We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #161 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Pros: Free Wi-Fi a BIG plus. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Great location for walking to those must-see sites. Good breakfast. Modern updates to bathrooms. Cons: Basic rooms, smallish bathrooms. Called twice about a broken lamp bulb -- problem eventually solves. No view from our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dleg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    475
    156
    45
    28
See reviews for
333
663
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the location and reviews here on TripAdvisor. The location was perfect, approximately a 10-15 minute walk to the Colosseum and Forum. We decided to take a cab to the Vatican, which cost around 15 Euro. The staff was great and the family room was clean and spacious enough for our family of four. Breakfast was mediocre. We would definitely consider staying here when we visit Rome in the future. Tip: Take the 10-15 minute walk across the river for dinner in the Trastevere neighborhood. Get a garden view room- nice and quiet!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SoxFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice clean modern hotel with quiet rooms, great breakfast (included) and very nice staff. We stayed in one of the "Family Rooms" with the loft above for parents and a comfortable sofa-bed below for the kids. Great bathroom with a nicely sized shower/tub. While it IS technically just feet from Palatine Hill/Roman Forum, it is about a 15 minute walk to the actual entrance (about the same for the Colosseum). A great bonus of this hotel is the computers in the lobby with a printer. Restaurant fairly expensive but I think in line with this type of hotel. Limited TV channels but they have CNN and BBC news in english.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice hotel.....CLEAN, modernly updated, friendly, gracious & efficient staff, good services (internet, bar, concierge)...wonderful breakfast and a really good chef that turned out delicious food consistently from the hotel itself! The only downside I can think of is it is not located close enough to be able to walk to a lot of the main places of interest......you really needed a cab or a car.....but that was never an issue.....cabs were a cinch to ask for. Staying there NEVER hindered our plan of getting or going anywhere! I slept on a fold out couch downstairs with my neice....it was surprisingly VERY comfortable! My sister and other niece slept upstairs in the loft/bed.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the garden.......so nice to be able to open the windows.....no screens or bugs!!! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makiki, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I picked this hotel for its location and for the reviews I've read. It is near the Colosseum. It was 3 of us.

Room set-up: As you will see from the photos, our particular room had a king bed on one side and sofa sleeper separated by a 1/2 wall partition. There are outlets in the headboard making it convenient for charging phones, iPads, etc. Beds were comfortable to us. It felt like memory foam but I'm not sure. It was firm. There are cathedral ceilings and the room housed all 3 of us comfortably. Bathroom: Is large with the toilet, bidet, very large tub/shower. Everything you may need in a room is to be had here. (Fridge, safe, shelves to house clothes or misc items) We had a very nice view from the room.

Food: We ate most of our breakfast meals at this hotel. Various meats, eggs, croissants, other pastries, OJ, coffee or tea, dry cereals, fruit and yogurt. I'm probably missing a few. We also had a couple of nice dinners here as well. The tiramisu we had for dessert was the best we had in Rome! Note: There are so many restaurants outside the hotel as well. Rome has to have the best tasting food! The Staff: They were very accommodating and friendly. One of the front desk clerks suggested for just a little bit more $ we could have a personal tour guide and I'm glad we went that way. Karin from "Eyes of Rome" was so informative. We used her twice, for the Colosseum and the Vatican. Overall it was worth it all. We had a most enjoyable time in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaYnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a decent hotel around 15 mins walk to plaza venezia. The hotel is quiet and on a cobbled side street. The walk back to the hotel is very dark and would recommend getting a taxi at night times,though make sure the driver puts the meter on. The rooms are quite basic and there wasn't much choice for breakfast. Rome is a great place to visit and I think you could find a hotel in a better location for the cost of the Kolbe. The hotel is within walking distance of Romes many sights particularly the Colosseum. A pleasant quiet hotel and probably worthy of a 4 star rating though I would stay elsewhere should I go back to Rome

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
170 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Kolbe, a remodeled ecclesiastical institution, has fine service, a great location right by the Roman Forum but on a tranquil side-street, quiet elegance, and an excellent restaurant. Its rooms vary - you get what you pay for in this hotel. Some of the rooms are cell-like, others much larger with a mezzanine, and others larger still. On balance, I thought value for money was good, and enjoyed the hotel very much indeed.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, pay up for a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#75 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#148 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#69 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Monti
Hotel Forum Roma
Hotel Forum Roma
#193 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#96 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing