We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable modern hotel in a good location”
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #146 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good comfortable modern hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in early August. We asked for a room on the first floor overlooking the garden to the rear of the hotel (We choose this room after reading a previous review/tip, it was worth doing so). The hotel has recently been renovated in a clean modern style. The hotel is airconditioned throughout, lovely to get back to after a hot day of walking and have a refreshing shower and siesta.

The hotel is in walking distance of Circo Massimo metro station and quite a few bus services. The hotel is well located so it is possible to walk to quite a few places such as Trastevere, Jewish Ghetto, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Venezia, Capitol Museum, Roman Forum and the Colosium.

The breakfast was good, we are vegitarians and often have trouble with food but there was a good choice here. The staff at the reception were good and helpfull in fact all the the staff in general were good. The wifi was good for an extra Euro 20 you can have wifi for your whole of your stay. The room was a good size for the three of us, although my sons bed was a bit mickey mouse (but it was covered up with nice bed cover). The bathroom facilities were good clean and modern (i'm in the bathroom business and sell the stuff everyday and the equipment installed was of good quality).

I liked this hotel, I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room to the rear of the hotel. It is more quiet than the ground floor. Also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_D_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear John,

Many thanks for taking time to leave your valuable feedback.
We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed our helpful and experienced staff, the renovated rooms, our breakfast buffet and the central location.

We do hope that you can stay with us again soon in the near furture.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    489
    165
    46
    29
See reviews for
353
694
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Walking distance to all of ancient Rome (across the street from ruins of the forum). Nicely renovated former convent. Food was decent for a hotel. Several of our group had air-conditioning problems that were quickly fixed. Rooms are small compared to North American standards.

Room Tip: Triples are somewhat bigger and better located than doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmercist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

the staff and management are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we'll be happy to see your return in the near future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights, cant rate it high enough. Location was fantastic,as was everything else really, took advice from other travellers and requested a room not on the ground floor. Re arranged our rooms so we could be near our friends.
Very Close to the bus stop if you are considering using the public transport system, which we did as well as the underground, all part of the experience.
Very friendly staff, could not do enough to please.

Thank for a great first experience in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilewhenyoutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review, it is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the team, I know that they will be pleased to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed.

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is only through feedback from our customers that we can continually evaluate and improve the level of hospitality that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Rome.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

For the price they charge, and how they describe themselves on their website, it should have been better. The hotel is clean, and the breakfast very nice, but the rooms small, location inconvenient and staff not very helpful. We were a family of 4, so had one of the loft rooms; it was very noisy and we could hear the tv from the room next door. At oin point our air conditioning unit broke - their way of addressing our problem was to send up the bellman who looked around and agreed it was broken!! I would not rush back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalia B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Kolbe Hotel Rome, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Ken,

Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to read that you enjoy our breakfast and the hotel cleanliness, however, we offer our sincere apologies that you didn’t have a perfect stay.

About our rooms we have a variety of room sizes available to suit all of our guests and their varying budgets, including our Junior Suite of 30 sqm or our Deluxe Suite of 40 sqm, rooms particularly adapted for family with children.

We do apologize for air conditioning issue, the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We would like to let you know that thanks to your comments we have restored the tv volume of the rooms that was probably modified during our tv maintenance.

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the begining of May, we were very pleased with this hotel originally our room was on the front of the hotel which during the day was a little noisy with the traffic but over night it was fine but we thought we would ask in case they had a room at the back by the garden, they didn't that night but were happy to move us the next day all we had to do was pack up and it was all done for us while we were out so great, the garden is lovely you can sit out and have a drink from the bar or if you are eating at the hotel enjoy your meal outside, i very much enjoyed my peach Bellini! although perhaps not the 10 euro price, the room was comfortable, clean, the air-conditioning was great! A few tips for your visit, buy your tickets for the Roman forum and Colosseum as soon as it opens 830/9am no ques and the ticket is valid for one entry over 2 days so there is no rush for you to go in straight away, if you want a chilled out day in the sun visit villa borghese park, its a few stops on the metro which is very easy to use and get tickets from machines at each entrance, the park is beautiful and there are lots of places to buy food and drinks for picnics. oh writing this is making me want to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Good hotel close to the Coloseum and the Forum. Friendly staff all round. Great courtyard for breakfast. Smallish rooms but hey all you do is Sleep there.!!!'. Only about 6 euro or taxi into heart of the city. Would stay there again

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Beautiful hotel in a quiet part of town near the Coliseum. The hotel is charming with its architecture, luxurious-looking lobby but a smaller hotel room (perhaps in my case 110 euros per night). Up to my room size is beautifully furnished with new furniture and very nice bathroom but again smaller shower. The room is equipped plochout TV, fridge. Breakfast buffet, eggs, bacon, salty and sweet pastries, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, water, fruit juice. Towels and room cleaning every day, perhaps even 2 times a day. The hotel has a lovely garden where you can sit and relax.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LLukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#81 of 1,261 in Rome
1,853 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#154 of 1,261 in Rome
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,261 in Rome
2,049 reviews
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#296 of 1,261 in Rome
1,634 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing