We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet luxury in the heart of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #86 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet luxury in the heart of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I'm almost tempted to not rate this hotel because I dont want to share the secret. Perfectly located if you want to combine luxury with quiet but still be very close to all the best of Rome's attractions. Its only a 15 minute walk to St Peters, and short cab ride to others. The outdoor pool setup is unique in Rome, and the quiet is really nice after a busy day touring, you'll sleep well here. Costs are outrageous, but the hotel has unique features that are unmatched in Rome.

Room Tip: best rooms with views are on the two top floors on the northeast and west corners, red service worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickCT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for sharing "your secret" letting everyone know how wonderful was your experience at Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina!

We are extremely pleased to realize how much you enjoyed everything, particularly appreciating our Red Glove Service we like to personalize our guests’ stay with, to make their moments unique and specials...

Really looking forward to welcoming you back soon and let you continue your memorable experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    280
    101
    36
    20
See reviews for
363
655
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was absolutely blown away by the resort and its service , me and my girlfriend spent 7 nights here and enjoyed every minute of it , the staff were polite and helpful even going out of there way to get me tickets for a lazio game .
cant wait to come back

Chris

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montana9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your wonderful experience at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define as amazing.

We are extremely pleased to realize how much you enjoyed the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina experience.

Thank you so much for the kind words addressed to the staff professionalism and warm attitude aiming to make each moment at Gran Melia Rome as Eternal and Memorable as the City hosting us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and let you continue your unique experience in the historical heart of Timeless Rome…

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed here with work last year and just getting round to writing review. Cracking hotel. Very clean, no issues whatsoever. Room was excellent, comfy bed fantastic shower and bathroom. Even though my window looked out onto the street it was very quiet. The bar was good, very relaxing chairs and in an excellent location to get to all of the Vatican attractions etc.
Some very good restaurants nearby too. I never ate in the restaurant but i heard it was lovely.
Now it is expensive due to it being a 5* and due to its handy location. But it is good if you could afford it.

Room Tip: Don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_hooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to report your feedback as to your Gran Meliá Rome Experience.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay appreciating service and location.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and let you keep enjoying your the Eternal City staying at our Luxury Urban Resort...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Love, love, love this hotel. Perfect place to stay during our thrid trip to Rome in 5 years. This time, we brought our kids, ages 16,13, and 8. The Gran Melia provided a haven from the bustling, at times overwhelming energy and heat of Rome's interior. Located on Gianiccolo hill, just outside the city, the hotel's proximity to the bubbling, festive Trestavere district created extra ambience for evenings out and people watching.

Staff and service were exceptional. We arrived cranky, jet-lagged and sans luggage (thank you Delta). Several members of the staff, including Samuel, Allessandra and Iago worked diligently to faciliate the return of our luggage. Later these exceptional team members offered dining and touring advice that really fit the varying needs and demands of our family. Allessandro even helped us plan (on-the-fly) our trip to Lucca, in Tuscany.

The restuarant has a limited menu, but its attentive, gracious and inventive staff, incluing Luige, Antoientta and Maria, accomodated our requests and served up comfortable food in an inviting atmoshpere.

The pool and lounge service is exceptional and well-maintained. My youngest spend hours (literally) in the pool each day. Poolside amenities are clean, crisp and generous. Towels are abundant and assistance is readily offered. . The cabana beds are great for a neeeded rest and drink after a day touring Rome - -especially in the heat. There is no food served poolside. Waitstaff from the Liquid Lounge, located adjacent to the pool, will gladly bring your drinks once you've ordered, but they do not come around for drink service. A trip to the bar is required to get the order going. Similarly for snacks, you must go up to Liquid Lounge to order and to eat.

The rooms are smallish, but clean and well-laid out with luxury linens, bluetooth docking service and finely-appointed high-end bathrooms. We had two separate rooms and both had a sense of WOW - -in terms of the sleek modern layout and decadent comfort. The hotel provided both a complimentary fruit bowl and in-room wine or champagne. The beds were very comfortable.

This hotel while modern, delivers old-world charm and comfort. We originated our trip at Gran Melia and liked it so much, we returned there to stay before returning home to NY. When next in Rome, we will be staying at Gran Melia.

Room Tip: Book regular level and upgrade to Premium if you are an AMEX platinum card holder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingMcdevitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define as the perfect one!

We are pleased to realize how much you enjoyed your experience with us, appreciating our facilities, Restaurant, pool and Red Level Lounge.

Thank you for the kind words addressed to the staff professionalism and warm attitude, especially as regard to the all the ones you mentioned: Alessandra, Samuel, Tiago, Antonella, Luigi, who I provided to share them with.

It was a great pleasure to host you and your family here!
We are just happy to have been able to transmit you the "WOW sense" which is the mail purpose of our daily job, carried out with true passion and care towards our Guests.

We are proud to know that you will definitely come back to Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina for your future visit to the Eternal City….

We will be waiting for you…

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eberbach, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

So it is a 5* hotel and at least there should not be any concerns at all ... But what ever it is to complain about should be at a high level.
Hhmm ... that's what I am not sure about.

Is it high level complain when:
- it is not possible to get a confirmed reservation for two rooms with connecting door with an upfront time of more than 6 weeks?
- they serve you wrotten strawberrys a real whole bunch not just one or two, even when it is called complementary ?
- when you come back from your morning trip and your room is not ready after 2pm ?
- when you need to ask for room's turn-down service at night; just to make sure they won't start doing it after you went to bed?

No, I don' think it is. It is a 5* NOT a 3* hotel.

And it is obvious that it has got all other things, you would ask for at a 5*:
- beautyfull location, outdoor pool, SPA, good restaurant
- a lot of helpfull personal who make you feel comfortable
- Maria and Fernando at Red Glove Service and all their frindly a nice colleagues

It is a real pity that all the efforts of everyone working there we got in contact with - and all we met were warm, frindly, helpful and made us feel very wellcome - were subverted by an obviously organisation and a snooty, arrogant management, as we learned.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DentonOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your valuable feedback about the recent stay at Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina.

Since we do take the comfort of our guests very seriously and the whole team aim is to ensure our guests to receive more than the high quality service they expect, I am sorry for the little points you decided to share and which prevented you from living a perfect stay with us.
We are grateful for your support, giving us the chance of better monitoring the issues you raised with the departments directly involved, so to avoid the happening of similar inconveniences in the future.

On ther other hand, we are glad to learn that you lived a pleasant experience overall, appreciating our facilities and, above all, our staff attentions and care.

We are particularly grateful for your kind words addressed to the Red Glove team members, aiming to further personalize and enrich our guests' stays to turn them into memorable experiences...

We hope to welcome you back at the occasion of your future visits to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Any minor negatives out way all the positives.

Great location 15 mins walk from travestre and restaurants of old Rome and 5 mins from Vatican. 15 mins from piazza navone...anywhere else get a cab or shuttle bus.

The best bit getting back from a long morning and afternoon and lazing by the pool for a few hours its bliss. Ideally 4 nights for that mix of rest and sightseeing

We did bike tour of city centre for three hours the first day and you really get your bearings and see a lot of the sites (top bike rental )

Rooms are lovely we had grand premium city view and it was plenty big for 2 with fab shower

Food good and yes drinks expensive...but you pay for this luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

we are grateful for your lovely feedback about the recent stay at Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are extremely pleased to learn that you lived such a great experience with us, enjoying the whole Resort and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible in the place you appointed like the one to stay in such a unique city in the world...

We will be waiting for you...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is definitely a getaway from the hustle and bustle from the town center, and it is a mere 10 min taxi ride from the Spanish steps and other tourist spots. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff nice and helpful. One complaint would be the quality of the breakfasts, most food in the buffet are “being refilled” meaning you see empty plates after empty plates on the buffet tables, not something you often see in any hotels or restaurants.

What's best is always the feeling when you return from a long hot day outside and the hotel is like your retreat in the packed city of Rome.

If you have time, try walking up the hill at the back of the hotel where you can have a beautiful view of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jklove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback about the recent stay at Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina!

We are glad to realize that you had a pleasant experience with us, appreciating the calm and suggestive ambience of the Resort and the staff care, besides the great location allowing you to enjoy the magic of unique, timeless Rome...

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and let you keep enjoying your experience in the heart of the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Property: Gran Melia Rome
Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing