We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Ruby Wedding Anniversary Holiday”
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #92 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed with the Gran Melia for a almost week, 6 nights, and loved every moment, quickly making friends with the most wonderful group of people at reception, dining, not forgetting the wonderful housekeepers who work so hard, in so short a time scale, to maintain the comforts of the spacious rooms. A five minute walk from the Vatican and the shopping area of the city, the Gran Melia is an oasis to come home to after a days sight seeing, from the beautiful gardens to the outside seated area around the pool and dining, to enjoy a drink before an excellent dining experience. Thank you Roberto and happy dining staffs, Nagive and the always smiling Achira in reception. For anyone who enjoys being pampered and spa, look no farther!!!! We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the Castel Sant'Angelo and the River Tiber
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lac1ala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina to celebrate your important and special event...

We are extremely pleased to realize that you lived such a great and unforgettable experience with us, appreciating our service and, above all, staff professionalism and attitude.

Thank you for the kind words addressed to our team members, especially as regard to the Reception, Housekeeping and Restaurant departments, which we provided to share them with.

We are particularly proud and glad to have been able to transmit you our 'passion for service', which daily moves us to our main object: turning your stays into unforgettable experiences…

We are just happy to learn that we were able to give all this to you and we cannot wait to welcome you back at Gran Meliá Rome soon, to let you continue such a lovely experience…

Kindest regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

We chose the Gran Melia Rome after searching through Expedia for a hotel good enough for our mini moon! We got married on the Friday and travelled to Rome on the Monday. When we arrived were were greeted by a member of staff who took our bags and escorted us to reception where one of the reception staff greeted us. She offered us a glass of wine and check in was easy. She then accompanied us to our hotel room and showed us around. When we arrived at our room they had put roses on the bed to acknowledge that we were celebrating and on our mini moon. The room was beautiful and shower very impressive. The hotel is fabulous, pool, jacuzzi and spa facilities (unfortunately we didn't use as didn't have time.)

We arrived at hotel early evening so dropped our bags and went out to walk and explore. When we came back, the staff had prepared room for the night and we had a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a very touching, personal note from the red level manager wishing us a happy future together.

We were concerned as the hotel is situated outside main centre of Rome but we had nothing to worry about. There's a shuttle service provided by the hotel, but we walked to all the main sights and the longest it took us was 30 minutes.
Definitely worth the 5stars and in great area of Rome. We would highly recommend and would like to thank the staff for a wonderful stay!


Tip: Very expensive breakfast - 28 euros each at check in or 36 euros each if you decide in the morning, we took a 10 min walk and had breakfast in cafe.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Guests,

we heartily thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina at the occasion of such a special event for you, and for the time you spent to share this wonderful experience with us.

We are extremely pleased to realize that you lived unforgettable moments while visiting a magic city like Rome, which is the perfect setting for honeymooners...

All we aim to is our guests' satisfaction, and turn their stays into real experiences which memories could last for ever...

We are just happy to realize that we were able to make you live such emotional moments through our "little RED touches" ...

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome soon, and let you continue such experience…


Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

A wonderful oasis in the heart of Rome, yet far from the madding crowd. Striking interiors. Idyllic secluded grounds and pool. Peaceful alfresco dining and drinking or just relaxing in sun. Delightfully friendly and helpful staff too. A perfect place to enjoy Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Tiber.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crosby_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your lovely experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are very happy to learn that besides enjoying our relaxing and suggestive ambience, you also appreciated our staff professionalism.
Thanks for the nice words adressed to our team. They represent for us a reason of great pride and motivation since we daily work for a unique aim: our guests' satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon at our Luxury Urban Resort to let you live another unforgettable experience...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great location just near the Vatican city. You wonder how come such a big property is in the center of Rome! Beautiful design hotel, bran new. However the staff at the reception are a little too serious: no kids allowed at the heated pool, even if no one is using it. For a slightly bigger room to accommodate us he asked for an unreasonable amount.... But all in all it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Luxury Urban Resort for your your holidays in Rome.

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant experience overall and you appreciated our property.

In reference to your note about our Vitality Pool, we just wish to clarify that it is a hydromassage pool, being part of a special healty circuit to stimulate circulation in preparation of the Spa treatments. This is the reason why it is a facility exclusively addressed to adults.

Thank you once again for trasnmitting your valuable opinions about your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for your future visits to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We arrived at the Gran Melia Hotel expecting a lovely place an excellent service. The hotel decor when you impressive is impressive the check in is not. On arrival to our room it was not a good size room and felt cramped.The bath facility was glass so the person in bed could see you having a shower even with the screen. There were none of the normal facilities like a shower cap, cotton buds, sanitary bags etc. No hooks to hang your clothes on when you shower or the towel. The fridge is in a cupboard restricted by a bed table as is the the safe. Breakfast on all 3 days was awful. On day one I ordered an omelette and it took 25/30 mins to arrive. My latte was cold on arrival and the omelette was not cooked properly. The whole experience was frankly poor. I wrote a letter to the general manager while i was there and did not even get the courtesy of a response. Not a hotel I recommend or would visit again. So much for the packaging the content of the hotel left much to be desired in such a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco A, Direttore generale at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review on your stay.

I can assure you that customer care is amongst our highest priorities and we highly value our guests’ comments in order to improve the level of service we strive to offer our customers.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your recent stay at Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina and at the outset, would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

I trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards. Please be assured that the issues raised have been investigated and appropriate action has been taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

I would like to apologise if I was unable to contact you before. Unfortunately, your message was left at the reception desk in a close envelope on your last day Sunday, March 24th when I was on my day off. I tried to meet you upon arriving at the hotel on Monday but I was told you had left very early in the morning, approximately at 5:30 AM.

Although I was trying to write you an e:mail I discovered that neither an e:mail address nor a phone number were left upon you checking in.

Mrs. Loyal, I would like to assure you that if only you had expressed your dissatisfaction since the beginning both me and my staff would have tailor-made your stay to let you experience our genuine service. In addition, on Sundays there is always a Duty Manager, senior member of management staff, available in my absence that would have taken care of any of your requests.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience but you will offer us a chance to regain your confidence in our services.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to write. We are grateful for your support and do sincerely hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you at Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Francesco Ascani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed the week of the Conclave and shared the hotel with a lot of journalists.

We arrived early morning after an overnight flight from Toronto and although our room was not ready, we were offered a choice of two, one at the prepaid price and one larger with a surcharge. We were happy with the smaller room. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever experienced and all the decor was in excellent taste. There should have been more space for cloting and more shelf space in the bathroom.

The location, close to the Vatican, was excellent, and we never had any issues with noise.

The front desk and the concierge were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb in an understated way, with excellent service at all times. The orange juice made from blood oranges is absolutely top notch, as is the fresh and dried fruit.

There are fruit trees in the small garden - a nice touch. The public spaces are beautfully designed and well appointed. We would certainly stay here again and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effipaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for for sharing your positive feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us, appreciating our service and facilities and, above all, the Personnel attention and professionalism.

We will be waiting for you at the occasion of your next visit to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

When actually stayed in Rome in February when the pope resigned not intentionally.
This might be a little long but worth taking into consideration.
When we first arrived at the hotel we was very impressed and escorted in to a lovely lobby/ reception. The reception staff was very helpful, nice and polite as well as giving is a tour before showing us our room.
We booked a double delux room and was disappointed when we got there. The room was tiny and the smallest one out of all the rooms. At £749 for 4 nights we expected more!
We was told it would be the quiet room and one of the best. It was the worst as the view was mainly of the restaurant 1st them a part of the pool garden. The room also faced the staff steaming and re-stocking cupboard, so we heard them several times through the morning or evening!
Worst of all the sliding wardrobes that was space saving kept coming off the hundred and maintenance had to be called several times, eventually we decided to hold one sliding door open with our case so that we could prevent it coming off its track.

Breakfast should have been not bad. But staff turned their noses up at us. ( we are a young couple in our thirties)
The man did not want to seat is, then ignored us and did not want to serve us our coffee and tea. I had to ask the following morning at reception what was included in our breakfast! As the previos morning we was refused eggs, croissant and hot drinks!
But each of our mornings the same man who looked after the breakfast service refused to serve us. ( not sure whether being oriental and a young couple was the reason as that was the only thing that we could see that set us out different from the other guest)

The hotel is excellent for location and convenience around Rome, especially if you want to be close to the Vatican.
The main restaurant needed booking in advance or there was no seats.
The 2nd restaurant was rubbish and you couldn't have a full meal there, more like a snack of burger, salads and sandwiches but very over priced, which also explained why no one ate there.

The bonus was the spa was lovely. Too cold to use the outdoor pool, but juccuzi was bearable. The tropical rain showers are a must try.

Overall we could deal with waldrobe doors and some noise. But bad staff attitude in the restaurant really annoyed us. Especially if you have to eat there each morning!

It's like there are 2 sets of staff and receptionist were great all the time. Restaurants staff all had attitudes, they were happy serving all the news reporters that were staying there for the popes speech, ignoring us once was bad but our whole stay! Really disappointing!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £181 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing