We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My *Sparkling* Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deko Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deko Rome
Ranked #4 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My *Sparkling* Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I hate to be yet another person to say the same thing that has been said over and over about the Deko Rome so I will try to offer something more in addition (see below). Our 4 destination trip to Italy started in Rome and we had never been to Italy so to make our trip go smooth we picked Deko Rome.

Having our angels, Marco and Serena, to guide us of course started our trip off right. After flying for 14+ hours we had Marco arrange our cab which included a driver with a sign and our names to effortlessly drive us to our modern-ammenity new home away from home, Deko Rome. (Jan 2014, cost was 50 Euros) The driver knows where you are going, no need to explain, just sit back and enjoy the ride. When we arrived Marco was downstairs to meet us, welcome us and get us quickly to their floor as you know, having read the other reviews, where they offer their world famous hospitality. Refreshments, local map with recommendations and, well, let me tell you Marco is even more *AMAZING* then I am going to go on about here because it has been said so many times in other reviews but he goes Above and Beyond. Passionate is the best word to sum it all up, and yes you will be raving and talking about Marco and Serena for the rest of your trip.

Here is my most helpful advice. If you have specific expectations about a hotel, your bed, your restrictions, your demands, any of that, email Marco in advance and discuss them before
booking. This couple wants you to enjoy your stay and will go to great lengths to make it the best,
so give them the opportunity to make sure you are staying somewhere you think it is and can appreciate what they have to offer. Of course with trip advisor this makes it easy. I chose Deko Rome because of the modern ammenities and the help with general travel.

I have a name for these new types of hotels and it is BB&B Boutique Bed and Breakfast. You are somewhat on your own, in a comfortable bed, safe place, with general ammenites including water, slippers, coffee, toiletries in your room. If you need something, just ask. Marco and Serena are a young energetic friendly couple who are happy to call you a cab to any of the destinations or give you advice on your concerns.

Finally, Here are some tips in general: When you visit Italy you are going to be walking everywhere. If you can't handle the stairs at Deko Rome, you cannot handle anywhere else. Bring your MOST COMFORTABLE SHOES. We could not find mustard at the stores, so if you like mustard with your salami (a staple food at any of the BB&B's) Bring your own.
Don't bring a bunch of maps and guide books. Every hotel has the local tourist map and I never looked at any of the maps I brought.

If you are going to the Colloseum and the Forum, Buy the "ROME RECONSTRUCTED" before and after guide books w/ DVD by ArchoLibri. You can get them in Rome everywhere or before you go, on Amazon. These books show the Colosseum and Forum before and after. Great tour books. There are also before and after books of Pompeii and Florence.

The best guide to bring for important things to know, questions and translations about trains, validating tickets, tipping, gypsies, etc is "Italy, Instructions for Use" by Nan McElroy. This is a very small and very informative lightweight little book. Read it before you go, and bring it with you.

For mobile WI-FI, texting and phone calls, we checked with our carrier, Verizon before we left and the iphone 5 we had was unlocked. We brought a passport to Vodafone (local phone store) and paid $40 for a sim card . Vodafone is in walking distance from the Deko Rome. You put this sim card in your phone and you never have to guess what your bill will be. You get an Italian phone number and you are free to text, surf and make calls. Of course there is a number of texts, calls and megabytes, but after 12 days we left and never used them up. We traveled and used this card in Rome, Ravenna, Firenze (Florence) and Milan. Great deal!

ITALY is a *Wow* Vacation. Start it at DEKO ROME, and GO HAVE A BLAST!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank LastFlightOutSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    44
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
109
584
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Central hotel in Rome, with super staff. When you arrive, they will tell you all you need to see in the city, and they are spot on. Every day they put a free diet coke, water and beer in the mini fridge. I'll come back next time in Rome for sure!

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steentofte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in the middle of July. The hotel is perfectly situated and he rooms are beautiful and very well equipped. The welcome we received from Serena was first class and Marco was brilliant in arranging all of our airport transfers. They went out of their way to make our stay special, recommending some fantastic bars, restaurants and sights that we may have overlooked. I will only stay here if I am fortunate enought to visit this beautiful city again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyJ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Deko Rome for a weekend visit. Marco was so welcoming and gave us so many amazing recommendations for food and places to visit in the city. We really appreciated his input and the extra little things he did to make our stay that much more comfortable. We were offered prosecco on arrival, they gave us a room upgrade, and even the free water and beer in the mini fridge was a nice touch. The room was extremely comfortable and the hotel is in a fantastic location where you can walk to all the main sights. Will definitely stay again the next time we are in town!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

What an amazing stay we had in Rome with thanks to Serena and Marco at Deko Roma.
The rooms are beautiful and fully equipped with all you could possibly need ...even an iPad!
Serena is beautiful inside and out. The welcome we first received was amazing. Serena served us a welcome drink and filled a city map full of wonderful sites and restaurants. Without her recommendations -our stay in Rome would not have been as magical. Every place that Serena recommended was amazing. If only all hosts were as knowledgable and kind!
Breakfast was great...Serena was flexible with timings and the food was great and served with a warm smile and good conversation. Nothing was too much trouble.
Arriving back to the hotel was like being greeted by an old friend. Marco was always interested in our adventures and happy to chat over a prosecco.
I cannot recommend this place enough. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.
With big thanks to both Marco and Serena !

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lahert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our first visit to Rome, and what a great property to stay at while there. Marco and Serena went out of their way to ensure we had lots of recommendations for places to see, where to eat and what to do.

Location was wonderful, we could walk to many attractions and the subway was just a couple of blocks away.

Breakfast is included, and when we mentioned we would be out in the morning before the `scheduled` breakfast hours, it was not problem. Breakfast was left in our room while we were at dinner so we could have it when we got up.

Coming back to our room each evening, we were greeted with a warm welcome and glass of prosecco to discuss our day.

Thank you to Marco and Serena for a wonderful stay, we`ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hospitality is greeeeeeeeeeeat in this place. Marco and Serena are the best. Top location, close to everything. With Marco's place and restaurtant recommendations you are set for a great trip around town. Deko Rome is a must while you visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan Pablo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#18 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deko Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deko Rome

Property: Deko Rome
Address: Via Toscana 1, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Deko Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deko Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing