We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, perfect location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #189 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

From the moment we set foot inside this charming and welcoming hotel, we knew that we had landed well. The staff and owner were exceptionally kind and helpful in all ways. The room was a gem, clean and quiet, and with a magnificently comfortable mattress! Breakfast was awesome. What's more to say? Ah, the location. Out of the five or so hotels we've stayed at in Rome, Hotel Italia is best situated. It's an easy walk to the train station but not so near that it's "near the train station." It's on a quiet street, and just across the street are two restaurants, and one of them is quite good. Next door is a fantastic sandwich shop that has to be tried! We really loved Hotel Italia and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roganddrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
All we can say is GRAZIE !!! :))

See you next time ,
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    410
    116
    38
    19
See reviews for
209
396
80
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well situated but very noisy single room on first floor. The shower space was far too small for comfort. Difficult to sleep at night because of noise coming from other rooms or from outside the hotel.
The staff at the front desk were very efficient and helpful and generally staff very warm making the general atmosphere pleasant.
The breakfast was generous and good
I think it very discriminatory to give single people a poor room and recommend the hotel only for doubles.
The situation is good and close to public transport.

Room Tip: Only book double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Ruth ,
Next time you want to come for a longer stay we'll give you a larger bathroom.

Thanks ,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Wonderful hotel in a location close to transportation and attractions. The room and bathroom were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was lovely with a good selection of foods and drink. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great; with a 10 minute walk to the train station and less to city bus stops. We walked to many of the tourist attractions. Close to shopping and restaurants too. We would gladly stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks Patrick
for your nice review .

Have a good day ,
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the Rome portion of our recent trip to Italy. We could not have been more pleased with the accommodations. The room was clean and comfortable, and even included a hot pot with teas (forget the instant coffee when in Italy!). Nice bathroom/shower. Great location for walking to many sites, and a short walk to a Metro stop. Lovely breakfast room with a nice selection of foods. Abdul and the rest of the staff always had a smile for us, and were so very helpful when we needed anything — from restaurant or shop referrals to transportation help to printing boarding passes for our flight home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION DESK at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Debbie ,
Thanks for your wonderful review .

Grazie ,
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is an absolute steal considering its location, charm and old-school service. Upon arrival to the building we crammed into the tiny vintage lift - as we saw ourselves go to the wrong floor by accident we could also see the bellhop in his blue uniform racing up the stairs to greet us and guide us to the correct floor - the whole thing was very "Grand Budapest Hotel". The receptionist was very helpful and made dinner reservations at our request. We were lucky enough to be placed in their newly renovated wing across the street - the room was very comfortable with a great view, excellent bed, and a powerful hair dryer. The location is right in the tourist zone, walking distance to the train station, etc. For anyone looking for a calm cute place right in the mix of all the sites I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, reception desk at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks a lot for your kind review.

We are very happy to hear you appreciated so much the renovated rooms accross the street .

Have a nice day ,
Abdul / HOTEL ITALIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from Hotel Italia staying 21st-24th April 2014, trying to find a hotel in Central Rome is difficult as there's so many to choose from. So glad we picked Hotel Italia! Excellent location we walked everywhere and didn't use a bus or metro once, close to lots of lovely restaurants, staff were so helpful and friendly (especially Abdul on reception) and our room was spotlessly clean. We'd booked a double room and were lucky to actually have a slightly larger room with a double bed and a single in (room 42). The bathroom was small but again very clean with a lovely big shower. Breakfast is basic continental style in a small tabled area with 6 tables, we never had to wait for a table although we did see people who had to wait one morning. The hotel is situated down a side street in a building with a big wooden door, you have to buzz the intercom in order for the door to be opened and then the hotel reception is on the second floor. We had a wonderful holiday in Rome with Hotel Italia as a perfect base and we wouldn't hesitate to return here or recommend to friends or family. Thank you Hotel Italia!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannaGareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Joanna ,
Thanks for your truly kind review .

Staff hope to have you here in the next future .

Regards,
Abdul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent four nights in Rome recently at the Hotel Italia. First of all, the location is very very good. It is right off Via Nationale and a 10 to 15 minute walk from most Rome tourist sights. In addition, the metro stop was two blocks away making the trip to the Vatican a breeze. The breakfast was very nice with meat and eggs in addition to the usual cheeses and pastries. My only complaint was that the shower in our room was very tiny (cruise ship size).
The staff really stepped up when I had a problem. Seems I left my sports jacket in the room when we left to go to Florence. The staff happily mailed my coat to our hotel - Thank You!!
I highly recommend Hotel Italia for Rome travel.
-Rob and Randy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rfoxod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItaliaHotel, RECEPTION at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Madame ,
Thanks for appreciating our Hotel .

Next time remember us to have a bigger room.

Regards ,
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#77 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#516 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#199 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Venezia 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#163 Family Hotel in Rome
#275 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Italia!In the heart of the storical Rome next to the Quirinale, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Termini station and the Colosseum, an exclusive and elegant place is going to offer you a relaxing and confortable stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing