We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Start to Finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #89 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ellenton, Florida
1 review
“Start to Finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

From our private driver, Carlos A++++, to Roberto, the head waiter and don't let me forget the Master Chef, Don Alfonso & his wife Livia...EVERYONE A+++++. Now, the hotel was gorgeous, perfect location and just where you should stay for your dream vacation.

Room Tip: We chose the Junior suite with private terrace jacuzzi (not what Americans consider private when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMileski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your feelings about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are glad to learn that you lived such an unforgettable experience, especially as regard to the the gastronomy touch by Iaccarino's Family, enriched by our personnel attentive attitude and professionalism.

We will be waiting for you as soon as you decide to visit the Eternal City again...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    273
    101
    36
    19
See reviews for
357
644
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I've started my trip to Rome with a strong felling of fear.....hotels in Rome were not the most charming in my memories, BUT Gran Melia Rome had nothing to do with my older memories.......incredible design, great features, great restaurant ( no crackers and jam on breakfast :) ). The experience was truly superb and unique.
Last but not least the staff is simply at its best.

Next task is to go there in the summer.....the outdoor pool looks gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SorinIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for reporting your opinions about your recent stay at gorgeous Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are extremely happy to realize that you lived such a great experience with us, while visiting a unique city like Rome.

Thank you for the kind words addressed to the professionalism of our staff which represent our greatest asset.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at our Luxury Urban Resort for your next visit to the Eternal City....

Kindest Regrads,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days and booked 2 rooms. It was a shame, but not the end of the world that we couldn't get the rooms on the same floor. Initial impressions were very good, with exceptionally friendly and helpful front desk staff showing us around the hotel with wonderful grounds. Things got a little worse later when we went for dinner. 20 minutes waiting for our drinks and a further 30 minutes waiting for the food before an apologetic waiter informed us that they had problems in the kitchen. They could only provide a few options from the menu and we had to wait for another 30 mins before the food arrived. At least they then waived the price of the drinks for the inconvenience caused. The outdoor seating area was stylish but too small, particularly when parts of the area were reserved for parties (both Saturday and Sunday) leaving guests struggling to find somewhere to sit outside. Overall impressions were of a stylish hotel with friendly staff but lacking the great service and organisation I would expect from a hotel of this class.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for the precious time spent in transmitting us your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Our guests’ opinions are meaningful for us to improve our services and help to turn your journey into a real experience…

We regret to realize that you could not totally enjoy your stay with us, due to the Restaurant experience, like you reported, since it represents a great value for us.

I wish to express my personal regret for your disappointment and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

I trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards.
That is why we hope that you will have the chance of coming back to our Luxury Urban Resort, offering us the opportunity of regain your confidence in our services.

In this case, please consider myself at your complete disposal for any need.
It would be a great pleasure to assist you in organizing your next stay and let you live the gastronomic experience you could not perceive during this occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at the Gran Melia for a total of 3 nights.

The hotel is very nice. I hear that it was a formerly an estate and had converted to a hotel. The hotel itself is about a year or so old.

Upon arriving to the hotel, we found the bellmen to be very helpful and the front desk staff was courteous.

We checked in and the front desk member had let us know that our room was ready and that our rate include free breakfast in the morning (this was nice, but our hotels in Florence and Paris also include free breakfast). She gave us a tour of the grounds and showed us to our room.

We had the breakfast the first morning. Gave our room number to the waitress. No problem.

We had breakfast the second morning. Again, gave our room number to the waitress. As we were about to leave, the waitress comes back and says that there’s a problem and that our breakfast is not free. She said if we felt it was a mistake, it would be best to take it up with the front desk.

So I go to the front desk right after breakfast to see what’s going on. The lady at the front desk checks our account and lets us know that our rate does not include the free breakfast and that we had been charged for the first and second days. I asked why upon check in that they had informed us that we had free breakfast. She does some more computer work and then goes back to pull out of physical file. Again, she insists that our rate does not include the breakfast and that we go back to check our paperwork. Again, I press the issue that their staff misinformed us and said our rate includes breakfast. She said the best she could do is knock about 15% off the normal breakfast charge, but that we’d be required to pay for the breakfast for all three days. Other than that, there was nothing she could really do and that she could “possibly” get a manager involved at a later time.

Keep in mind, the breakfast buffet is 36 Euro and it’s pretty mediocre. At most, we probably ate $9 Euro worth of food each. I expected a hotel of this caliber to easily comp this as it was their mistake for misinforming us.

Since I was on vacation, I decided to just let the issue slide since I did not want to waste any further precious time debating back and fourth with the front desk and to have to wait for a manager that the front desk could “possibly” alert.

I feel this whole situation is very unacceptable for a supposedly “luxury” hotel. They obviously do not follow the simple rule of the customer is always right and I feel they were quick to put the blame back on us.

So beware… if you do not run into any issues during your stay here, your stay will most likely be very pleasant. If you do run into an issue, expect the customer service level to be on par with that of a motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFan1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the precious time spent in transmitting us your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome.

Our guests’ opinions are valuable for us to improve our services and help to turn your journey into a real experience…

I was sorry to learn of your concern as to the misunderstanding of the breakfast, finally not included in your rate.

According to our internal policy and our aim to improve the quality of our services, please, be informed that we shared your comments with the Management and the departments directly involved so to prevent any guests from experiencing similar inconveniences in the future.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience but will reconsider to come again in the future, offering us the possibility of regain your confidence.
In that case, please feel free to contact me directly for any need.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I booked a de-luxe room B & B and when we arrived we were told that we'd been upgraded to a garden room and given a complimentary dinner. The hotel is very new and modern - beautiful decor and superb bars, dining rooms, library, gardens and pool. Our room was very comfortable and the little private deck was a nice place to sit with a drink after sightseeing all day. The bed was comfortable and the AC kept the temperature just right for us. The dinner was good - expensive - but it was complimentary. Breakfast was good and all of the staff were exceptionally nice and very attentive. I didn't use the Spa so can't comment on that. The only negative we had was that the pool and hot tub didn't open till 10am and I like a swim first thing in the morning. Overall a lovely place to stay - well situated within walking distance to the best area in the city for restaurants and bars and of course close to the Vatican. We hope to return ( did the fountain thing!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your lovely comments about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Our guests' opinions are valuable for us to monitor the service quality we aim to offer.

We are pleased to realize that you enjoyed your stay with us, living the comfort of your nice room and experiencing our facilities.

Thank you for the kind words addressed to our staff, always providing a professional and attentive service to our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to let you keep living the magic of the Eternal City and experiencing the other facilities you could not use during your previous stay, like the Spa.

Once gain, thank you for choosing our Luxury Urban Resort!


We will be waiting for you...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I set about trying to get a 5 star city centre hotel, but with a pool and sunbathing area for the afternoons ( assuming we got better weather than the UK ). This actually was not easy.

On balance, I got the great pool / chill out area, but perhaps at the expense of the best hotel. The location is great, close to the Vatican and within walking / bus / tax ride of everything. The prestige rooms were a bit small and I had to request a change to get a garden view. There was insufficient storage for our two night stop and the glass walled bathrooms are fun for a couple, but might catch out a brother and sister combo. The service was slow, maybe that means Italian, but it was very friendly. The €70 extra a night for "Red Glove" service is worth it is you like to use the spa and steam rooms ( good after walking around all day ), and if you like a few pre-dinner drinks between 7-9pm. The hotel was not busy, but I would agree with other reviews that the breakfast facility is too small for the size of the hotel. I guess we struck it lucky with good weather and a hotel that was no too full.

Room Tip: We had room 206, which was over a garden towards the city and on the Spa level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlkraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing our Luxury Urban Resort at the occasion of your recent visit to Rome and for sharing your opinions about it.

Our guests's comments are valuable for us to monitor if the service quality we aim to offer is perceived as high as we wish to.

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant experience overall, particularly appreciating our Red Glove service.

It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back and let to continue your experience in the heart of the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed in a junior suite for three nights and feel rather underwhelmed.

The location of the hotel is good (not in the heart of Rome but everything is easily reached on foot). The welcome was friendly and the check-in fast and efficient. I prefer modern hotels, and hence chose this one due to the wooden floors and nice design.

The junior suite we stayed in had a huge entrance hall (waste of space, as no use for it).
The living area is a bit on the small side, but fine overall. The bedroom again a bit small, but the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't have any views from our room. We were in the red level area - you pay extra for this and get access to the spa which we didn't use, and drinks and snacks from 12-7 in the red level suite which was a joke. No water, 2 or 3 different types of soft drinks, prosecco and almost no food (a few fruit skewers and some tiny quiche-like thingies (I think) were all that was available - this is being advertised on the hotel's website and leaves a lot to be desired.

The bathroom is alright - good shower pressure, and a separate room with a WC and bidet - this room is huge.
There is a shower and tub in the same glass cubicle - in our room the tub was way too close to the bedroom glass wall and the space to stand under the shower therefore not sufficient. If you are full-figured, you will struggle. This is weird as there is space at the end to place the tub further back - giving you space to comfortably stand under the shower.
Half of the bathroom amenities were missing when we arrived, but replaced the next day.
Overall the room is big - but the strange use of space makes it feel a lot smaller then it is.

Moving on to breakfast which really lets the hotel down - this needs sorting out. On our first morning, we had to wait a good five minutes before a table was even available, and were then seated in a temporary area in the hallway, not in the glass cube with a nice view. The breakfast area in general is way too small for the number of guests staying at the hotel - there were quite a few people waiting after we were seated on each morning we had breakfast. The breakfast choices are a bit limited, but OK. What I didn't appreciate was that when both of us got up to get some more food, the table was cleared and prepared for the next guests. I understand that people were waiting, but we hadn't finished yet. The next morning we were even asked to sit in the bar area as again there were no free tables in the breakfast area. I refused and we got lucky as a table in the regular area became available.
Coffee and tea then arrived after we almost finished our breakfast, which also seemed to be the case for other guests - a guy on the table next to us kept asking for his beverage and was told at least three times that it is on the way. My tea arrived without tea bags - just the hot water.
When I ordered French toast, I got a ham and cheese toast after around 15 minutes - maybe the chef confused it with a croque monsieur? When I tried to explain to the waiter what French toast is, he left without saying much and come back 10 minutes later with the same ham and cheese toast, but with egg on top. I gave up then, and frankly the way the staff dealt with this was borderline rude. Gran Melia is an international hotel chain, surely the kitchen should be aware of a breakfast item like French toast?
There were no glasses for juice and water until people pointed this out, and long waiting times for certain items to be re-filled. Clearly there is not enough space for guests as well as food - someone needs to sort this out as a lot of guests seemed less then happy - us included.

Another issue was that the air con in the bedroom gave my husband a stiff neck. We called reception and a guy came to our room to check on this. He explained how to switch it off, pointing out how easy it is (and seemed a bit annoyed he had to do so). In the end he struggled to switch it off himself, as you have to push a certain button three times.

On the same evening we returned from dinner at around 10pm and noticed that the turn-down service hadn't been done. No issue as we still had enough towels and we made the bed ourselves, but at 22:20 the maid rang our bell and wanted to come in. This is way too late to be appropriate.

I am not usually that critical, but the breakfast situation really annoyed me and given the prices they charge (we paid almost €2,000 for three nights) and the fact this is supposed to be a 5* hotel, service should be flawless, and it clearly is not.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurumba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.
We highly value our guests’ comments in order to constantly improve the level of service we strive to offer.

We were sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your overall experience and I wish to express my personal regret for the disappointment you have expressed, particularly related to the breakfast service.
Please, be informed that it means a disappointment for us too, not to have been able to fulfill your expectations, since our main purpose is to turn each guests' stay into memorable moments.

I hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and will offer us the opportunity to regain your confidence on our services.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.
We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina again in the future.
At this regard, please c onsider myself at your disposal for any need.

Yours Sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Property: Gran Melia Rome
Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing