We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No way a four star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #162 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No way a four star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived having booked and paid for a "superior room" and were shown into a tiny room with a tiny bathroom. Having put down our suitcases we could hear talking (not shouting or anyone rowing) quite audibly through the walls. This was unacceptable. We immediately returned to reception and stated our concerns. The receptionist told us that she had been there for five years and we were the first people to complain about noise. Her inference was clear, I was not being truthful. She then told me that we had been given a superior room to which I replied that I should hate to see what an inferior room was like. We were, happily, offered a choice of two other rooms, one of which was not an improvement but the other certainly was. The room we took was large, airy, had a mezzanine floor where there was a very comfortable double bed. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath (most welcome after a hard day's walking around Rome).

I won't go into location of the hotel, which for us was fine as this was our eighth visit to Rome, other people have described the location pretty accurately but I will say that having stayed in a number of Roman hotels, the actual facilities offered to us were really no better than those in a three star hotel and in no way are comparable to other four star hotels we have stayed in, in Europe. A four star hotel offers four star accommodation in its most basic rooms - usually robes, slippers, tea and coffee facilities in room, iron and ironing board, iPod dock and complimentary water. None of these apart from the slippers were included in our room. I would gladly have swapped a jacuzzi bath for an ordinary bath and have the usual facilities of a four star room when I have paid four star prices.

We could not look out of windows as they were blinded by opaque glass panels and so only the blue sky was visible, not really what you want in a hotel.

Most staff members were very helpful and friendly although we rarely called upon them for assistance. We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on it.

Suffice to say that although the actual building of the hotel was beautiful, when looking for a four star hotel in Rome again, this hotel will not be on our list.

Room Tip: I cannot give any tips since I would not stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmyaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    475
    156
    45
    28
See reviews for
333
663
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

First off - we've stayed on the Aventine as well in years past and the hotel there (San Pio) just had a bit more charm (the Aventine is my favourite area in Rome). However, it's a bit of a walk off the Aventine and the Kolbe is really well situated to most of the 'downtown' Rome people want to see. There were no real shortcomings to the Kolbe - efficient and friendly staff, good breakfast, OK price, super location, adequate room. A former convent, it's quite lovely in the foyer and reception area, as well as the restaurant, and has a really nice back garden - quiet and calming. The room, albeit nice and clean and well appointed, was out of character to the look of the hotel, having modern furniture and an almost Scandinavian style. A bit clinical, I found, and not really very charming. But that didn't matter much since, like most tourists, we were on the go the whole time. By the way, don't settle for the coffee out of the machine at breakfast - ask one of the friendly staff and they will gladly get you a fresh cappuccino or machiato or americano or espresso using fresh beans in the kitchen (the machines are Nestle).

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back garden are, I should imagine, quieter than those facing the Palantine and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a huge room with a round king size bed and a pull out couch. Bathroom was very modern with both toilet and bidet. Staff was very friendly and helpful - spoke both Italian and English. Hotel was walking distance to the Colosseum. Great continental breakfast. A bit pricey but very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph_Isaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were allocated room 109 which was at the front of the hotel. No need to worry about the view from the window as it was well above my head and you could see nothing but a bit of sky. As it happens, this was no bad thing because immediately outside was the road.

The room was very nice, long and narrow and the bathroom also quite up-market with a power spa shower.

The hotel is probably well located but I did not get a chance to walk around the block opposite the hotel to find The Colleseum which I understand was there.

The decor of the hotel was modern, airy and bright with a small, quite nice garden at the back.

The food served was very nice but we were not offered a Menu, just served with the meal.

Although the Kolbe Hotel does have wifi, it is not free (which was the case in all other hotels we were in). To be honest, I think it would have done no harm for that to have been available without additional expense, especially as we were only there one night!

Room Tip: Our room, 109 was on the ground floor and easy to get to. It was at the end of a corridor so it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgware2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Located in a quiet side street, this hotel is very well placed for the Forum and the 'ancient rome' sights. The building is quite characterful: our bedroom was quite large with a mezanine floor for the bed, a stone vaulted ceiling and views over the lovely gardens.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant fairly good (breakfast was excellent) - be aware that there are not that many other restaurants in the vicinity.
Overall, a good choice if you want to be close to the Forum and Colosseum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Nice hotel in great location next to the Forum. The rooms are a little dated, but clean and cosy. The beds are on the hard side, which is common in Italian hotels. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the restaurant staff are very friendly and attentive. The only negatives are the hard beds and being asked to pay for wifi. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out onto the Forum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machka1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Kolbe is located away from the hustle and bustle of Rome however is practically on the doorstep of all of the major attractions that every visitor would want to see. We spent four days at the hotel and our room overlooked the lawns and courtyard in the hotel which was very pleasant.

The room itself was adequate for our requirements and the staff were very helpful in giving directions to the various sites of interest and the best way to get there. Most sites are reached by walking however taxis were plentiful and cheap and no trip was over 10 euro. Restaurants are very sparse in this part of Rome so you need to factor that into your eating plans as you need 10 to 15 minutes walking to where there are plenty of choices.

We dined in on two nights and the food and service were again adequate and the cost was very reasonable for both food and wine. The food menu was varied and the ingredients were fresh and well made and presented whilst the wine list had sufficient choice to suit most drinkers.

Breakfast was rather basic however probably in line with most other hotels which provide breakfast as part of the tariff.

The best things about the hotel included the location ( close to everything and quite at night ), the staff and their service, the peaceful gardens and grounds and finally the modern and clean premises.

Things that would make the stay even better include having tea and coffee making facilities in the room, putting a clock in each room so that you do not have to keep fumbling throughout the night to ascertain what time it is and to provide tissues in the bathroom as is done in most hotels around the world.

In summary, a good hotel choice to stay while in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#75 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#147 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Monti
Hotel Forum Roma
Hotel Forum Roma
#194 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#96 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing