We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near Colosseo, Foro Romano”
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #140 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice little hotel in back of Foro Romano and Colosseo area. Quiet location and the room was good enough size for 4 days stay. Free internet and the TV was a good size. Very clean room but my concern was the weak air-con and weak fridge during the 35c heat outside!! Dinner on the ground floor restaurant was OK and the breakfast had a nice good choice. Taxi services were always quick which was within 3-5 minutes from request. Like many Italian hotels not many English TV channels.

Room Tip: Excellent hotel near Foro Romano and Colosseo
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
There are newer reviews for Kolbe Hotel Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Kolbe Hotel for 2 nights in May 2014. This hotel was clean and fresh and modern. The rooms were comfortable and quite spacious including the bathroom. We had an excellent view looking out over the terrace and garden which was quite peaceful. The bar was cozy in the evening and breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of hot and cold choices, including various styles of eggs, meats and breads. The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to the Palantine Hill, Forum and Colosseum and Circus Maximus. We were able to enjoy an open market on Saturday next door with a wide variety of fresh, organic fruits, vegatables, craft beer and desserts. The local transit system is a short walk where we were able to board one of the touring buses, the Green Line Tour which was a Hop On Hop Off panoramic tour, an excellent way to view the city. We would easily choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the terrace or gardens.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Kolbe Hotel for three nights in June 2014. The location is excellent...an easy walking distance to the Forum and the Colluseum. A metro stop is about 15 minutes walk. The rooms are modern and nice size for Europe. Breakfast was good and hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They assisted us making reservations at a restaurant one night and recommend a spot for viewing a World Cup match. Would visit this one again.

Room Tip: Unless you really want a second or higher floor room with a forum view, recommend asking for an inte...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Arrived to be told the hotel was overbooked and we were being sent elsewhere for the first night..after speaking to other guests at the second hotel we realised this seems to be quite a problem with this hotel
as other guests had also been "overbooked". Even though the room itself was amazing - I will never come back to this hotel. Wasted part of my short trip to Rome travelling between hotels, just what I needed. In fact this has put me off Rome so won't even be going back. Worst hotel experience I've ever had on a city break!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xLadyCAx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I didn't realise how much I would appreciate being in a quiet area- Rome is so much busier than I remember! It's also fantastic to pass by the Forum and be so close to the Capitoline Hill.
We had a family room, nice size and well cleaned. Breakfast more than fine. Could do with tea-making facilities in the room. We didn't eat here but chose to walk to the Jewish Quarter, and incredible cafe at the Capitoline museum ( side entrance). Would definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank sbizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stumbled into this hotel after our very long flight to Rome feeling exhausted and disoriented. It's easy to feel overwhelmed by Rome, even if you're from New York City, but this area is a nice little oasis--very close to the Coliseum and other sights, but in an area that is very quiet and scenic. The hotel itself doesn't have a lot of charm or character, but it's fine--the rooms are standard-sized for Italy (a little smaller than Americans are used to), but clean, with any amenities you might need. We didn't eat at the hotel as we were only there for two days, but there are a few sweet places nearby, including a wonderful little place to grab coffee and a breakfast treat, and a restaurant/bar with good food and a warm, lively vibe. I've been wavering between giving the hotel a good or very good ranking and settled for very good primarily because of the location, helpful staff, and quiet. You could probably find hotels that are much more quaint but if you want something that is modestly priced and with everything you need...this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ernesto1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our family stayed at Kolbe Hotel for five days, the four of us. I very much recommend this hotel because of its location, peace, and quality of food and sleep it offers. We stayed at a room for four and it eas perfect for us. Children slept at the loft and we, the parents, were downstairs. It could be the other way around too, obviously. Both beds were very comfy. The cleaners did a smashing job each day nad the breakfast was very good. But it was more or less the same for all five mornings, though. Air conditioning and the Wi-Fi were very good, which was very important for me.

We liked the room facing the garden. Absolute peace right at the heart of Rome! You can walk to all the major sights easily. And we did. And we saw. Choose Kolbe - you wo'nt be disappointed!

Room Tip: We liked the room facing the garden. Absolute peace right at the heart of Rome!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjoensuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#81 of 1,267 in Rome
1,872 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#151 of 1,267 in Rome
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#71 of 1,267 in Rome
2,072 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#42 of 1,267 in Rome
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £108 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing