We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pane Vino e San Daniele

Pane Vino e San Daniele
Ranked #1,339 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Ghetto
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were given a warm welcome in this lovely osteria located opposite the Turtles Fountain which became our 'local' during our stay in Rome. Nothing fancy but hits the mark perfectly for a few glasses of wine and a simple dinner. Friendly, humming atmosphere too. Thanks to the team.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markandmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    207
    81
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food, local crowd, gracious ownership”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family was out touring and I was walking around San Angelo and the Jewish quarter late at night. I noticed this busy restaurant across from the fountain at Piazza Mattei. The place was full and reservations only but the owner made a place for me as I said I didn't want a full dinner, just something light. The cuisine is Friulian and the waiter apologized that they don't often offer pasta (maybe the reason the other reviewer's wife didn't like her lasagna) since it is not part of their regional cuisine.
I love polenta and they had several styles offered on the menu. The waiter recommended the walnut, gorgonzola, radicchio. I've not seen polenta done like this and it was amazing with shaved radicchio, sliced walnuts and sprinkled gargonzola. It was amazing and the house wine was nice too. I had a table with a view out the window to the fountain. Lovely evening.
Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Absolutely fabulous place at Piazza San Mattei. Very italian atmosphere, excellent service and really good local food! Don't miss this if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sari1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for wine!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you like a bowl of mashed potatoe with bits of tinned spinach, asparagus and loads of stringy cheese topped with wafer thin layer of ham (tasteless) out of the microwave, very like convalescence food, go here.
This place is all show and no substance service was quick and unhelpful.
The wine was enjoyable we should have left after that to go to a real restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Topaz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“friendly and good, hearty Friulian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Right opposite my accommodation. Very friendly and helpful waiter helped me navigate the menu and helped explain the delights and special qualities of Friulian fare. Very enjoyable and easygoing place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pane Vino e San Daniele also viewed

 

Been to Pane Vino e San Daniele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing