We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis within a city.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #85 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An oasis within a city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

What a magical hotel, with a spa, a pool, restaurant, conciergerie, gardens, terrasses...views, tranquile, romantique, family friendly, amazingly caring service, efficient staff all around!
First class hotel in Rome, VIP level, sexy style, short taxi ride away from the heart of Rome! Imagine a swim under the stars or after a day viewing history! I highly recommend this ELEGANT hotel in Rome! Braxissimo Gran Melia!

We are coming back in Rome in August because of this resort! Hopefully it is not soldout?! You feel away from the city, away from the centre, into its own Riviera! An oasis within a city! Thank you kindly Gran Melia!

Josephine, Mike, Francesca and Julien xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

how pleasant to realize that you loved your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina!

Thank you for your nice comments about your recent stay!

We are just glad to learn that we have been able to turn your stay into a memorable experience and we do look forward to welcoming you back in August...!

We are waiting for you...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    272
    100
    36
    19
See reviews for
356
642
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here one week ago when in Rome for the Eros Concert! Wow what a hotel. We visit Rome every year from South Africa and this is by far the greatest we have ever stayed at. From the rooms to the facilities to the friendliest staff members! Tip, ask for a view when booking your room, our room overlooked the restaurant which isn't the greatest, however after 2 nights for our last night we were upgraded to a loft suite with just the most outstanding views of pool area and Rome! We have re booked this hotel for our return trip in august next month for ourselves and all our friends and can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are so glad that you fully enjoyed your experience with us, appreciating service, facilities and staff professionalism.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in August!!

We are waiting for you...

See you soon,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel two week ago (in June) for a week end and this place was just great. It gives you peace in a big loud Italian city.

From our arrival everything was perfectly managed. Check in was very warm and the hostess gave us some quite good advises to go have a little snack outside of the hotel and for a dinner late in the day.

The room was just perfect. Pretty of space, a really nice bathroom, and I could't not even enter in the room that I received a call from the reception asking me if everything was ok.

As I am a gold member at Melia, they gave me free upgrade and a welcome snack without even asking anything. I felt like Melia really cares about his guests.

The pool is unbelievable... Awesome! From there you can see Castel Sant'Angelo and have a nice view of the city. The water is perfect, maybe the jacuzzi a bit too cold, but you can easily forget you are in the middle of a city.

Only cons for me are the hotel location, central but in a way too turistic spot of the city and the bar/restaurant service.
On Sunday morning we had a little brunch outdoor at the bar near the pool and the order took such a long time to be delivered. We complained for the (at least 30 mins) wait and we were offered a non-alcholinc drink (? Chosen without even asking us). I also noticed the bar manager complain with the waitress and I really don't like this kind behavior in front of a guest (but this is Rome). Anyway, my overall rate of this place is 5/5.

Spa service is excellent,I had a great massage, but also expensive.

In conclusion I had a wonderful experience. The hotel is not cheap but Quality/price is well balanced and worth the visit.
I can totally recommend this place. Make this hotel your home in Rome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the precious time spent in sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Your opinions are valuable for us to improve our services and help to make your journey a real experience…

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant stay with us while visiting the Eternal City, appreciating service, facilities and staff professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the heart of the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for nearly two weeks in the Gran Melia Rome and had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel is located extremely centrally and yet still gives the feeling of being "away" from the insanity of Rome. This is partially due to the hotel being located near the top of a hill, allowing it to feel at once part of Rome and yet away from the city itself. The service at Gran Melia was exceptional, with the concierge taking a personal interest in our various comings and goings. The room was small but well appointed, and the hotel itself was obviously newly built and well maintained.

The only possible downside was that the food in the hotel's restaurant was definitely lacking. The restaurant was expensive and fairly bland, whereas the "fancy" restaurant was prohibitively expensive and aggressively mediocre. This is the one area where I would recommend that Gran Melia improve, as we quickly found ourselves working quite hard to avoid eating at the hotel whenever possible.

Overall, aside from the disappointing food, the hotel was fantastic and beautiful. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for the precious time spent in sending us your feedback about your recent stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

Your opinions are valuable for us to improve our services and help to make your journey a real experience…

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant stay with us while visiting the Eternal City, while we regret that you did not appreciate our food since our Restaurant represents one of our greatest assets.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and let you continue your experience in the heart of timeless Rome...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Superb location (walkable to all the major sites), very clean modern hotel with a lovely outside pool and extremely friendly and efficient staff. Rooms are very nicely designed with all modern amenities. Unfortunately cannot comment on the gourmet restaurant as this was closed to residents for two nights running for an external group which was annoying (and a bit naughty of the hotel) but breakfasts were very good. Definitely a relaxing and high class option when staying in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your opinions about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are glad to realize that you lived such a great experience with us, appreciating facilities, service and above all our staff professionalism!

I am afraid that you could not live the gastronomic experience at our Viva Voce Gourmet Restaurant, which for sure you will not miss at the occasion of your next visit!

Looking forward to welcoming you back at our Luxury Urban Resort to let you continue your experience, enriched by the culinary touch by Don Alfonso Iaccarino....

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Overall this hotel is amazing. clean, stunning views, beautiful and the staff are very helpful and very accommodating. The location is fantastic and easy to walk everywhere.

MY husband and i arrived at 9pm to the hotel, we travel a lot so we warned the front desk lady that we can be picky with rooms as we expect the best for the prices we pay. She was very lovely and got 3 room keys for us so we could choose. We got into our room and it was great, i paid for a bath but we didn't get this, i was a little miffed but it is what it is.

The hotel was amazing, spa was fantastic, room was clean, the reception area was beautiful, the pool is really amazing and very safe for children and also super clean.

The only problem we had with this hotel was the waiters. They are very slow to come and take your order and then they are even slower going to get the drinks to bring to you. One evening we ordered an expresso at the bar and we ended up leaving as it was so long...
the breakfast in the hotel is also really terrible, there is not much on offer and when i ordered poached eggs with bacon, the eggs came over cooked and the bacon was non existing.

Lastly if the front desk and concierge don't see it going their way they are very uncooperative ( what happened to the customer always being right)??? We asked the front desk to get our bags for us so we could change after checking out and using the pool and she answered with; i wont get them, you have to go yourself to baggage and get them... Im sorry but i paid 500 euros a night i will not be going to get my own bags. This was very rude and not 5 star service at all.

Ohh yes and to use the double beds next to the pool you had to pay a extra 100 euros, which is crazy and we asked after we checked out if we could use the spa showers later as out flight was in the evening but she said we had to pay a 20 euro entrance fee per person. Even though we used the spa the day before and left 300 euros to them. I feel like the hotel were trying to get money whenever possible...

Overall this hotel is 5 star and super beautiful the staff and waiters just need to be managed better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the pool and vatican.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay at the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

As a new hotel we highly evaluate our guests’ comments in order to constantly improve the level of service we strive to offer our clients.

We are glad to learn that you lived a pleasant experience overall and I wish to thank you for taking the time to write.
We are grateful for your support as to your concern about some of our services which we shared with the departments directly involved.

We do sincerely hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you at our Luxury Urban Resort again.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed there on our last night of our Honeymoon in Italy after returning to Rome from the Amalfi coast before flying back to the U.S. It is a beautiful, clean and well managed hotel. It is big and different than most of our hotel experiences in Rome and Italy. We booked it due to the reviews of the spa, which was phenomenal.
The hotel staff are great, and professional. The pool was crowded with families with kids, so we avoided it but we are not parents. Breakfast was not included in our package I guess and we could have added the buffet for 28euros a person, which we refused as we thought it was too expensive for breakfast.
It is very close to the Vatican but across the river from most of Rome. They offer a shuttle to and from the shopping district for free which is nice. It is about a 20minute walk to the restaurant district which is on the same side of the river as the hotel.
We are the type of travelers that prefer smaller more personal hotels but again wanted to experience the spa before ending our Honeymoon. This is a great hotel for those who want to be pampered, those who have families and those who want to stay in a bigger hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We highly value our guests’ comments in order to constantly improve the level of service we strive to offer.

We are extremely glad to realize that you lived such a pleasant stay with us, particularly appreciating the SPA Experience...

Looking forward to welcoming you back at our Luxury Urban Resort to let you keep enjoying the magic of the Eternal City in our relaxing Resort...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Property: Gran Melia Rome
Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing