We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great urban resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #85 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great urban resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Excellent 5 star resort with comfortable rooms, cool design, magnificent grounds and nice pool. Everything you would want in a resort with good location and and excellent service. A great oasis for a holiday in Rome. Just a bit expensive...

Room Tip: Some rooms require a bit of a walk and then an elevator. we had a basement suite (102) but the advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your marvellous experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina!

We are happy to learn that you had such a lovely stay, enjoying the Resort's facilities, location and comfort of the Luxury Apartment you were allocated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    272
    100
    36
    19
See reviews for
356
642
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed 2 weeks at the Gran Melia in Rome and it was perfect in every way. This 5 star resort is beautiful and the location allows easy access to all of Rome. Situated on Gianicolo Hill allows for views of St. Peters & Castle St. Angelo to the North and panoramic views of Rome to the East. We stayed in a Red Level Loft Suite which was exquisite. The resort is a remodeled convent, so you get the feel of history but with all the modern amenities; free wifi, rainfall shower, air conditioning, comfy beds, free breakfast buffet and lunch buffet, poolside bar, valet service, etc. It has a beautiful library which is perfect for conversation, reading or just relaxing in. Our favorite part had to be the fabulous pool! We spent the mornings exploring Rome and seeing the sights (advice: hire a limo driver-it is worth it!) then came back to the resort and spent the afternoons in the pool. The service at the pool, and from the entire staff, is above expectations. We often returned to our room in the evening to find chocolate dipped strawberries or a bottle of wine waiting for us. They think of everything at this resort! When we arrived in Rome I made the typical American mistake and plugged my curling iron in without first putting a converter on it. It melted in half and I could not find another one. When I shared this with Chiara at the front desk, she left the hotel after her shift, purchased me one, and brought it back to me that night! Who does that!? After our horrible one night experience at Parco Dei Principi in Rome, The Gran Melia, and Chiara, saved our vacation and made it one that we will never forget. If you want to stay in the most beautiful resort in Rome & be treated like royalty, then you must stay at the Gran Melia! IT IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!

Room Tip: Red Level Loft Suites are beautiful, comfy, and have panoramic views of Rome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for transmitting us your positive feedback about your recent stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are extremely pleased to realize that you fully enjoyed your experience with us, appreciating our service, attention to details and, above all, staff professionalism and attitude.

Thank you for the kind words addressed to Chiara who always contributes to “bright” our guests’ stays together with the rest of the team.

We are particularly glad to have been able to show you our passion for job, which daily moves us to our main object: turning your stays into unforgettable experiences…

We are just happy to learn that we were able to give all this to you and we really look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina soon to let you continue such amazing experience…

Kindest regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I had lunch at the Bar of the Liquid Garden (a enchanting garden with a pool) in Gran Melià Rome, and I spent a wonderful time eating excellent food, enjoying a relaxing atmosphere with a friend of mine, and being pampered by a great staff. Afterwards, I visited the Spa, perhaps the best wellness zone in Rome. I'm happy that in my hometown such a first-class hotel has been opened.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasteandTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your recent experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are happy to realize that you could enjoy both Restaurant and Spa proposals.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and let you continue experiencing our facilities and service in our suggestive and relaxing location.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

What a magical hotel, with a spa, a pool, restaurant, conciergerie, gardens, terrasses...views, tranquile, romantique, family friendly, amazingly caring service, efficient staff all around!
First class hotel in Rome, VIP level, sexy style, short taxi ride away from the heart of Rome! Imagine a swim under the stars or after a day viewing history! I highly recommend this ELEGANT hotel in Rome! Braxissimo Gran Melia!

We are coming back in Rome in August because of this resort! Hopefully it is not soldout?! You feel away from the city, away from the centre, into its own Riviera! An oasis within a city! Thank you kindly Gran Melia!

Josephine, Mike, Francesca and Julien xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

how pleasant to realize that you loved your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina!

Thank you for your nice comments about your recent stay!

We are just glad to learn that we have been able to turn your stay into a memorable experience and we do look forward to welcoming you back in August...!

We are waiting for you...

Best Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here one week ago when in Rome for the Eros Concert! Wow what a hotel. We visit Rome every year from South Africa and this is by far the greatest we have ever stayed at. From the rooms to the facilities to the friendliest staff members! Tip, ask for a view when booking your room, our room overlooked the restaurant which isn't the greatest, however after 2 nights for our last night we were upgraded to a loft suite with just the most outstanding views of pool area and Rome! We have re booked this hotel for our return trip in august next month for ourselves and all our friends and can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are so glad that you fully enjoyed your experience with us, appreciating service, facilities and staff professionalism.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in August!!

We are waiting for you...

See you soon,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel two week ago (in June) for a week end and this place was just great. It gives you peace in a big loud Italian city.

From our arrival everything was perfectly managed. Check in was very warm and the hostess gave us some quite good advises to go have a little snack outside of the hotel and for a dinner late in the day.

The room was just perfect. Pretty of space, a really nice bathroom, and I could't not even enter in the room that I received a call from the reception asking me if everything was ok.

As I am a gold member at Melia, they gave me free upgrade and a welcome snack without even asking anything. I felt like Melia really cares about his guests.

The pool is unbelievable... Awesome! From there you can see Castel Sant'Angelo and have a nice view of the city. The water is perfect, maybe the jacuzzi a bit too cold, but you can easily forget you are in the middle of a city.

Only cons for me are the hotel location, central but in a way too turistic spot of the city and the bar/restaurant service.
On Sunday morning we had a little brunch outdoor at the bar near the pool and the order took such a long time to be delivered. We complained for the (at least 30 mins) wait and we were offered a non-alcholinc drink (? Chosen without even asking us). I also noticed the bar manager complain with the waitress and I really don't like this kind behavior in front of a guest (but this is Rome). Anyway, my overall rate of this place is 5/5.

Spa service is excellent,I had a great massage, but also expensive.

In conclusion I had a wonderful experience. The hotel is not cheap but Quality/price is well balanced and worth the visit.
I can totally recommend this place. Make this hotel your home in Rome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the precious time spent in sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Your opinions are valuable for us to improve our services and help to make your journey a real experience…

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant stay with us while visiting the Eternal City, appreciating service, facilities and staff professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the heart of the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for nearly two weeks in the Gran Melia Rome and had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel is located extremely centrally and yet still gives the feeling of being "away" from the insanity of Rome. This is partially due to the hotel being located near the top of a hill, allowing it to feel at once part of Rome and yet away from the city itself. The service at Gran Melia was exceptional, with the concierge taking a personal interest in our various comings and goings. The room was small but well appointed, and the hotel itself was obviously newly built and well maintained.

The only possible downside was that the food in the hotel's restaurant was definitely lacking. The restaurant was expensive and fairly bland, whereas the "fancy" restaurant was prohibitively expensive and aggressively mediocre. This is the one area where I would recommend that Gran Melia improve, as we quickly found ourselves working quite hard to avoid eating at the hotel whenever possible.

Overall, aside from the disappointing food, the hotel was fantastic and beautiful. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for the precious time spent in sending us your feedback about your recent stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

Your opinions are valuable for us to improve our services and help to make your journey a real experience…

We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant stay with us while visiting the Eternal City, while we regret that you did not appreciate our food since our Restaurant represents one of our greatest assets.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and let you continue your experience in the heart of timeless Rome...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Property: Gran Melia Rome
Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing