We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, great service, pleasantly surprised”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #186 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great service, pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the property for a week in early Nov - Stayed in the Residence room.
Pluses: large room with fridge and safe. From the reviews, expected to be showering with butt cheeks against wall or shower door -- it was fine (6'2", 220 lbs -- no complaints). Bed & pillows were very comfortable. Windows pretty much sound proof - busy street outside hardly bothered us, when closed. Internet in room with excellent connectivity and speed. Fantastic location - 10 min walk to either Repubblica square or Station Termini. Staff & service blew us away: Courteous and very helpful. Breakfast was a great start to the day - good European breakfast (they make a very good cappuccino).
Cons: the elevator is hilarious. Getting to the lobby with luggage is an adventure. The doors use keys that need to be jiggled and maneuvered to work. You have to leave the key with the desk when leaving.. We never asked, but I would think you should take the security box key off the key ring and keep it with you ..
All in all though, an excellent value hotel.

Room Tip: The Residence rooms we found to be large with plenty of storage. You need to buzz to get in when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Tim ,
Thanks for your wondeful review about us .
Hotel is very pleased to have given you hospitality .

Best regards ,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    423
    121
    38
    19
See reviews for
216
413
82
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a decent hotel, and the rooms were very clean and spacious, for European standard. We also enjoyed small complimentary breakfast every morning, and the lady who served coffee was very friendly and sweet! The location is okay, the bus stop,metro, and the train station were all pretty close, and some of the monuments were within walking distance. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, EXCEPT for this one guy who were being really rude and creepy. I was having a conversation with my friend at the lobby area and he kept interrupting our conversation and said some VERY inappropriate things related to sex and drugs, that had nothing to do with our conversation! We found him very annoying, creepy, and unprofessional, so we left and went back to our room. I wish I had known his name. Also, the wifi doesn't work in some rooms, and my phone didn't even get signal in my room(I have an Italian phone that works perfectly fine elsewhere), which was very inconvenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I'm truly sorry about that as I did not want to be rude at all .

Best wishes ,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Recently my husband and I returned from our Italian vacation. In Rome, we stayed at the Hotel Italia. It was centrally located and everything was wonderful From the helpful and friendly people at the front desk we received tips for places to eat and directions to places we were going. Our room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious.We enjoyed our stay immensely. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, not facing the main street. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Barbara ,
Thanks a lot ! We are pleased about your great stay with us .

Best regards ,
Gabriel / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are towards the end of our Italian vacation and had an amazing start in Rome because of the wonderful staff at Hotel Italia. We had zero complaints during our stay here. We traveled with six other people and there was a mix up with one of the rooms, but they (Abdul) didn't hesitate for a moment to make everything right and ensure everyone was comfortable and happy. He took the time needed to get the room rearranged and was very polite and attentive. We also showed up with nine large bags, but we carried none of them. Luigi showed up in the elevator as soon as we were buzzed in and instantly took charge of making sure we didn't have to deal with our luggage at all. He also stood outside with us when we were checking out to make sure the taxi cabs that picked us up knew where to take us and to help get all of our bags loaded. The breakfast was filling, the rooms were very clean, and everyone on staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you so much Hotel Italia for giving us such a wonderful first impression of Rome!

Room Tip: The superior rooms have larger bathrooms, which we only realized because the other members of our gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thanks a lot for your wonderful review !
It's very much appreciated .

Regards ,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The service is great and the breakfast delicious! We had a friend join last minute and they did everything they could to accommodate us! Luigi worked his butt off carrying all our bags. They recommended great places to eat. Great location walking distance from the coliseum and very clean. They have a staff member 24/7 to answer our questions including Abdul who was great at answering everything. Great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
All I can say is "thank you" !!! :)

Abdul / Hotel Italia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

walking distance to the metro, many shops and restaurants and all you need for your stay in rome. we felt very safe here and the staff was very helpful. They have a very cute little breakfast area with a lovely complimentary breakfast.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmacpitt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, Owner at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for posting your lovely review .
Staff will be very pleased to have you once again next time .

Ciao ,
Andrea / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have been staying at Hotel Italia at least once a year for the past 15 years and have always had a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly, helpful, efficient, professional and knowledgeable. The rooms I have stayed in have been clean and pleasant. The rooms do vary in size - so book in advance and ask if a larger room is available when making your reservation. The location is excellent for sightseeing in Rome. I have recommended Hotel Italia to friends and family members who have also had great experiences here. I look forward to my annual visits to Rome and to Hotel Italia!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtravelinginitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Grazie!!!
We are glad you keep coming at Hotel Italia .
You are one of our special Guests !!

See you next time ,
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#518 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#118 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#164 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Venezia 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#163 Family Hotel in Rome
#275 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Italia!In the heart of the storical Rome next to the Quirinale, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Termini station and the Colosseum, an exclusive and elegant place is going to offer you a relaxing and confortable stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing