We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa San Pio(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$323
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Adriano(Rome)
US$200
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$351
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$160
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vatican View(Rome)
US$274
US$267
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$223
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$263
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveller rating
824
528
174
50
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
528
174
50
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscircus maximusroman foruminternal gardenpalatine hillcirco massimoimportant monumentsmodern comfortsmouth of truthjacuzzi showerwalking distancefour star hotelfamily roomhotel restaurantminute walklovely hotelthe ground floorquiet street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
618 - 623 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a huge room with a round king size bed and a pull out couch. Bathroom was very modern with both toilet and bidet. Staff was very friendly and helpful - spoke both Italian and English. Hotel was walking distance to the Colosseum. Great continental breakfast. A bit pricey but very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph_Isaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were allocated room 109 which was at the front of the hotel. No need to worry about the view from the window as it was well above my head and you could see nothing but a bit of sky. As it happens, this was no bad thing because immediately outside was the road.

The room was very nice, long and narrow and the bathroom also quite up-market with a power spa shower.

The hotel is probably well located but I did not get a chance to walk around the block opposite the hotel to find The Colleseum which I understand was there.

The decor of the hotel was modern, airy and bright with a small, quite nice garden at the back.

The food served was very nice but we were not offered a Menu, just served with the meal.

Although the Kolbe Hotel does have wifi, it is not free (which was the case in all other hotels we were in). To be honest, I think it would have done no harm for that to have been available without additional expense, especially as we were only there one night!

Room Tip: Our room, 109 was on the ground floor and easy to get to. It was at the end of a corridor so it was a somewhat unusual shape - long and narrow.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgware2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Located in a quiet side street, this hotel is very well placed for the Forum and the 'ancient rome' sights. The building is quite characterful: our bedroom was quite large with a mezanine floor for the bed, a stone vaulted ceiling and views over the lovely gardens.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant fairly good (breakfast was excellent) - be aware that there are not that many other restaurants in the vicinity.
Overall, a good choice if you want to be close to the Forum and Colosseum.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Nice hotel in great location next to the Forum. The rooms are a little dated, but clean and cosy. The beds are on the hard side, which is common in Italian hotels. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the restaurant staff are very friendly and attentive. The only negatives are the hard beds and being asked to pay for wifi. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out onto the Forum.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machka1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Kolbe is located away from the hustle and bustle of Rome however is practically on the doorstep of all of the major attractions that every visitor would want to see. We spent four days at the hotel and our room overlooked the lawns and courtyard in the hotel which was very pleasant.

The room itself was adequate for our requirements and the staff were very helpful in giving directions to the various sites of interest and the best way to get there. Most sites are reached by walking however taxis were plentiful and cheap and no trip was over 10 euro. Restaurants are very sparse in this part of Rome so you need to factor that into your eating plans as you need 10 to 15 minutes walking to where there are plenty of choices.

We dined in on two nights and the food and service were again adequate and the cost was very reasonable for both food and wine. The food menu was varied and the ingredients were fresh and well made and presented whilst the wine list had sufficient choice to suit most drinkers.

Breakfast was rather basic however probably in line with most other hotels which provide breakfast as part of the tariff.

The best things about the hotel included the location ( close to everything and quite at night ), the staff and their service, the peaceful gardens and grounds and finally the modern and clean premises.

Things that would make the stay even better include having tea and coffee making facilities in the room, putting a clock in each room so that you do not have to keep fumbling throughout the night to ascertain what time it is and to provide tissues in the bathroom as is done in most hotels around the world.

In summary, a good hotel choice to stay while in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and courtyard
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews