We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally great, if you're not big on breakfast... or space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Ranked #18 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2009

My wife and I stayed here and I decided to splash out on a more expensive room, which was on the top floor. I had read reviews that the rooms were small but 'small' is a bit of an understatement... ours was tiny. There was barely enough room for the bed, and literally just a narrow space around it, though they have squeezed in a small dressing table and a tiny pouffe on which to sit at it. There was nowhere to put our suitcases except in the wardrobe, one at ground level, and nowhere to sit except on the bed. No chairs! No room for them. The bath room has no bath, just a shower, which admittedly is rather plush.

So I suppose you could say the room was 'intimate', and the bed was certainly very comfortable and it was all cosy and finished to a high standard, but really, I'm not sure I would be able to offer it with a clean conscience as a double room if I ran a hotel. Change the double for a single bed and stick a chair in there... but then you'd probably not rent it half the time.

On the plus side, the staff were very helpful, polite and friendly at all times. The internet only worked once by ethernet cable but thereafter I was given a WiFi access code, which was fine.

If you're big on breakfast, sadly the breakfast falls rather short... there's nothing cooked, and everything is very processed: cold meats and cheese were not your typical Italian style but more like what you'd buy in Asda in the UK. Individually-packaged 'croissants' with long best-before dates; tinned fruit salad; supermarket yogurts, and milk left out to lose its chill; juices with indiscernible flavours and unnatural colours. Um-Bongo anyone? And finally, the cappuccino was just filter coffee with frothed milk on top -- I'm afraid I wasn't fooled. Okay so I understand they want to keep costs down by offering a breakfast that doesn't require more than a single member of staff to cater for the entire hotel, but we'd rather have paid more and had better.

To redress the balance slightly for all that moaning (hey I'm British), I can say that the location is absolutely stunning, the views from the roof garden are stunning, the staff excellent, and on the whole we enjoyed our stay tremendously and would stay here again... we just might just lower our breakfast expectations, or grab breakfast in one of the many cafes around the Campo.

--

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arc_nebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,493)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,974 - 1,980 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2009

My husband and I just loved the Hotel Campo De Fiori. It was our last stop after a six week tour of Europe and by far the bext hotel we stayed in.

The room we stayed in was lovely, compact, and extremely comfortable, clean and modern. Bathroom was excellent.

The location is excellent, within walking distance of both the Vatican and the Colloseum, plus there are many restraunts and bars close by. The atmosphere is terrific in this area of Rome. You really feel part of the action! Easy to get to from the main train station as well, just take the number 64 bus.

The staff were excellent, they all spoke excellent English and we found them to be friendly and very helpful. Firstly they allowed us to stow our luggage in their luggage room overnight when we went on a overnight tour to Sorrento. Secondly they really helped us out when a Vatican tour that we had pre-boooked in Australia failed to pick us up. They rang the tour company and even called the airline for us to see if our flights could be changed to allow us to take the Vaitcan tour on another day.

Finally, there is a beautiful terrace on the roof which has amazing views of Rome and is the perfect place to relax and soak up the atmosphere of Rome.

We highly recommend it and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

A lovely hotel in a fantastic position we managed to walk to all the attractions easily. The roof terrace is lovely with great views. The room although compact was superb in decor, very comfortable, quiet at night and very clean. (we did have a room with its own balcony which was great). The staff could not have been more friendly or helpfull, excellent in every way, helping us around the city, to and fro from the airport (excellent shuttle service arranged for us). and always welcoming.
Extra bonus three excellent retaurants within two minutes walk. The La taverna del Ghetto, and the Brazia both in the same street the Via Portico d' Ottavia + the Osteria ar Galletto in the Piazza Farnese, but make a reservation or go early.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gbajz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

This was our first hotel in Italy. (We went on to tour by bicycle and train much of Southern Italy.) We later realized that in general the level of service in Italy was quite high overall. The folks at the Campo De' Fiori were awesome. Breakfasts were substantial with great espresso, the staff was super helpful. They even accommodated an unusual request - the let us store our disassembled bicycles in their luggage storage area for one night.

Besides the friendly staff, the view from the top floor balcony is amazing and the location is right in the middle of everything.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DintyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

The room was quiet, fairly well lit. Room was small by US standards, but adequate. New lcd tv, with both cnn and bbc stations available. The washroom was excellent. Very modern. Comforable queen size bed. Desk staff very helpful. Air conditioning seemed adequate, though temperature outside never much over 68 F. Room window was not on a street.

Would have been nice to have two chairs in the room, but then there'd have been less space.

Campo de' Fiori 10 yards to the right out the front door. Location fairly central to most Rome sites. No. 23 bus to Vatican and No. 116 to Borghese are convenient. Nice views from roof top.

844 euros for 5 nights (low season).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tom_from_Livermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We stayed at this hotel two nights in August. It was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The room reeked of cigarettes (even though we selected a nonsmoking room) and there was no way to open the little window to air it out. No light came in through the window either, we were in perpetual night. The shower leaked (hope it was the shower, could have been the toilet.) Finally, they charged us for phone calls we didnt make, I think they must have pulled that cheating stunt in the past because when I innocently asked about saying it was a mistake, the guy at the counter (from New Jersey) started shouting at me in a manner that was completely out of proportion to the question or tone it was asked in. My friend with me worried he had mental problems and almost called the police. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rachelia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Guest,
I am profusely disappointed to read your review about your stay in our Boutique Hotel.
Based on your words, I realize that most of your discontent comes from the guy from New Jersey once working here and now fired and sent away, since he showed an attitude which did not match at all the image of our Boutique Hotel.
“The room reeked of cigarettes”: all our rooms are non-smoking and every time our cleaning team sees that one room has a bad scent, we are used to open the windows. Also, all our rooms are cleaned with biological products.
“No light came in through the window either, we were in perpetual night”: all our building and our rooms are particularly designed in Baroque style and are fully equipped with all of what you need to make you feel at home. If your issue was the curtains, I can confirm there were – as there are still - and you could use them to cover the light from outside or to make the room bright.
The traveler sees what he sees. The tourist sees what he has come to see.
Warm regards
F. Severino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

The location of this hotel is perfect. A great place for exploring all of the wonders of Rome. We found the hotel to be very nice and would stay there again. The only complaint we have is that the front desk seemed a bit aloof and did not reach out to embrace us and make us feel welcome. Even when coming and going there were few interactions. At one point we brought lunch back and were invited to eat in their downstairs dining room by one of the workers. One of the front desk ladies came in while we were eating and gave us a look of disdain and did not even acknowledge our greeting (we wanted to share with her that we were invited to sit there as she made us feel we were doing something wrong). The lovely woman who serves breakfast as well as the housekeeping staff were very kind and welcoming. The rooftop sitting area is beautiful and a true asset when wanting to rest and look out over the beautiful city. The marketplace is right outside the door and lends to a true flavor of the area. We spent 4 nights (we willingly paid for 5 nights so that we could get into the room early on our arrival day). All in all, if the front desk improved it's helpfulness we would rate a this hotel 5.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jmnra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,800 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
210 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#24 of 1,267 in Rome
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#26 of 1,267 in Rome
821 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,591 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori

Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#20 Family Hotel in Rome
#71 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £91 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing