We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big bucks for a tiny space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Ranked #17 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Big bucks for a tiny space”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We booked this hotel for its proximity to Piazza Navona and on that account it disappoint. We also loved the fact that it was tucked off the Piazza Campo di Fiori which whilst still full of tourists, felt slightly more authentically Roman - a great place to people watch and enjoy a beer or wine in the evening.

The rooms are absolutely tiny - I'm guessing all the rooms are small but we paid €300 per night for a triple and the extra bed was a camp bed against the wall which amounted to about 1/2m of clearance between the double and the campbed. The bathroom was equally small with just a shower so we really struggled to manage logistics getting ready in the morning and going to bed - not quite what I had expected for the money.

However, petit was balanced with a certain amount of bijoux - the rooms were interestingly (! - see the 'gold' beading round the TV...) furnished with dark green walls and a chandelier and the bathroom was faux marble effect. With flimsy curtains, the overall effect was quite dark and tacky but at least the room was clean enough. The public spaces were better decorated and the outside terrace was lovely, if too windy to actually use when we were there.

Breaksfasts were at best adequate (coffee/tea, juices from cartons, cold meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit, prepacked 'plastic' croissants) but were a bit of an insult given the prices being charged, especially as there is a fabulous baker, Il Fornaio, just around the corner.

A couple of other things annoyed me - the one lift in the hotel is pretty claustrophobic, taking 3 people max and the hotel staff seemed to permanently occupy it and to think it was their own private lift, I could sense the housekeeping staff rolling their eyes a couple of times as if I was inconveniencing them when I tried to squeeze in alongside them. On check out, we were the only guests waiting but had to wait for 15mins until the girl at the front desk worked through the housekeeping roster with housekeeping. When, she finally got round to checking us out - she gave me my bill in Euros and then processed my bill in GBP, with a poorer exchange rate than my Visa card would have given me, without informing me.

So in short, not fabulous - great location, nice enough terrace and just ok rooms. I know Rome is an expensive city but I'm almost certain there are better places to stay for the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Funky_travel_junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Dear Guest,
“The rooms are absolutely tiny”: to look is not to see. You had the luck to stay in the most historic building in the area, dating back to the 11th century and whose authenticity cannot be changed just to please mere size-related requests. Also, in front of our Boutique Hotel lies the streets Via del Biscione, where the famous Julius Caesar used to walk 2000 years ago. Not to miss our proximity to the once historically known Theatre of Pompeius and to the street where Julius Caesar was murdered. Further, if you found an overpriced room it is because you came in high season.
With reference to our breakfast, I am honestly upset about reading that you disliked our “prepacked plastic croissants”, which we always buy from a fabulous bakery in Rome located just around the corner of Piazza Campo de’ Fiori, “Forno”.
“The one lift in the hotel is pretty claustrophobic, taking 3 people max”: the historicity of our main building does not allow us to make a larger elevator. Also, I strongly invite you to read that our elevator can contain up to five people and our staff never uses for their personal purposes.
“When, she finally got round to checking us out - she gave me my bill in Euros and then processed my bill in GBP”: our staff is always attentive to any of your needs, therefore if you requested a bill in Euros, I sincerely do not find any reason why our staff would process it in a different currency.
Given the privilege you had by living in the most historic area of Rome and considering the artistic beauties surrounding this area, our Boutique Hotel should have deserved a much better title, but, above all, an higher mark than only 2 stars for just a size-connected problem.
The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeing new landscapes, but in having new eyes.
Warm regards
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,829
    430
    79
    28
    20
See reviews for
515
1,371
91
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Was in this hotel at the beginning of June. Centrally located and within walking distinace to all. Nice rooms, nice terrace and a very helpful reception staff especially Matteo. Suggest to all. This hotel will make your stay even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NycRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We had such an excellent experience at Hotel Campo de Fiori during the first leg of our vacation, that we canceled our reservation at a more expensive hotel and returned for our final night in Italy.

The location is superb, close to incredible nightlife and many good restaurants. The staff went out of their way to accomodate us. Matteo, Olga, Angelo and Maria are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms, while not exceptionally large, are elegant and recently remodeled. Be sure to check out the rooftop terrace, especially after dark, for an exquisite view of the Rome skyline.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClayJoDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

My friend and I pciked the hotel from the many that was recommended. It has been remodeled in last two years. Great location - located right around the corner from the Campo market where something is going on all of the time. Service was impeccable from check in to advice on where to go and to eat, how to get to the airport or port the easiest. Continental breakfast was wonderful and the service there was great. They have a great roof garden where we shared a bottle of wine and watched the sun set. The room was very adequate and comfortable, especially the sound proofing that they had done. Can't think of anything that I didn't like. It was wonderful and worth the visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fire20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Hotel is pretty and it's right around the corner of the market at Campo de Fiori. Rooms are very expensive for what you get. In our 9 day stay in Italy, this was the most expensive property with the least amount of amenities. Most of the staff are pleasant, some are rude and uncaring. Superior room we had was very small (which didn't bother us so much) as it was very dark. Breakfasts were typical European with hams, cheeses, pastries, & coffee. Some of the cakes were stale on all 3 mornings. Roof deck is a nice retreat. Had the room price been more in line with comparable properties and if all the staff had been more friendlier, we would have given a better rating. Beds were comfortable and hotel seemed quiet.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bklynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 23 October 2015
Dear Guest,
“Rooms are very expensive”: you stayed in our Boutique Hotel in May which is the height of the season.
“Most of the staff are pleasant, some are rude and uncaring”: our staff is the key to our high quality service, all of them well trained to speak different languages at a time and hence able to understand your needs. I would also say that our reception team now changed so I invite you to come again.
“Superior room we had was very small as it was very dark”: rooms are fully pursuant to the European standards. The colors chosen to design all our rooms perfectly suit the Baroque style of our nine-hundred-year-old building.
Breakfast were typical European: we offer an intercontinental buffet so as to please any guest from around the world.
To look is not to see.
Warm regards
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This hotel is right in the heart of the city, with the market and shops, restaurants and cafes just steps away. And the main attractions are within walking distance (except St. Peters may be a little far for some to walk, a cab there is around $10). The area is touristy, but what area of central Rome isn't? Our room was recently redecorated, small but lovely. We thought 180 Euros was a good price for such a well located hotel. And it had a comfortable, plush, true double bed. As previous reviewers noted, the hotel has a furnished rooftop openair terrace with amazing views, a great way to relax after a day of walking through this wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miller041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxxx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Fine location in the center of Rome. Nice and comfortable rooms. Kind and extremely helpfull staff in the reception

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxx26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,542 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori

Property: Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#20 Family Hotel in Rome
#71 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing