We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment - great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The elegant and spacious  Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
194 reviews
The elegant and spacious  Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 194 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
R0dney53
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment - great location”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This apartment in Rome was excellent and met our needs to a high standard. We were met by the host, Lucia at the pre-arranged time and she was very welcoming. She provided us with all the details that we needed on the apartment and showed us around the apartment. The apartment is as described and how it is shown in the photos. The apartment consists of two separate bedroom areas with their own bathrooms which allows for 2 couples to use the apartment without interfering with each other. One bedroom is a loft area overlooking the lounge and dining room which still allows for privacy while the other is a completely separate area. Both are accessed by stairs and this may be an issue for people who cannot negotiate stairs easily. Having said that there is no other fault that I can make with the apartment. It was in excellent condition, clean, tidy and everything in order.

Lucia also assisted us with transport to the airport on the day of early departure and provided us with a parting gift on the night before and that was much appreciated. She also provided us with the names of two restaurants to visit which we did and they were excellent. An excellent location to stay to Rome. Lucia’s customer service was second to none and I would highly recommend her and this apartment to any traveller to Rome.

I endorse all the other comments made by previous visitors to this apartment particularly those of Dan C in relation to places eat and drink. We will definitely stay here next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities and location.
Liked least: A toaster would be good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanC62
Mercer Island, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Apartment - Central Location - As Advertised”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lucia Calcioli’s apartment is as advertised; clean, well appointed, comfortable and centrally located to all Rome has to offer. The four of us (two couples) stayed for a week and found the accommodations more than sufficient. Located by the Campo De’ Fiori’ plaza we walked to all the sites on our list: Vatican, Coliseum, Forum, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Ghetto of Rome, and the Trastevere area. A taxi stand is located just a block north of the apartment.

Once past the front gate entry, you’ll find a nice courtyard, the first bedroom located off the main entrance hallway. Small closet and bathroom on the lower level, a double bed located above accessed via a tight, narrow wooden spiral staircase (this room is not suitable for anyone with mobility issues). The second loft styled bedroom is located above the main living/dining room, with adjacent bathroom. Both beds were new and firm. Hot water flowed without issue (one of my pet peeves).

The living/dining area is great for relaxing, reviewing the day’s activities and planning your next day’s adventure. Well stocked with maps, and Lucia's recommendations. The kitchen, although small, is well appointed with all the amenities Lucia noted; only lacks a microwave. Cable tv if you’re so inclined and wifi (wifi did need to be reset/powered each morning).

Lucia is an excellent owner/hostess. She arranged for our airport pickup as well as travel to the train station for our departure. The apartment does get some noise from the adjacent restaurant, but closing the windows cut the noise level. AC is available in the unit.

Great restaurants abound in the local area. Start your mornings at Bar Rosanna, excellent coffee and pastries. We recommend Pizzeria Emma for a nice dining experience (if you question the recommendation – take a look into the restaurant). Grab a glass of wine with the locals at Vinaietto Antica Vineria (both places are a block east from the apt.).

In the Trastevere area try: De Anzo or I Vascellari both excellent inexpensive fare. If you go to the Ghetto of Rome (Jewish Ghetto) Nonna Betta is a must also Il Portico D’Ottiva. Three to four blocks to the east of the apt. try Le Tartarughe a fantastic place for a light evening craft style drink or glass of wine with snacks/apps of the day.

Should we come back to Rome, Lucia’s apartment will be our home base; it’s as advertised, with a great owner and a central location to all the sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and comfort of the apartment
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambote
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely peaceful flat in perfect location”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were there for a week with children aged 14, 10 and 5. We found the location perfect. Everything was in walking distance, and the surrounding streets are lovely. The location is perfect with children as we could go back for a couple of hours to relax in the middle of the day, rather than having to be out for day long excursions. The flat is comfortable, well equipped and homely. We ate in most nights so our youngest could go to bed. Lucia was very kind, helpful and pleasant to deal with. We hope to return as we had such a lovely holiday - and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: one bedroom is unsuitable for very small children
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUH460
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A breath of freshh air just off the Campo di Fiore”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lucia was a welcoming host, who not only arranged airport transfers for a group airing in two sections, but oriented us to the neighborhood, had roses in a vase, and bought us a pizza lunch.

The apartment is centrally located, well appointed, and roomy enough for four adults to relax after full days of touring the sights of Rome.

Sophisticated shopping are steps away from the front door. You can reach all things Rome easily by foot, although a taxi stand is a block away.

WiFi is reliable and fast enough to accomplish most work-related tasks.

An exceptional value. Bravo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and location of the apartment
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We could not have wanted a better location for our first visit to Rome.”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family (my husband, our 2 teenage boys, and I) spent a week here in March. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and well decorated. It is located on a quiet narrow street and is very safe. On the same street as the apartment are bars, cafes, a bakery, and a gelato shop. Just steps away from a bus stop, there isn't anywhere in Rome that you cannot get to from this apartment. We walked to most of the major sites and took a bus to the Termini for our day trip to Pompeii. One of the best features of the apartment is the space. After a long day of sight seeing, each son had his own place to rest and escape the other. One would head upstairs and the other would stay downstairs. My husband and I had our own bedroom as well. And, with 2 bathrooms, we didn't have to share with the boys!

Lucia was a dream to work with. She arranged a taxi for us to and from the airport, bought us our first real Italian pizza and answered any and all questions we had. The internet went out while we were there and she had it back up within an hour. Thanks!

If you're planning a vacation to Rome and are undecided on where to stay, I highly recommend Campo de Fiori apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space, neighborhood
Liked least: Lack of natural light
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBSwansea
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A quiet refuge in the heart of Rome”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were looking for a flat near Campo de' Fiori because we had already stayed in the area in the past and we knew that it’s a perfect location to visit Rome. We were attracted by this flat mainly because of the many positive reviews and we were very pleased by our choice. It is indeed very well furnished, comfortable and clean, and its location is extremely convenient. For us one of the most important qualities was the absence of noise at night, in this area many flats and hotels are on busy streets but this property is arranged around small private courtyards and is extremely quiet. There is little natural light but this did not bother us because we were out all day. The owner was very kind and helpful and welcomed us with fresh pastries, which was a nice touch contributing to a perfect holiday from the very start.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
2 reviews
“Excellent Accomodation and Location”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in August 2015

The apartment and service is excellent and the location is so central.
Thank you very much for our holiday

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing