We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, boutique and designer”
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #93 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel is simply fabulous. It's very 'Zen' when you walk into the jasmine scented reception, cool and perfectly done. The rooms are chic, complete with Nespresso machine, amazing power shower, stunning views and nice turndown service. The location is excellent. The staff were attentive and very pleasant. The Spa downstairs is exactly like one I go to a home. The pool looked equally polished, cool and inviting but we never had the time to relax by it, though if you had the time it would be perfect after sightseeing to lie down in the sunshine and chill. Please genuinely ignore the odd bad review of this place, it's very designer and modern and perfect for a romantic trip to Rome or a business trip.

Room Tip: It was our anniversary and the staff immediately upgraded us and gave us champagne and strawberries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank victoria.gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your positive feelings about the recent stay in Rome, at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are so happy to learn about your appreciation as to our service adn facilities.

We are particularly proud of your kind notes about the staff, whom professionalism represents our great asset to reach our main goal: turning our gests' special moments into unique and unforgettable ones.
We are pleased that we were able to make your anniversary as special as you wished it to be.

We really hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in our Luxury Urban Resort soon, to let you keep enjoying the uniqueness of the Eternal City...
Please, consider myself at your disposal, should you need any assistance as to the planning of your next visit. It would be a great pleasure to take care of all the details of your stay.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

I cannot say enough about the incredible service and excellent hospitality we received from the Gran Melia staff. This was the absolute best vacation my daughter and I have been on thanks to the convenient location and staff if the hotel. I highly recommend the Gran Melia.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sfacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Roma Villa Agrippina for your holiday in unique Rome...

We are extremely happy to realize that you fully enjoyed it, appreciating our facilities and above all our staff professionalism, finally turning your styay into an unforgettable experience!

Looking forward to receiving you back as soon as possible to let you keep experiencing the magic of the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We wanted to really splurge out and therefore booked a premium room including red level service. Unfortunately the hotel could not meet our expectations and in the end we were quite disappointed.

Of course the design of the hotel is really nice and the location is wonderful. But it still seems to me that all the people giving a good recommendation here have never been to a good five star hotel or do not care about value for money at all!

We stayed at Gran Melia for two days in April and experienced the following annoyances:

-They let us wait for 2 hours with the check inn, telling us the whole time that it can take only 10 more minutes.
-The staff tries to be super nice but does not make a very professional impression and is very hectic. Melia does not seem to invest in the education of its employees. For example during breakfast there are more staff than guests which run around terribly disorganized and create an atmosphere like a bazaar.
-When we finally got the room it was cleaned only in a rush and the mini bar was not checked (some half empty bottles in it). I told the reception but they did not do anything about it for the whole time we were there.
-All services including the restaurant and bar are ridiculously expensive. It’s ok to pay more at a five star hotel but an espresso for example costs 500% inside Gran Melia of what it costs just outside;
-Whenever I asked which services are included in the red level package I got only very vague answers and I constantly had the feeling of being ripped off.
- For being brand new the hotel is not in a very good condition. There are many spots were you see that maintenance is required soon.
-The spar is nice but not nearly as exceptional as they advertise it. Just recently I stayed at a three star hotel with a much better spar.
-What they call a gym is not more than a small room with very bad ventilation in which a couple of sport equipments are cramped together.
-Even the premium room is pretty small.

Each issue alone might not be much of a deal but taken together and considering that I paid two times the price of a comparable five star hotel, I can not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Johannes187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reporting your feedback regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We do highly evaluate our guests’ comments in order to constantly improve the level of service we strive to offer to our clients and your observations are really helpful to this intent.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns with your stay and I would like to express my personal regret for the disappointment you have expressed.

I can assure you that we accommodate a number of guests in our hotel and are proud to have the flexibility to meet their requirements, therefore it is extremely disappointing to have let you down in this occasion.

I trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards.

I am particularly afraid about what you report as to the Red Level service, since it is about personalized attention towards those guests who wish to live higher and more exclusive quality standards.

Please, be assured that the issues raised have been investigated and appropriate actions have been taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

That is why we hope that you will reconsider to come back to our Luxury Urban Resort, offering us the chance of gaining your confidence on our services and let you live the RedLevel experience you could not perceive at this occasion.

At this regard, please, consider myself at your disposal for any need.
It would be a great pleasure to organize your future stay in the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great location, excellent service and food. Book breakfast package on check in for a good discount if not already included but make sure you can take it on the day of departure. Pool and bar area perfect for a relax after a hard days sightseeing. Vatican City is less than a 10 minute walk away.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Guest,

what a pleasure to realize how lovely was your stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, at the occasion of your visit to Rome.

Thank you for reporting your experience to let us know that we were able to turn your stay into a memorable one!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to let you continue enjoying the magic of the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

From our private driver, Carlos A++++, to Roberto, the head waiter and don't let me forget the Master Chef, Don Alfonso & his wife Livia...EVERYONE A+++++. Now, the hotel was gorgeous, perfect location and just where you should stay for your dream vacation.

Room Tip: We chose the Junior suite with private terrace jacuzzi (not what Americans consider private when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMileski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your feelings about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are glad to learn that you lived such an unforgettable experience, especially as regard to the the gastronomy touch by Iaccarino's Family, enriched by our personnel attentive attitude and professionalism.

We will be waiting for you as soon as you decide to visit the Eternal City again...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I've started my trip to Rome with a strong felling of fear.....hotels in Rome were not the most charming in my memories, BUT Gran Melia Rome had nothing to do with my older memories.......incredible design, great features, great restaurant ( no crackers and jam on breakfast :) ). The experience was truly superb and unique.
Last but not least the staff is simply at its best.

Next task is to go there in the summer.....the outdoor pool looks gorgeous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SorinIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for reporting your opinions about your recent stay at gorgeous Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are extremely happy to realize that you lived such a great experience with us, while visiting a unique city like Rome.

Thank you for the kind words addressed to the professionalism of our staff which represent our greatest asset.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at our Luxury Urban Resort for your next visit to the Eternal City....

Kindest Regrads,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed for 3 days and booked 2 rooms. It was a shame, but not the end of the world that we couldn't get the rooms on the same floor. Initial impressions were very good, with exceptionally friendly and helpful front desk staff showing us around the hotel with wonderful grounds. Things got a little worse later when we went for dinner. 20 minutes waiting for our drinks and a further 30 minutes waiting for the food before an apologetic waiter informed us that they had problems in the kitchen. They could only provide a few options from the menu and we had to wait for another 30 mins before the food arrived. At least they then waived the price of the drinks for the inconvenience caused. The outdoor seating area was stylish but too small, particularly when parts of the area were reserved for parties (both Saturday and Sunday) leaving guests struggling to find somewhere to sit outside. Overall impressions were of a stylish hotel with friendly staff but lacking the great service and organisation I would expect from a hotel of this class.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LondonJrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for the precious time spent in transmitting us your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Our guests’ opinions are meaningful for us to improve our services and help to turn your journey into a real experience…

We regret to realize that you could not totally enjoy your stay with us, due to the Restaurant experience, like you reported, since it represents a great value for us.

I wish to express my personal regret for your disappointment and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

I trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards.
That is why we hope that you will have the chance of coming back to our Luxury Urban Resort, offering us the opportunity of regain your confidence in our services.

In this case, please consider myself at your complete disposal for any need.
It would be a great pleasure to assist you in organizing your next stay and let you live the gastronomic experience you could not perceive during this occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £183 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing