We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Rome
Nearby Hotels
US$684
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,094
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$598
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,543)
Filter reviews
1,543 results
Traveller rating
1,041
315
115
46
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,041
315
115
46
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelpremium roomred glovepool arearose petalsbeautiful hotelclose to the vaticanlovely poolprivate gardenjunior suiteluxury hotelnespresso machinebreakfast buffettiber riverour honeymoonbusy cityeternal city
Filter
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 1,543 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Beautiful hotel, clean rooms with wood flooring. Very welcoming and professional staff – in fact the most hospitable of all of our Italy hotels from this vacation. They welcomed my tired family, fresh from international travel, with a towlette and complimentary drink upon arrival. Rooms were small, but expected in Rome. One of our two rooms had a slight air condition problem, but it was still comfortable. Location was ideal for Vatican visit (within walking distance) however, far from main city – Trevi Fountain etc. Beautiful grounds – most relaxing pool and spa. What was most appreciated was the spa facilities were included even if you didn’t book a service (they were booked solid for massages.) Nonetheless, we flew into Rome from Philadelphia, so spending our first day in relaxing spa robes/slipper, sipping tea and hopping in/out of the sauna/steam room was a great way to unwind and prepare for two weeks in Italy.

Room Tip: Relax in the spa - it's included in your stay (not services, but their facilities.) They provide you with a locker, robe, slippers, tea, water. very relaxing especially if it's the day you travelled extensively.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for the lovely feedback about your recent stay in our Luxury Urban Resort!

We are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated our "touches" since the warm and detailed welcome we like to express to our guests...

We are also glad to hear about your relaxing and pleasant experiences in both our YHI Wellness and pool, contributing to make your stay an exceptional one!

We will be waiting for you at the occasion of your next visits to Rome, to make you experience continue...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I have been to Rome more than a dozen times, and usually stay somewhere within the heart of the old city, most often at the St. George. But this time, when the St. George LOST a fully-prepaid reservation, they were nice enough to re-book us at the Gran Melia Rome (GMR). In short: impressive. Most hotels in Rome (and most older European cities) feature rooms and other spaces that, while sometimes elegant, are almost always a bit too small. Not the GMR. It was apparently built on an old convent, and features a great blend of utility and artistry, and an impressive amount of 'moving around' space. The room was really nice, especially the shower that seemed to be able to throw water from every direction (water-conservationists beware!), and the pool was a welcome respite from the 90 degree heat. We didn't have a chance to eat at the restaurant, but we did have lunch by the pool, and all I can say is - WOW was it expensive! 24 Euro for a sandwich is insane, when you consider that 50m away there's half dozen trattorias that will serve some of the best pizza ro pasta you've ever had for under 10 Euro. Service was impeccable, the staff are well-trained, and the facility is in immaculate condition. The hotel is on the West side of the Tiber river, not 100m away from the river's edge, and thus walking distance to Vatican City, and well, just about every other location in the old city. However, if this is your first, second, or even third visit to Roma, don't let the comforts of the hotel keep you from exploring. Sleep there, have breakfast, and go explore!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our hertfelt gratitude for your comments about your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are extremely glad to realize that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated our services and staff proffesionalism.

Your feedback is reflective of our daily purpose which is to fulfill our guests' expectations and turn their stays into unforgettable experiences. We are just so pleased to have been able to give such emotions to you!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon for your future visits to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Gran Melia Rome. We selected this property specifically because of the large pool/garden area for our child. What a great find in the heart of Rome right?The hotel just recently opened so we expected everything to be nice and well-maintained - what a disappointment! During our stay the pool area was overrun by pigeons - 15 to 20 at a time.
The bottom of the pool, pool deck area and deck chairs were all covered in bird droppings. The conditions were not addressed in any way during our stay, therefore we did not allow our child to use the facility. The management did apologize for the conditions but took no action to address them and charged us full price for our stay despite the completely disgusting conditions. We also had air conditioning issues in our first room - which was eventually changed after three visits from maintenance. One night the Maid enter our room at 10:30 pm at night, flipped the lights on waking us for no explicable reason and then quickly left when she realized she woke us. Room service was terrible - our food arrived incorrectly or uncooked three out of four times. This facility is reasonably nice, but it is NOT a five star property by any definition. They have a ton a bugs to work out and should not be doing it on the customers dime. The staff was really sweet and very apologetic about all of our issues -- but when vacationing I'm looking for excellence, not apologies.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RyansMomRyansWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for the precious time you spent in transmitting us your opinions related to your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We really regret to learn of your dissatisfaction as to our services which prevented you from fully enjoying your experience in Rome.

We trust you will accept that the inconveniences you lived are certainly not reflective of our normal standards and the expectations we have to offer a high quality level of services to our guests.
That is why we do appreciate very much your comments, giving us the opportunity of deeply investigating the issue raised and address them to the Management.

Please, be assured that the the whole team has taken appropriate actions to improve the services you mentioned to avoid such inconveniences to occur in the future.

Our daily work aims to fulfill our guests' expectations and make them live pleasant experiences.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.
We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Luxury Urban Resort for your next visits to the Eternal City.

Kindest regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed with here from Wednesday 25th April until Sunday 29th April and thought it only appropriate that we acknowledge the polite, friendly, attentive staff throughout the resort and the restaurants with their wonderful wines and cuisine.

The refurbishment to the resort has been completed to a extremely high standard, with it's beautiful décor and we look forward to our return trip next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for the precious time spent in transmitting your feedback about your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant stay with us while visiting the Eternal City, and you appreciated the beaury of our Luxury Urban Resort and our staff attitude.

We hope to have tha chance to welcome you back here soon.

We will bew waiting for you...

Kindest Regards,
Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We loved this hotel for it's simplicity, charm, and location a bit away from the Eternally noisy city of Rome. Truly a 5-star hotel. We loved the employees, especially Andrea! We would go on one of our tours, then race back to the calm of the hotel, especially the pool area. Hotel food and drink way to expensive as it is evident by the lack of patrons in the eating area and bar. Lovely, lovely hotel, wish I planned to go to Rome again...but once is enough for this lover of calm and curteous people. But again, the hotel employees were perfectly charming! Taxi drivers showed very little class. Do not let one of them grab you out of the line at the train station or airport, these are the non-legitimate ones. Make sure they have a meter. The ride from the train station to this hotel should be only about 20 Euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the hill side, you can hear the eternally running ambulance sirens from the other side scraping up the moped riders all day and night. Do not rent a moped at the risk of your life...no driving rules in Rome to speak of. Bigger vehicle wins.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for the precious time spent in sending us your feedback about your recent stay at our new Luxury Urban Resort.

Our guests’s opinions are valuable for us both to have a feedback as to the quality standards we aim to ensure through our services and also to improve them and make your journey a real experience…

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant experience with us while visiting the Eternal City, where we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews