped considerably within a week of our travel date, by which time we were locked into paying a first night as a cancellation fee. Next time I would book just before we travelled and save money.

A note about visiting the Vatican - as explained on the TripAdvisor forums, you CAN make an online booking for a date/time of your choice for entry to the Vatican museums and skip all the lines. Touts still try to encourage you to join a tour group as the only way to avoid the long lines. The Vatican Museums were a highlight for us but I would hate to visit as part of a tour. There is so much to see, and I was happy to be able to take my time and stop for a rest when I wanted to. All of the tour groups we saw looked so miserable after spending 3 hrs being herded round!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Charming boutique hotel in a great location. I had an interior room which was very quiet.
The room and bathroom were small but well appointed. There is a lovely roof terrace with great views where you are encouraged to bring a bottle of wine or a picnic. Unfortunately there is no bar or restaurant in the hotel. However there are many restaurants and action just outside the hotel. The staff were very helpful although the Manager did not seem pleased when I wanted to them to call a taxi company that was recommended to me for airport transport that they were not affiliated with.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parisjfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,
“Absolutely Charming!”
You have indicated in your review the essence of a “Boutique hotel”.
“Charming, well appointed, the staff were very helpful”.
Our hotel is a beautiful boutique modern hotel which blends historical beauty with all of the modern comforts that today’s man desires. Free WiFi, Sound proof windows, A/C, Flat screened Led Tv, safe and the list goes on and on. We do have something that not all Boutique Hotels can vant and that is a beautiful roof top terrace which offers unforgettable and breath taking views of one of the world’s most historic and beautiful cities. You describe it as following,
“There is a lovely roof top terrace with great views where you are encouraged to bring a bottle of wine or a picnic.”
Referring to the airport transfer, I would just like to highlight that we like to guarantee to all of our guests that from arrival at the airport to their departure, they receive only the best at the lowest rates. We do suggest our private luxury car system knowing from our abundant experience that this service offers new, luxury and clean cars as well as educated English speaking drivers. All of this at the same rate as a normal taxi and even a better rate in comparison to other private car systems. We also do this to make sure that our guests do not encounter any surprises with services which we do not know of rate wise and also service wise.
Thank you for your positive review having noticed that you have also written other 6 hotel reviews and therefore able to perceive exactly what you have received during your stay in a hotel.
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
320 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a wonderful room overlooking the front of the hotel right off the elevator on the second floor. Great and helpful staff, great location, good breakfast. We wish we would have stayed longer this trip. The staff is very helpful with getting taxis, restaurants and navigation around town. And the best bed we had in Italy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Reading your review is a real compliment because having been with us in the past (exactly 3 years ago) and as your title indicates,

“Even Better than Last Trip in 2010”

This confirms that things although already top back then have gotten even better and this means progress which confirms our working philosophy, “always better!”.
You reconfirm al that most of our guests write as well such as,

“helpful staff, great location, good breakfast.” Also, “And the best bed we had in Italy!”

I would only like to add the fact that our roof top terrace has improved with new furnishings since 2010 making it even more spectacular than previously even if it was already hard to beat!

Thank you for the kind words and now we will be waiting for you once again in the future because an Italian saying says, “there is no 2 without 3!”

Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel was perfect for Rome. Standard small European room but clean, upgraded and modern. The area had so much to offer...our favorite resturant was in the square. The decor was fabulous nad when you entered you knew you were in Rome....thank you for a great stay!! Also the staff was great...courteous and so friendly. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penny_11809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear guest,
“Wonderful Hotel and staff!!”

Your title covers all aspects of a trip to Rome. “Wonderful Hotel, plus “wonderful Staff”. This combination sees to it that your stay in Rome is not just another vacation but remains in your memory reminding you of the fabulous Eternal city plus your home in Rome!

Having noticed that you have already written 6 other reviews, this signifies that you have a traveling experience and therefore your review has a major opinion for us.

The size of the rooms are also a consequence of a building dating back to the 1400’s and yet they rooms have all modern comforts furnished with elegance and at the same moment comfortable. At times this combination doesn’t occur but with us it does!

Our staff always looking to see if all is going well during your stay with us and our being courteous and friendly is not just a consequence of the work but it is part of our DNA and all of our personnel is selected with this objective.

We do wish to see you soon as you state.

Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Always worried when booking a hotel in case my high expectaions are not realised, in this case they were! We were extremely happy with our choice, beautiful hotel. The room was a good size when you remember this an old building converted into a hotel, not huge but bigger than I expected for Rome. Our room was a classic (401) next to the lift, didn't hear a thing. Very well appointed room, two large windows facing small square, toiletries, fridge, safe and hairdrier, bathroom modern with bronze tiles, small but immaculate. Decor of hotel is in the Brouque style and very luxurious, the toilet near reception has to be seen to be believed, amazing!! All staff were polite and courteous, room was cleaned every day with clean towels and toiletries, staff here take pride in their work.Breakfast was fine, plenty to eat and drink. Rooftop terrace was a bonus, you are encouraged to sit up here with your own bottle of wine (glasses provided) and soak up the view. Hotel within walking distance to all sites only used the tram and train and metro when going to the Roman town of Ostia (worth the 40 mins trip).Plenty of bars and restaurants very close, double glazing cuts out all noise For UK visitors we recommened a travel kettle for the all important cup of tea after a hards days' sightseeing. We would definitely recommened this hotel and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pendlebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Staff very helpful both in advance of and during our stay. Stayed in a deluxe double room (no. 502); I had requested to be away from the lift and in a room with a view (as I believe some of the rooms do not have windows with external views). Both requests met. I was slightly concerned about street noise as we overlooked the small square to the front of the hotel; however I need not have worried, double glazing extremely effective and being that high up probably helped. Roof terrace superb - in fact I personally would not bother with the 6th floor rooms, which have balconies but are more expensive; save your money and go for a room lower down and use the terrace to get a 360 degree view, rather than just a slice of it! Rooms clean and bed comfy; decor very elaborate - lots of gilt, chandeliers and swagged fabrics in heavy colours - but gives a local atmosphere.

Breakfast buffet plentiful, especially for baked goods, but beware the croissants - they look like normal croissants but are not - they are sweet, more like brioche.

Good central location, walking distance to most of the main sights.

The main Rome attractions, despite it being only March, were really busy; I don't think I'd want to go any later in the season, and we were very lucky with the weather. We didn't buy a Roma pass due to the hotel's central location and because we were only there two full days, but it would help get you into a couple of places without queueing. Certainly we missed St Peter's/Sistine chapel because the queue was horrendous. You also get completely hounded by people attempting to sell tours on the main street on the way up. Saying "no" or ignoring them has no effect, they just keep right on - one followed us for about 50 metres trying to engage us in several languages and when we dared to indicate our displeasure (pretty politely all things considered) she immediately launched into an aggrieved tirade of "I'm just doing my job". However once you get beyond the fence at the edge of the square they appear to be banned. So come in from a side street would be my advice.

However, my top Rome tip is this. At the time of writing a combined ticket to the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill (you cannot buy them separately) was 13 Euros, a complete bargain, as you could easily spend a full day on these three places alone. However, the queues for the Colosseum were, well, colossal. The thing to do is to buy your ticket at the Forum or Palatine Hill - we queued for less than 10 minutes at the Forum despite there being some incredibly stupid people in front of us - and then you can go straight to the head of the queue at the Colosseum. The guide books do suggest you do this, but clearly the thousands of people at the Colosseum had not read them!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,563 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori

Property: Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#20 Family Hotel in Rome
#71 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing