We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,683)
Filter reviews
1,683 results
Traveller rating
882
541
176
51
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
882
541
176
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscircus maximusroman foruminternal gardenpalatine hillcirco massimoimportant monumentsmodern comfortswalking distancejacuzzi showerfour star hotelfamily roomhotel restaurantminute walklovely hotelthe ground floorquiet streetroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 1,683 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a decent hotel around 15 mins walk to plaza venezia. The hotel is quiet and on a cobbled side street. The walk back to the hotel is very dark and would recommend getting a taxi at night times,though make sure the driver puts the meter on. The rooms are quite basic and there wasn't much choice for breakfast. Rome is a great place to visit and I think you could find a hotel in a better location for the cost of the Kolbe. The hotel is within walking distance of Romes many sights particularly the Colosseum. A pleasant quiet hotel and probably worthy of a 4 star rating though I would stay elsewhere should I go back to Rome

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden area
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Kolbe, a remodeled ecclesiastical institution, has fine service, a great location right by the Roman Forum but on a tranquil side-street, quiet elegance, and an excellent restaurant. Its rooms vary - you get what you pay for in this hotel. Some of the rooms are cell-like, others much larger with a mezzanine, and others larger still. On balance, I thought value for money was good, and enjoyed the hotel very much indeed.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, pay up for a larger room!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights from the 12th May on our 1st Rome trip to see the sights. Good points are nice garden and reception area. Bad points, breakfast varied for continental and cooked. But cooked breakfast was warm to cold on all days. There was no choice of bread types, only white sliced which was old and crumbly. Fruit juice was either watered down or poor quality. Fruit salad looked days old and not appetising. Tea and coffee making in room. 2 english breakfast bags on 1st day and no replacements for these or. Offers on subsequent days. No milk in rom from 1st day to last! Some small chicks left 1st day but not replenished and no biscuits. Stayed in a delux room but jacuzzi bath only worked on one side. Nice flat screen TV but only about 6 poor italian channels and CNN plus BBC world. Very poor not even subtitled channels nor any film or sport channels. Bathroom toiletries replaced after 1st day. Breakfast till 10:00 but checkout also 10:00. Wifi good. The room air con is not operated in the room but controlled by reception, if you want it on you have to contact them, also to change the setting, so if during the night it gets too chilly or hot you have to ring reception to change it, very poor! No coat hooks in common area toilets. And no, if we stay 4 or 5 star we do not expect to chase up these basic services, we will just not stay here again. Definitely more 3 star and 2 star for room services. It is about a 45 min walk to the vatican and 15 mins to the Coloseum. There are better locations. A couple of tips for visiting the sights. Buy tickets in advance on the official vatican a museum site, cost 2 euro extra but worth it as you skip the 2 hour queues. Buy there to skip and they are 20 euro extra! When you go round the vatican museums and get to the sistine chapel leave via the right hand doer which is for guided tours only but just tag along with the groups as there are no checks, and it takes to straight into St Peters basilica. If you leave by the official left hand door you have to go round to the front again and join the 2 hour queue to get into the basilica. Likewise for the Coloseum go on the official site and pay an extra 2 euros for tickets which let you go straight in and avoid the 1.5 hour queue. On the day the line skip tickets are 35 euro! And a must see sight is the San Callisto catacombs. Whilst most web pages advise you to not get anything but. White cab from the airport, ignore it. The cabs from Fiume into are 48 euro. Thee are plenty of other cabs that take 4 couples for 40 euro. If you are last out it is an extra 15 mins but we were last out and it was worth it as we had a free trip around rimes back streets and the driver pointed out a lot of sights we would have missed otherwise. In fact we tipped him 10 euros for the pleasure. Well worth it and in all about the same as a cab but with a siteseeing tour thrown in. If you are 1st out it saves you 8 euro. They also give you a ticket for the return trip for 35 euros. We used it and were sole occupants and saved 13 euros.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ask for a garden view room, they are quieter away from the busy road. The forum view is just not worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked as part of a British Airways flight & hotels package. Tucked away just past the circo massismo station. Beautiful and clean inside and staff were very friendly and more than happy to help.

Excellent location, particularly for the Colosseum and Roman Forum.

Bedroom was comfortable, however air conditioning needed a bit of working out before it got going!

Breakfast was also good, with a range of food on offer. We did not eat here as it seemed a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TR2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Kolbe Hotel is tucked away on the far side of the forum, where tourists never go, just 10 minutes walk from the Pizza Venezia in one direction, and 10 minutes from Trastevere in the other. It is a decent standard hotel with lovely gardens at the back. Request a room looking over the garden for a peaceful oasis of calm in the middle of a very busy city. Rooms are large and clean, and the beds are king size. Breakfasts are pretty good. I don't know about value for money as I was there for a company event.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews