We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“music in a fun place”
Review of Big Mama

Big Mama
Ranked #48 of 567 Nightlife in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part restaurant, part music hall, visitors can dine while watching their favorite music acts.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“music in a fun place”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

great place to see and hear some jazz go there for a few hours you will not be dissapointed beer and wine very casual and fun the stage is right in your face

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    8
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I were in Rome for our anniversary. We both love live music so had booked a table prior to leaving home. Well, could have been one of the best nights we had. Live band, trumpet, drums, saxophone, keyboards, all of it and amazing singers. We saw Gino's band. Absolutely fantastic and would have gone for another night if we had been able to. Don't miss out on this gem of a place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank partypple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“live music w no cover”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

live rock n roll ,cover bands accoustic sunday nite, jazz blues small always full great crowdresonable drinks no cover no min starts at 10 done by 1

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank captbrad617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Mama is great for American Blues”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is a great club for live entertainment. The club features many Italian Bands playing American Blues and enjoy allowing talent to sit in - great talent that is. My husband is a professional blues harp player and has sat in with various artists for the past 2 years.

Helpful?
3 Thank TheresaSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great place to check out jazz or blues in Rome”
Reviewed 14 October 2005

This small, basement location is crampted, low-ceilinged and a thouroughly wonderful, authentic experience. You get the feeling that perhaps you are in the kind of NYC club ("Smalls" or the like) that doesn't dress up for the tourists (sure you are one, but most folks aren't).

There's a cover (you buy a season pass for about 10 Euro), but it's good for the whole season, so you can go a couple of times during your trip. Drinks are reasonably priced and a good pour (if your from NYC or SF, you will think that are a great price).

The bands that we have seen are excellent, though no-name, and put on a great show.

Be there early if you want a chance at a seat, because there aren't many. The walls are in bad locations, so it can be hard to see over the crowd. Your best bet is to be tall, so try that -- it should help.

The seating is really the only problem and if it wasn't for that, this would be a five star.

Helpful?
14 Thank gsbdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Mama also viewed

 

Been to Big Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing