We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant short walking distance from the Spanish Steps”
Review of Cafe Romano

Cafe Romano
Ranked #1,632 of 12,525 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Description: With its chic alfresco seating on Via Borgogna, Café Romano brings together classic and modern influences to create a unique equilibrium - a restaurant whose cosmopolitan style, elegant ambiance, select wines and unforgettable food is designed to be savoured day and night. The perfect location for people watching and light lunch after a morning's shopping or a relaxed dinner and drinks with friends, Café Romano's central location makes it the ideal city meeting point.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good restaurant short walking distance from the Spanish Steps”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Eaten here several times and the food has been consistently good. Steaked cooked to order, fish and prawns good and vegetarians catered for. Desserts very good. No service charge included in the bill.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    49
    16
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices, great food and good location”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We went there for lunch and it turned out to be a pleasant experience. Professional staff, high quality food and reasonable prices. And all this a stones throw from the Spanish Steps and Via Condotti. It is located in a quiet street with a calm atmosphere. Great place!! This is a genuine restaurant far from all "tourist-traps" around.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Cafe Romano, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you very much for your great feedback . I have shared your comments with our team and we are glad that we satisfy your expectation.
We look forward to see you soon again.
Massimo Colli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having the great chance to live in the Eternal City, I know most of the nice restaurants in town and I am happy to have tried Caffé Romano lately, which soon became one of my favorite places. The restaurant is located in one of the finest Hotel in the city center of Rome, few meters away from the Spanish Steps and the Fashion street of Via Condotti. The staff is very professional and attentive at all levels and the drinks, prepared at the adjacent bar, are just excellent and well presented. The menu changes regularly according to the season; the food is outstanding! Tasteful dishes from the appettizers to mouth watering desserts. No wonder if my wife and I became soon regular guests of this place. The wine list is good and not excessively overpriced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MATT187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Having the great chance to live in the Eternal City, I know most of the nice restaurants in town and I am happy to have tried Caffé Romano lately, which soon became one of my favorite places. The restaurant is located in one of the finest Hotel in the city center of Rome, few meters away from the Spanish Steps and the Fashion street of Via Condotti. The staff is very professional and attentive at all levels and the drinks, prepared at the adjacent bar, are well prepared and well presented. The menu changes regularly according to the season; the food is just excellent! Tasteful dishes from the appettizers to mouth watering desserts. No wonder if my wife and I became regular guests of this place. The wine list is good and not excessively overpriced.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MATT187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great place. Upscale food, but not too expensive (albeit more than your average tourist spot). Had to go twice, for dinner and lunch.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ingvoldSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Romano also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing