We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best decision we made”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deko Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deko Rome
Ranked #4 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best decision we made”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Staying at Deko Rome was the very best decision we made regarding our trip to Rome. Serena and Marco assisted us with everything, from arranging a taxi from the airport, helping with tickets to various sights, dinner recommendations and reservations, the list could go on and on. Our breakfasts were always wonderful, food and company included. Serena would always assist us with our plan for the day and make sure we had everything we needed. Having never visited Rome, we had no idea what to expect and how to go about the sights of the city. Serena and Marco helped with all of it and now we cannot wait to return. Thank you for making it a trip we will never forget. We miss you already! -Elizabetta e Gregorio

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eliz1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    44
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
109
585
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Serena and Marco have created a unique combination of a boutique hotel in a great location with a friendly, personal and, in our opinion, a unique attention to detail to make our stay in Rome a fabulous experience.
Deko Rome is a small intimate 6 room hotel in a quiet yet convenient quarter of Rome directly opposite the American Embassy (which helps to describe the type of area that Deko Rome is in). The rooms are stylish clean well equipped and have a very comfortable bed and linen. Our room (4) was facing inwards away from the street into the courtyard and was very quiet. The fridge is refreshed daily with spring water, coke and beer.
On arrival Serena gave us an invaluable description of personally recommended restaurants, sights to see, ice-cream parlours, travel advice around Rome, tips to avoid queuing, etc etc ! We used that map and Serena's recommendations throughout our 5 day visit - and without fault each recommendation was proven to be worthwhile.
Arrival back at the hotel in the evening after a day touring the city was greeted by Marco presenting us with glasses of Prosecco (courtesy of Marco) or coffee/tea - we would have a chat through what we saw, what we were planning, and once again Marco would be offering us helpful constructive advice as to how to get the best from our time.
Breakfast was a platter of fresh fruit, bread, cheese, ham, fresh coffee/tea, yogurt, croissant - all gorgeous...and substantial. Marco would arrange taxi's, reserve restaurants, and whatever it took to make us and their guests achieve what we wanted. We have stayed in a large number of hotels, large and small, around the world, however Serena and Marco have created a unique style and intimacy that truly works. The decor is elegant, clean and really stylish, the location is far enough from the city to be quiet yet near enough to be convenient - approx 15 mins walk to Spanish Steps, and Serena and Marco are fabulous hosts. Deko Rome is not your large (impersonal) city centre hotel - if this is what you are looking for there are many to choose from. If small and intimate is your preference Deko Rome is highly recommended. Like many others before us we absolutely support the view that Deko Rome should be #1 in Rome.
(Will also include a number of reviews for restuarants - to follow)

Room Tip: Room 4 - inward facing to courtyard - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Yes, the fantastic reviews are true! My husband and I spent 9 nights at Deko Rome in March. Serena and Marco were the best hosts. They gave us help and advise to make our adventures go well. Having been to Rome before, we were interested in more out of the way sites. Thanks to their help we were able to use the metro and bus system with ease. The location is super! Our room was a nice size, with a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was very modern. The breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day and a beverage and chat in the evening was a nice touch. They were more than happy to make reservations (and change reservations). This is truly a gem of a place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kpatton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I have never written a review on here but tonight's stay could not go unnoticed.

My husband and I got here tonight and Marco checked us in, showed us a map of where to go and where not to go and then told us to let him know if we are leaving earlier than 8:00am for our tour tomorrow morning. We told him we would be leaving at 7:30am. He said he would have breakfast in our room tonight so we could eat in the morning before heading out for a day of touring. We just stepped out briefly to go on a short walk and get gelato. When we returned our fridge was completely full of orange juice, milk, meat, cheese, and yogurt and on the counter was two bowls of cereal, croissants, toast, jellies, Nutella and more!!!! The fridge was completely packed.

On top of that, the rooms are modern, elegant, and spotlessly clean. Marco insisted on carrying our luggage up and assured us he would call for any taxi at any time and make any reservations we needed. THEN he gave us his PERSONAL cell phone number to text him "24 hours a day" if we needed anything! It feels like we're staying at a friend's house!!!

This is only our first night in Rome but we can't wait to see what the rest of our stay has to offer. None of the other hotels we have stayed at on our 9 day trip have come anywhere close to meeting this EXQUISITE standard of service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our stay at Deko Rome was perfect. Although rated #1 on Trip Advisor I was still a bit skeptical about all the rave reviews. It exceeded all our expectations. Location is excellent, rooms are beautifully appointed, immaculately clean, adequate in size and the beds are superbly comfortable. As said over and over, our hosts, Marco and Serena are what puts this place over the top! No concierge at any 5 star hotel can match the service they provide. Each day and evening, they reviewed our plans, helped us with any arrangements, made our dinner recommendations and reservations and anything else we needed. At the end of our day, we were greeted with cappuccinos or Prosecco and a friendly conversation about our experiences of the day. Often, several guests were in the small breakfast/bar area comparing our days and exchanging plans. A hearty cold breakfast (cereal, yogurt, fruit, meat, cheese, juice, milk, coffee, cappuccinos, bread and pastries) were available every day to accommodate our schedule.
We had both the suite and a double room to accommodate our group. The suite can comfortably accommodate a family of 4 and the regular room perfect for 2 singles or a couple.
I can't wait to go back to Rome to stay here and see Marco and Serena again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderingfromseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Home from home in a few words. As you'd expect from a boutique hotel...lovely decor, bijou, quirky in all the right places...STOP PRESS...enter Serena and Marco...Wowsers! What a lovely addition and complete surprise. These guys know their trade...I wish they ran every hotel I had to stay with...they helped in all the right ways...what to see, how to spend precious time, where to eat authentic, how to relax (yes several Proseccos of an afternoon...it'd be rude not too!), and how to forget about stuff I wanted to forget about while on a holiday. A truly pleasurable experience. Great breakfast, great banter and hugs when we left! A real breath of fresh air and what seemed like a genuine interest in your well-being and experience. Someone somewhere give these guys more hotels to run they rock and deserve all the best for the effort they put in. (Thank you guys for a fab trip...i'll be telling everyone!). Grazie Mille!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Well, who am I to break the 5 star trend. This place is fantastic. The couple who own and run this hotel are hard working, caring people who genuinely want you to enjoy their city, and their hotel. This is more like a B&B. There is no lobby. It is very small. You will always be welcomed by the owners when you come back after a day of touring, and while having breakfast. The hotel is spotless clean. Rooms are modern. Location of the hotel is OK. But this review is not about anything but the owners. You will get the best service ever from Marco and Serena. So yes, just as 1000 other reviewers have opined, just stay here. You will not regret it. Service better then the Four Seasons. Room rates are reasonable. It is small and intimate and you will meet plenty of other guests to share your travel adventures with. The owners really care about you. You will be kissing them goodbye, not just simply "checking out".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deko Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deko Rome

Property: Deko Rome
Address: Via Toscana 1, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Deko Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deko Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing