We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Italian family owned restaurant”

Hostaria Trevi da Aldo e Armando
Ranked #2,353 of 12,525 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trevi
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian family owned restaurant”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The place is good and quite traditional. We were afraid that the place would not be that good given its location in such a touristic spot. But the food was very good. There are some better places around, so I do not give it the best score. But we were happy with our dinner here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luisito2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    88
    43
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“RELAXING DINNER AFTER A LONG DAY OF SIGHTSEEING”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hosteria Trevi (an osteria is a more casual place from a ristorante or a trattoria) was recommended by friend of ours who'd gone to Rome, Itlay within the past five years... they stayed at a nearby hotel and said they ate at this Hosteria a few times during their visit b/c of the convenient location, good food, wine, and especially the Lemoncello. We ended our second day in Rome w/a visit to the Trevi Fountain - it was a very warm, long, exhausting day and the Trevi Fountain was crowded, we threw our coins and were hoping that we'd locate the restaurant w/o any issues... sure enough, it's just a block or so from the fountain (as you look at the fountain, the restaurant it to the right, straight down the street and on the right side of the Via del Lavatore at #42). The gentleman presiding over the restaurant keeps a close eye on each customer. They have a "special" where you pay so many euros for a multi-course meal that includes wine. We chose that; it was lovely. We finished the meal w/the addition of lemoncello which was taken from the cooler and poured at our table... wow! Intense lemon flavor with a big kick. A great way to relax following a long day of sightseeing... we chose to sit inside where it was away from the crowds of the busy street - lined w/many shops (especially for souvenirs). That was a great choice as you get to escape from the heat, crowds and the gypsies selling to the people who chose to dine al fresco. Their restroom is a good one (ladies, this bathroom has a toilet seat - which many in Rome do not). You do have to turn on the faucet w/a lever/pedal on the floor under the sink (took me a minute to figure that one out). The service is quick, friendly and a welcome respite from a busy day. Prices are very reasonable, too.

We were back on our final night for a quick beverage break after taking a walking tour of the area (again, we chose to sit inside). The diners next to us had the bruschette which looked rather tempting (had we not had a huge lunch already that day).

So glad we made it and had the chance to return during our trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lbpnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Really really good food, average prices and near the fontana di trevi and metro . The owner was very kind.

Helpful?
1 Thank cmonsalve
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“family owned and run”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

great family restaurant good food. the grand dad running the place was so typical italtian..

not much english language though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average food with a good service.”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were walking around the Trevi Fountain, and were a bit tired, then we found this nice small restaurant, few steps from the fountain. Did not expect much, but when we found that the price of the coffee, is less than half from the one at Piazza Navona, we though hmmm this is interesting. Our first visit, we were just had coffee and some Tiramisu, which was OK. Second time we went to Trevi Fountain again, we stopped at this place again. This time we had lunch. We had the tourist menu, with 18 euro, we got soup, Chicken Roman Style, Fruit, Water and Bread. This is a very good price, for 18 euro, in Rome. The chicken was good, but the rest was average. Anyway, we had a good time in this place, especially with the friendly funny old waiter and the free WIFI, I think I should give a Very Good for my review.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostaria Trevi da Aldo e Armando also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria Trevi da Aldo e Armando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing