We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Luxurious!”
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #99 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of our week and a half long trip to Europe. Although I had spent countless hours obsessing over hotel choices in other cities, I chose the Gran Melia in Rome in about 10 minutes. It is a brand new resort with a beautiful outdoor pool within walking distance to all the sights. We got a great rate on their website – and my husband and I remarked that within a year, the rates will probably double as the hotel becomes popular and well known.

Check in was quick and the front desk person was very friendly. She wished us a happy anniversary, as I had noted it in our reservation. I did this on each hotel booking throughout our trip, but the Gran Melia was the only hotel that acknowledged it. We were informed upon check in that we had been upgraded at no charge from a deluxe to a premium room. The upgrade was much appreciated.

The hotel room was immaculate, spacious and extremely modern. There were cookies waiting for us compliments of the hotel. There was a large king sized bed that was very comfortable. The view was pretty much non-existent, as it looked out over some sort of service entrance with the gardens beyond, but I’m sure it was an upgrade from the view in our originally booked room. The bathroom was definitely the highlight of the room, with heated floors, the most amazing shower ever (there were two spray jets – one vertical and one horizontal), and fully stocked with lots of amenities including Clarins products.

The pool area was very nice. I had hoped to use it more, but since we were only in Rome for 3 nights, I couldn’t justify spending time at the pool. We were able to use it the first day - and it was a glorious feeling to jump in the pool after a long day of sightseeing in the heat. We returned home from dinner on our first night to find two glasses of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in celebration of our anniversary. This was a nice touch. We received turndown service every night with candy and rose petals.

I was a bit disappointed with the concierge at the hotel. We approached the concierge on our second night and requested a suggestion for somewhere near the hotel to get pizza. She looked at me with a confused look on her face and told me that she didn’t know. I found that a bit strange. Then I asked her for restaurant recommendations in Campo de Fiori for our last night in Rome. This time I was met with a disgusted look and told “No, I don’t know any restaurants there, it’s too touristy.” I wanted to respond, um, we’re tourists. But I suddenly felt very stupid for suggesting an area beneath the hotel’s usual clientele. In all honesty, I would have readily accepted her advice (and ultimately did) if it had been delivered with a little more tact. Despite this one incident, we received excellent service from all of the hotel staff.

The location of the hotel was excellent. I had been concerned that it was too far on the outskirts from the center of Rome, but everything was a 20-30 minute walk. We walked everywhere in Rome and never used public transportation or taxis. The area around the hotel felt very safe and we had no concerns returning to the hotel late at night.

We had a great stay in Rome and would 100% recommend the Gran Melia to future travelers looking for a luxurious city oasis.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience at new Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, appreciating our service, staff professionalism and above all the little "touches" we like to give to our guests to turn their stays into unforgettable moments.

On the other hand we we are sorry to learn that you did not have a good experience as to the concierge service, as we always provide to suggest the best places in the city.
What we generally aim to is to understand our guests' needs in order to "tailor" the best experience for them outside the Hotel.
We have shared your comments with the department and I'm sure that we will be able to meet your expectations in the future, during your next visit to the Eternal City...

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

The ancient Romans have nothing on the guests at this hotel. Along with beautiful decor and large rooms and bathrooms there is a gorgeous pool, hydro-pool and spa amenities such as mood showers, steam room, sauna and relaxation area included in your room fee. And there is delicious breakfast on the terrace. This is a resort in the middle of a huge city- totally unheard of in Europe. I will definitely return to this hotel. The service is first rate and all the associates super helpful, They respond to requests immediately. Also, there is a Nespresso machine in the room- I love that! And a bottle of still water delivered to your room free each day. AND rooms in the front of the hotel have a view of the gardens and St. Peter's dome at night- just beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the entrance and the view of St. Peter's. And superior rooms are great, w...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelMavenFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are extremely happy to know that you had a lovely stay with us and we were capable of transmitting you our passion for job.

Really looking forward to welcoming you back in our Luxury Urban Resort soon.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

As others have mentioned, a wonderful oasis and sanctuary from a bustling city. We were concerned this property would be a bit too off the beaten path, but found it to be very well-located. We enjoyed easy access to dining in the Trastavere neighborhood and a very quick walk to St. Peter's. Service was outstanding. We're grateful to the concierge staff which referred us to two excellent restaurants (Dal Poeta and Taverna Trilussa). The property is lovely with quiet grounds and excellent views and the rooms are extremely well-appointed with a clean, modern design.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are extremely pleased that we were able to turn your stay in Rome into an exceptional experience, as it means our main objective.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our service and those addressed to our concierge personnel, which is part of our exclusive RedGlove Department.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the historical heart of the Eternal City and let to conitue your dreamy experience with us...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The garden entrance is beautiful. Love the Clarins amenities. Inside the hotel feels clean and new. I especially love the design of the lobby where you can sit and wait. They have the freshest breakfast of prosciutto, fruits and the sweetest little red tomatoes. Staffs are friendly and nice and they upgraded the room that has a really nice view. I like the wooden floor inside the room, not carpeted. Bed and pillows are crisps and new.

The downside is they have this huge painting of a person, suppose to be art decoration but my daughter did not even want to sit near to it. She finally slept in the extra bed provided. Also, I thought the complimentary water was already provided when we arrived just like what other hotels would do. Turns out, they provide the water during turndown in the evening and it is sparkling water, which we are not really fond of. No big deal, just a small little thing.

Overall, our stay in Gran Melia still left a good impression. I am really glad they opened this hotel in Rome as I was worried of the other old hotels or small chain hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkelly990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn about your pleasant experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Our aim is to fulfill our special guests' expectation and give them true experiences while living the magic of such a unique city like Rome...

Looking forward to welcoming you back in Rome to let you keep enjoyeingt the roman Experience...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A lovely experience at a resort within the boiling hot city centre! Having such beautiful gardens and a pool to come back to after a day sightseeing was amazing. We had the Red Level experience - which means you have a private concierge and a free bar between certain times in the evening. All amazing touches. We had great service at the hotel - from the bell boys, restaurant and bar staff and the front desk. A special thank you to Andrea for being such a fun host and recommending great places to eat. What a warm and friendly person you are; the Melia group is lucky to have you on their team.

The rooms are very modern and ours was spacious. The bed is very comfortable. My only negative comment is that the circular bath is style over practicality. It looks amazing - but was actually rather stressful to use twice a day!

The food at the hotel was a little hit and miss. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful - but the lunch we had was not very nice and a little overpriced for what you got.

The staff at this hotel are so friendly, the hotel is so clean and smells amazing and the pool is just wonderful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time spent in sharing your positive feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are very pleased to know that you fully anjoyed the RedLevel Service, especially addressed to such guests looking for something really special and exclusive...

We just hope to welcome you back soon to let you continue your lovely experience with us while visiting the unique Eternal City....

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were recently in Rome during the heat of the summer. One requirement was for a pool. As it turned out, this lead to finding one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We were greeted with the most friendly staff. Provided with a great tour of the property on arrival, and had a nice drink by the pool while our luggage was taken to the room. We had a suite, but a friend stayed in a more standard room which was also awesome.

Rooms are unique, modern, and just the right amenities. The staff is awesome from the front desk, concierge (red glove service), to the restaurant. I spend on afternoon at the Vatican because it was just over the wall, otherwise we really had no desire to leave the property. I have told my friends to stay in the place if visiting Rome. It will not disappoint.

Room Tip: I would recommend the red level. The service, amenities, and access to the red level lounge is wort...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djordan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our hearfelt thanks for your kind words about your stay with us and the time you spent to share them.

We are so glad to hear that you lived a great experience in our new Luxury Urban Resort, appreciating our facilities, service and, above all, our staff professionalism.

We are happy that you enjoyed our special and exclusive RedLevel service, appreciating our personalized touches...

We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible in the heart of the historical centre of the Eternal City, to let you conitue your dreamy experience....

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for 4 nights Aug 24th-28th, with our two boys aged 10 and 7. The setting and facilities are spectacular - beautiful common areas, pool, restaurants and spa/gym. We we upgraded to superior city view rooms, which were connecting. The rooms are really well designed, and quite spacious. Nice bathrooms, good tv, nespresso machines etc. as you would expect from a 5* resort. We were really impressed on arrival, all the staff were very friendly and super helpful. The Concierge helped us with a Vatican tour, restaurant bookings, taxis and lots of helpful advice. It is a Spanish hotel group, so there are lots of Spanish staff as well as Italian. Everything is very new as they have only been open 5 months. The food was great, although I agree with other comments regarding being charged extra for pancakes or porridge at breakfast. Should all just be one charge - it just feels easier. One criticism was the price of drinks at the pool bar - 22 euros for a glass of champagne ? Maybe in Cala di Volpe that works, or in a 3 Michelin star restaurant, but not here. 12 Euros for a beer? Really? What is odd is that the food and wine list isn't unreasonably priced - 40 Euros for a very nice Bolgheri. 18 Euros for a bottle of prosecco.

Other than this, we loved it. Definitely the go to place for a family - do sightseeing in the morning, and then swim and sunbathe in the afternoon.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank rk2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guest,

what a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed you experience with us, in our new Luxury Urban Resort during your Roman Holidays...

Thank you for your lovely comments and for the time spent in sharing them.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon during your next stay at the Eternal City to let you continue your lovely experience...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £200 - £651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing