We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #94 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean, modern and luxurious. This is easily the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the facility is just outside the walls of Vatican City. Our room had a small outside patio, large bathtub (the kind you can submerge yourself in), and fantastic king sized bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xphilosopherking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

Since our main purpose is to turn each of our Guests' stays into unforgettable experiences, we are extremely glad to know that you enjoyed your visit to such a unique city like Rome, appreciating both our facilities and staff professionalism.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina soon, to live other WOW moments...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Their standard tariff is quite expensive (for us) at the standard rates (we booked an off-season package with BA, so our rate was good) but the overall quality of the accommodation and service were exceptional.
The bedroom was fairly small, but easily big enough to accommodate a 5ft 6in bed (or maybe it was a bit larger) plus the normal furniture and the bathroom (walk in shower able to take two) was very luxurious. Clarins bathroom supplies added a touch of exclusivity.
As to location: 10 minutes walk to St Peters / 15 minutes to the main shopping areas / Colosseum about 10 minutes walk then a 10 minute bus ride.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time spent in reporting your feedback as to your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, which you define as your best hotel ever...

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated both our facilities, furniture and design, besides the suggestive location.

We really hope to welcome you back soon to our Luxury Urban Resort and let you continue your experience in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Close to everything, phenominal service and attention to detail, modern yet old, a home away from home. Our experience was unforgettable in Rome and the Gran Melia was central to everything we wanted to do and see.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

we are extremely grateful for your lovely feedback as to the recent experience lived with us, at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are just happy to learn that we were able to transmit our service vocation to you, through our touches and attention to details, turning your stay into a unique experience...

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

2 minutes from the Vatican and Castello St Angelo

If you can afford this hotel, do not hesitate
the hotel is brand new
very clean, luxurious decor, yet simple
it is a great hotel for a stay in the heart of Rome

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Vitor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

we wish to thank you for the time spent in reporting your feedback as to your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated both our facilities, design and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to let you continue your pleasant experience in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Gran Melia Rome is an excellent hotel. It's an oasis in the middle of Rome. The staff, especially Chiara, was friendly and helpful. The facilities and rooms are pretty and comfortable and the showers are awesome. The only thing missing is an exhaust fan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define as amazing!

We are pleased to realize that you appreciated our service and facilities.

Thank you also for the kind words addressed to the staff professionalism and warm attitude, especially as regard to Chiara, who is one of our great Front Office Agents.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your unique experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We booked the Gran Melia for our honeymoon. We were treated to an upgrade. The room was still very small with a view of flats across a narrow street. I daren't think what the other rooms were like in terms of size. It was spotless though, however our dressing gowns weren't changed in 5 days. The bed was very very uncomfortable, too hard. I've come back with a very stiff neck that I can't turn. The hotel lacked in atmosphere. Probably because a packet of crisps were €6. So everyone went out. A massage €95! Just way too expensive to even consider 'treating ourselves', which we were prepared to do. Staff were very helpful and professional. Breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular. Location great, no doubt on that.
All in all a nice hotel, but certainly not worth the rates they charge. I would have expected more I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alstott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Each of our Guests’ comments is valuable for us to monitor the high service quality we strive to offer.

Since we do take the comfort of our guests very seriously at our Luxury Urban Resort, aiming to convert each journey into memorable experiences, we do regret very much to realize your discontent as to your room and the relative service.
Considering that we do provide a range of different rooms’ categories, we are always glad to be of support by changing room, according to the Hotel availability, or suggesting an upper category in compliance with the Guests’ needs.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and we are afraid to learn that you did not either appreciate the Hotel ambience which is linked to the historical and suggestive location.

I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience but you will decide to visit us again at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City, to live the experience you could not perceive this time, which is furtherly regrettably for us since it was your honeymoon. Generally, our Luxury Urban Resort is considered the most suitable property for such special occasions which are turned into memorable ones…

Please, do not hesitate contact me personally for any further information or, as I really wish, to be of support for the booking and the arrangement of your next stay.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was our first trip to Rome; a lifetimes dream. We booked what we were told was a 5 star hotel. We were disappointed to find a very small room; very little closet space; no drawers; a hard bed; expensive meals; no ice machine; and many times difficulty getting the staff to answer the phone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time taken to share your opinions about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We highly value our guests’ comments in order to constantly improve the level of service we strive to offer.

Since we take the comfort of our guests very seriously at our Luxury Urban Resort, aiming to convert each journey into memorable experiences, we do regret very much to realize your discontent as to your room.
Please, be ensured that we do provide a range of different Rooms' categories to fulfill our Guests in accordance with their needs and expectations.

In such cases, when properly informed, the Front Office team is always ready to support and meet our Guests' needs by moving room upon availability, for instance, or propose a different room's category if the one booked is not suitable for one's own comfort.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience, but you will decide to visit us again at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City.
Please, in this case, do not hesitate to contact me personally in order to choose the most suitable Room's category for your Gran Meliá Rome experience.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £163 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing