We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, cramped and expensive, one to avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Ranked #485 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My very dark and small basement room felt more like a hostel. The floorboards of the room above me creaked and banged as the other guests moved around. Add to this the plumbing, I was awoken several times when other rooms toilets flushed and guests arriving back in the night talking in hallways, slamming doors. I am not a light sleeper by any means, this is a very noisy hotel and a huge disappointment for the price I paid.
I would not recommend this hotel for anyone other than stag-dos.
On the plus side, the location of the hotel is very good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jonnysligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for our 5th anniversary trip to Rome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are simple and clean, the breakfast is delicious, and the location is within walking distance to almost everything in Rome. We especially enjoyed the open courtyard outside our window and the unique breakfast area. Thanks for a wonderful week in Rome!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JamaicaMeSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A great hotel in Rome...just be prepared to live as the locals...lots of stairs and relatively small bathroom, but no smaller than other Italian hotels. The room was great with good water pressure. You do pick up some noise from an adjacent restaurant, but it dies down by 11p or so(and if you are living like the locals, you will be eating and up at this time anyway). Besides 7p-11p, the area was very quiet. And just like real estate...location location location. You are only 5-10 min walk from many of the attractions you'll want to see in Rome.

Room Tip: Higher up may pick up less noise from the street in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel was in the center of the city and convenient to anywhere by foot or other transportation. There are also many exceptional restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance. Yet it was very quiet and cozy. The room was just right with vaulted wooden ceilings. The breakfast in the ancient vaults was wonderful. The staff, particularly Simone, was exceptional and helpful at all times. Reasonably priced.
This is absolutely where I will stay on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhc204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was my third stay at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised to be remembered!

Having travelled to Rome solo to meet up with a friend who was there on business, I was delighted to be able to stay in an area well served by public transport and numerous amenities nearby. Buses 40 or 64 were convenient to get to and from Termini Station, stopping very near the hotel. As well, it was only a very short bus ride up to the Vatican. (Be sure to validate your travel card though!) A short walk to various shops and the restaurants around Campo di Fiori offered plenty of choice for dining and shopping.

The hotel itself did not disappoint. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was on the first floor and there was a bit of noise outside in the early evening but quiet shortly thereafter. My room was larger than many of the European-size rooms that I have stayed in over the years. It was regularly serviced during my four nights stay. The breakfast was ample and included fresh fruit for my mid-morning snack. Besides computers available for use by guests, there was a table of interesting English books and travel guides left behind by guests. No doubt, I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianinUK2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here last week. Our room was spotless, with a large, comfy bed and a picturesque wooden pitched ceiling. Lovely bathroom too. Staff were very friendly, breakfast was great in the vaults (though no sign of the ghost of Caesar, shame). The best bit is the location, which is superb. Campo di Fiori was 5 mins, Piazza Navona about 10 and pretty much anywhere you want to go is within walking distance. More nearby restaurants and bars than you can shake a stick at. Really recommend it - we would go back like a shot. I have only marked it down on sleep quality because we didn't sleep well, but we don't sleep well anywhere!

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and therefore a bit further away from the bin lorry arriving at 4am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was a very nice hotel at a reasonable price. Wonderful location - it was fairly quiet and within easy walking distance of most major sights. It was great eating breakfast among the hotel's historic foundations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickilh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#429 of 1,271 in Rome
269 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#526 of 1,271 in Rome
258 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Sole Roma
Hotel Sole Roma
#732 of 1,271 in Rome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#674 of 1,271 in Rome
493 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#148 of 1,271 in Rome
1,100 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#330 of 1,271 in Rome
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro di Pompeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro di Pompeo

Address: Largo del Pallaro 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#177 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teatro di Pompeo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The teatro di pompeo hotel is located on the remains of the ancient roman pompey's theatre dating back to the year 55 b.c. It is situated in the heart of rome's historical centre, just few steps from piazza navona and campo de' fiori. Guests may enjoy breakfast and drinks in presence of ancient roman remains. The hotel is dedicated to select and exacting guests who appreciate quality comfort and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Teatro di Pompeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Di Pompeo Hotel Rome
Teatro Di Pompeo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing