We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modest hotel with good prices”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #184 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“modest hotel with good prices”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 days in Hotel Italia. It is absolutely one of the cheapest hotels one can find in Rome. The first day the lady in the reception told us that the guests who were staying in our room got food poisoning and they can not check out for that night so, they sent us to another hotel across the road. This was unpleasant though. It was a huge building with different hotels in every floor. First night was a nightmare. The room we stayed seemed clean but when we checked the bed sheet we realized that it wasn't. Also the floor and the bath was in dirt. Anyway the second day we got our room in Hotel Italia which was also across the street in the very same building that they sent us.Then we got the situation, that Hotel Italia's rooms are split into two buildings face to face. Hotel Italia's floor in the building is very neat and clean, the room was also clean and big. Everything worked properly. It is very close to Termini train station and to many attraction points in the city. By 15-20 minutes walks we got to many places like Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps or Piazza Navona. The breakfast was not great but good enough, and even we gave 10 cents every time we used the lift or we payed 10 euros for the air conditioner per night we weren't complaining because it is a really economic hotel in such a big touristic city and has a good location with best of staff. Abdul who works in the reception is already a celebrity in tripadvisor. He is helpful and friendly and makes this hotel a unique place for the tourists. He gives the best tips about Rome, transportation, museums, Vatikan and restaurants. You can also book tours and make rezervations from the front desk. I can recommend this hotel to people who wants an economic stay in the heart of the city and good service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank editricee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Madame ,
Thanks for being so accomodating with me when you got here; At the very last minute we needed
to take care of that couple and couldn't let them leave Rome .
I can only thank you again for your kindness.

The whole Staff hope to see you again in the next future,
Sabrina / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    423
    120
    38
    19
See reviews for
216
411
82
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I'm not sure why this is 2 star hotel - I thought it was more like 3 star. Just a fantastic place which is cheap as chips. I travelled on my own but the staff, especially Abdul made me feel at ease and comfortable the whole time. The hotel is spotless and the staff are amazing. Some people complain about the aircon being €10 extra per day - but I thought that was fine given that the room rates are so cheap on the first place! Finally the location is the best selling point. In the heart of Monti - a quaint but beautiful and quiet district within the city. Having said that, the hotel is walking distance to the colossium and trevi fountine. Also close to all public transport. Just loved this hotel and will stay again.
Andrea from Australia.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Grazie Andrea !!
Thanks a lot for highlighting what we are proud of .
Service, location and affordable prices are what we care of .

Best wishes ,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect place for a short touristic visit to rome! We stayed for 5 nights in a small but cozy room for two. We had everything that we needed,the room was very clean,breakfast was very good with fresh croissants and very good cappuccino,the staff was extremly helpful and friendly,and the best thing-location was perfect,close to all sights!!
Only minus was that our room was next to the kitchen so we got an early wake-up in the morning from the noise..thin walls i suppose :-/
Even so,hotel italia a very good choice and if back in rome we will definitely come again!!

Helpful?
Thank DanchiCro
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Guest ,
we are really happy you had a pleasant stay .

We look forward to your next visit ,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Do not be put off by the entrance which looks as if you enter the hotel via some residences. It is not a glamorous hotel but is centrally located good value for money with a good clean atmosphere. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Service at breakfast was good and very efficient. The rooms, like all European Cities, the rooms can be small as well as the showers but are perfectly adequate and clean.Lap-top provided at reception with WI-Fi for guests.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel for best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hahaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear SIr,
Thanks for having stayed with us and posting your nice review .

Looking forward to meeting you once again in Rome .

Best regards,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a great hotel - you get what you pay for! Its no way posh or fancy but it it ideal for what we were looking for. When we got off at the bus stop it was only a 6/8min walk. (Get a map before leaving the airport) It is centrally located, it is a walking distance from most of the major attractions! The hotel is in two parts- we stayed across the street and then went to the main hotel for breakfast. No big deal! Andrea was so helpful and the first morning he had tickets for the tour bus available behind the desk! Breakfast was good and there are loads of great pizza and ice-cream places close by! We'll defo return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcake321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Madame ,
Thanks a lot for your kind review ; We are glad you appreciated the Hotel location
& the surrounding area .

Best regards,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

It was not easy locating this hotel. Not many people know about "via Venezia" (but it makes a big difference when you say "near via Nazionale"). Our check-in was a breeze. We were given a room at 10AM. Room was a bit dated but shower was very clean and they will change your towels every day. Although, you have to add €10 more for air conditioning and you MUST get it. Summer in Rome was too humid! Anyways, the staff was excellent! Abdul (reception) was very friendly and helpful, Franca (the one who'll serve you coffee at breakfast) was the sweetest, and the other staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaWenLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thanks Madame !
We all hope to give you hospitality once more in Rome .

Have a good day ,
Sabrina / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Italia the first week of June. We were not advised ahead of time that our rooms would be across the road. Not a big deal unless you've gone up several flights of stairs with luggage to get to the lobby and then have to go back down and across the street. Andrea was very helpful and extremely pleasant. Our rooms were quite small, but very clean and efficient for the price. The shower was the smallest shower I have ever seen. I dropped the soap and had to turn off the shower and open the doors to be able to bend down to retrieve it! Having said that, the water was hot (can be an issue in some hotels) The AC was somewhat noisy but cooled the room very well (Cannot say the same for another hotel we stayed in.) Unfortunately the bed was killer hard, but breakfast was great, location was amazing and helpfullness of staff for directions and arranging transfers to airport also great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MySharonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Madame ,
We are glad you liked the hotel location very much .
Unfortunately we don't know all Guest needs therefore please
make your requests ahead of time to let you have a more pleasant
stay .

Regards,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#511 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#120 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#165 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Venezia 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#163 Family Hotel in Rome
#275 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Italia!In the heart of the storical Rome next to the Quirinale, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Termini station and the Colosseum, an exclusive and elegant place is going to offer you a relaxing and confortable stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing