We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Ranked #490 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Right near Campo Di Fiore and the Centro Storico. Great location. Easy walk to all the restaurants around Piazza Navonna too. We were there for a wedding and had four nights there in July. It was hot, but the AC worked great. Much better than the Airport Hilton where we stayed our last night (6am flight). All the staff spoke great English so I didn't get to practice my Italian. Breakfast is in the Grotto, part of the excavations of Pompey's theater which occupied this block. I didn't notice any noise from the street, but could hear noise from the other rooms. Luckily I brought a sound machine. The rooms are quite large, really extrordinary from other hotels I've stayed in Rome, New York, London or even Los Angeles. Will definitely plan a return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carljn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    142
    19
    5
    11
See reviews for
39
151
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We spent three nights here and loved it. Due to the location of the hotel, we could walk everywhere. The staff were very helpful and spoke English and French. We had an inside room but it was very quiet and having breakfast amid the ruins of a Roman theatre was fun (and the breakfast was fine.) We had free wifi for the computer which was also convenient. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lycia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable four night stay in this lovely hotel. This was our third time to stay at this hotel. We had a beautiful room overlooking the little piazza at Largo del Pallaro. The windows and shutters in the bedroom block out all street noise and light which enabled us to sleep extremely well. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are good too. This hotel is so convenient for touring Rome and we walked everywhere from it. Our only problem was that neither or our smart phones could connect into the Hotel's free WiFi. We asked three different members of staff, none of whom solve this problem. We were disappointed, considering the amount of money we handed over for our stay. The WiFi worked very well on our phones in hotels throughout Tuscany, prior to our arrival in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Very good warm staff. Thanks to Simona who was an excellent hostess and able to share much about Rome with us. Vincenzo, the night clerk was very affable as well. The room is clean, not a great view (we saw the central part of the hotel) but since all we were doing was sleeping there, it was perfect for our use. @ blocks from Campo di Fiori, 25 minute walk to colosseum, half hour/forty minute walk or so to St Peters. Lots of greaat restaurants and a greaat pastry shop 2 blocks away called Il Fornaio. Wow, to die for! Visit them!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I really enjoyed our stay in this hotel, I only wish we were there longer! We stayed in the Annex building, which was not a problem at all; its just a few steps from the main hotel. The room was clean and very comfortable, and the service was excellent. Plus you eat breakfast in the remains of Pompey's theater which is very cool!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Rooms are fairly spacious. Free wifi. Safe in room. Right next to Campo di fiori. Take the regional train from FCO to Trastevere and then catch the #8 tram to Largo Argentina for 8 Euros as of May 2012 if you don't have a lot of luggage. Breakfast is included and quite good (pastries, protein, juices, etc) .

Room Tip: I have stayed in three different rooms. I liked the room by the reception desk the least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoeDivaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We've just had 5 super days in Rome with this hotel as our base. Initially, it was a little difficult to find, but when we did the staff were really friendly, helpful and kind. They tolerated me trying out my (very poor!) Italian but could, of course, speak English fluently (and French, and ....). They asked what we wanted to see, and helped with maps, etc. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms clean with everything working as it should (certainly not always the case in London). The breakfasts were really good, with plenty of choice. The building itself is an interesting one, and, apart from noisy laundry deliveries early in the morning, the rooms overlooking the little square are remarkably quiet. We did not need to take a bus or a taxi once, and walked comfortably to all the major sites. This was our first visit to Rome - we are 60+s, and brought our daughter and son in law with us. We all had a wonderful time and would stay in this hotel again if we returned to Rome.

Room Tip: We were in the main building - I see there are some not so good reviews about the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delphbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
#584 of 1,257 in Rome
180 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#177 of 1,257 in Rome
1,030 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Sole Roma
Hotel Sole Roma
#659 of 1,257 in Rome
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#421 of 1,257 in Rome
240 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#600 of 1,257 in Rome
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro di Pompeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro di Pompeo

Property: Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Address: Largo del Pallaro 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#177 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teatro di Pompeo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The teatro di pompeo hotel is located on the remains of the ancient roman pompey's theatre dating back to the year 55 b.c. It is situated in the heart of rome's historical centre, just few steps from piazza navona and campo de' fiori. Guests may enjoy breakfast and drinks in presence of ancient roman remains. The hotel is dedicated to select and exacting guests who appreciate quality comfort and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Teatro di Pompeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Di Pompeo Hotel Rome
Teatro Di Pompeo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing