We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing find!”
Review of Da Gino e Antonio - CLOSED

Da Gino e Antonio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ghetto
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing find!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We ate here on our last night in Rome and it was such a fantastic way to end the holiday. A true experience, and a delicious one at that.

The restaurant is hidden away in a corner of a small square with no other restaurants and bars. Very easy to miss. Once inside, you feel like you've stepped into someone's home, and are made to feel very welcome. We were immediately greeted with a glass of Proseco (on the house) and some very tasty Tuscan salami. There is no English menu, we don't speak Italian and Gino doesn't speak English. Also, there doesn't appear to be a wine list... So, Gino chose the dishes and wines for us. The mixed antipasto was delicious and very generous in size and so was the courgette lasagne. By then we were too full to eat anything else which was a shame. Having had the wines, which were excellent, chosen for us we were quite nervous about the bill. But, it turned out to be the cheapest (and the best) wine we had had all holiday. I'm now dreaming of going back to Rome to visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this inconspicuous restaurant in a side road off the Jewish quarter. Although the staff couldn't speak English, we were given sufficient help with our order. We started off with some beautiful, fresh mozzarella and beef carpaccio which was delicious. I ordered spaghetti with meatballs for my main course and my partner ordered zucchini lasagne. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and extremely tasty. When we finished our meal, we were given a lemon liquor and some small biscuits on the house. The bill arrived and we couldn't believe that the total only came to 35 euros! The impeccable service, highly quality food and superb ambiance meant that we had a great experience at this authentic restaurant. We will definitely return and won't hesitate to recommend others to pay a visit! For those of you who want to avoid a tourist trap, you must come here!

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We came on a chilly night in december, and could not have wanted a warmer welcome. We left the choice of our menu and wine to them and it was fantastic! We felt well pampered. Warmly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maarten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like finding long-lost family in Rome!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

While traveling through Italy, we tried to find places to eat that were not being frequented by tourists. Da Gino e Antonio was an exceptional experience in Italian hospitality and wonderful food!

When we arrived, the door was locked, but Gino himself opened the door, waved us in, sat us down and took care of us for the evening. He gave us menus, and then took them away. After confirming that we were hungry, he proceeded to bring us course after course of amazing food and wine.

We were served the best Prosciutto and melon of the entire trip. Squash blossoms with ricotta and honey were light, decadent and delicious! The pasta was perfectly cooked cacio e pepe, and the best lasagna any of us have ever had on the planet! The biscotti (wafer-like chocolate chip) were fresh from the oven.

We ended the night with lots of cheek kisses, hugs and talk of the art on the walls (keep in mind, Gino spoke no English, and we spoke no Italian). Gino even pulled Antonio out of the kitchen to meet us.

After walking out, our group all agreed that we felt like we just made friends for life--they just happened to be amazing chefs and we'd definitely be back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian cuisine slightly off the beaten track”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We walked through Rome's Ghetto neighborhood this afternoon, passing multiple restaurants on the main street. While many of them looked interesting, we kept walking, looking for something a little different. Wandering up a side street, we noticed what looked like a doorway in a corner of a small piazza that was functioning as a parking lot. Investigating the doorway, we ended up at Gino e Antonio, and were very glad we did.

We were greeted immediately and taken to a table in an inner room (although we would have preferred to eat outdoors, we saw no outdoor tables). As seems to be common, the very friendly waiter spoke just a little English; however, with the occasional assistance of our phrase book, we and he were able to communicate well enough.

The waiter brought us bread, oil and balsamic. The bread had a wonderful texture and crisp crust; we liked it so much that we asked where it was from and, after learning that the bakery was literally just around the corner, stayed in the neighborhood for about ninety minutes after we left the restaurant so that we could buy more once the bakery reopened at 4:00. My wife said that the oil was absolutely first class and that the balsamic, which had been reduced until it was almost a syrup, was the best she'd ever tasted.

We had a salad of buffala mozzarella, baby greens and grilled zucchini. We've eaten mozzarella salads each day since we got to Rome a week ago; the cheese at Geno e Antonio easily matched the best we've had on this trip.

We ordered entrees of polpiette (veal meatballs in a red sauce) and tagliarini con pepe e pecorino (pasta with black pepper and pecorino cheese). Both were absolutely excellent. The meatballs had a wonderful consistency and excellent flavor. The red sauce was intensely flavorful. The pasta was perfectly cooked, with what my wife says was "just enough cheese and black pepper, all in perfect proportion."

For dessert, we asked for a chocolate torte that unfortunately proved to be unavailable at lunch. When we told the waiter that we would not order another dessert, he surprised us with a plate (5 or 6) of thin and crispy chocolate chip cookies that made a very nice end to the meal.

Our lunch at Gino e Antonio was altogether a complete pleasure. We're probably going to have to go back for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ARA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing