We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,652)
Filter reviews
1,652 results
Traveller rating
1,113
338
128
47
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,113
338
128
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red level premium room red glove pool area urban resort rose petals beautiful hotel lovely pool close to the vatican private garden junior suite breakfast buffet nespresso machine five star hotel tiber river our honeymoon busy city
Filter
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 1,652 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay in Rome and really enjoyed this hotel. After a day in Rome you need time to relax and get baway from the noise and traffic. This hotel is lie a little oasis in all the hustle.The gardens and outdoor areas are very tranquil, the service excellent with very helpful staff, and the room we had was very comfortable. The hotel is well located for the sights. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time taken to share your feelings about.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience while visiting such a unique city, and that you appreciated both our facilitie, location s and staff professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, to let you continue your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina: your oasis in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have visited Roma many many times and stayed at the Gran Melia for the last 3 times. I must admit that the Gran Melia is one of our favourite hotels. It is expensive but well worth it. We were upgraded during our most recent visit. They changed our bed arrangement on request from a twin to a double while we were out the first afternoon. The staff were all very helpful and attentive - especially Federica on reception and the porter staff. We enjoyed breakfast this time since it was included in our room rate - a most enjoyable experience and set us up for the rest of the day each time. Next time in Roma, next time Gran Melia,

Room Tip: We have had 3 different types of room during our last 3 stays and enjoyed each one of them
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fonzpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define as your favourite hotel!

We are pleased to realize that you appreciated our staff attentive professionalism, particularly mentioning Federica’s from Reception Department, focused on making each of our guest’s stay a great experience.

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your overall experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, enjoying both facilities and service, especially the breakfast concept.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome to let you keep living the uniqueness of the Eternal City, your favourite city...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed her with my partner this weekend and upon arriving the hotel was immaculate and very modern. The reception was quite when we arrived and we checked straight in. We were upgraded to a premier room but unfortunately it did not feel very premier, with a view overlooking scaffolding. The breakfast the next morning was very overpriced 36 euro per person with not much selection. The service in general I would not say is 5 star considering it cost £250 per night in a standard room. Also disappointedly on the Sunday there was a party which were very rowdy and drunk which wasn't in keeping with the standard of the hotel. Generally not a bad location, 5 minutes from the Vatican but disappointed as compared to previous reviews was expecting it to be excellent

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea-angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we wish to thank you for choosing to stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina and for the time taken to share your opinions about your recent experience.

Since we take the comfort of our guests very seriously at our Luxury Urban Resort, aiming to convert each journey into memorable experiences, we do regret very much to realize that we could not fulfil your expectations, as to service.

In reference to the room you were upgraded, we are sorry that you did not appreciate its view and it is a shame that we could not change it, since we do always try our best to meet our guests’ needs according to the rooms’ availability.

We do regret also to learn of your concern as to the breakfast variety, since it is based on a range of natural and biological products’ selection, coming directly form Don Alfonso’s land (our renomated Michelin starred Chef ) to make it a unique breakfast concept.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and we are sorry if we could not transmit our service vocation to you at this occasion.

Thanking you for bringing your concerns to our attention, we do hope that you will decide to come back to our Luxury Urban Resort to live a fully satisfactory experience.

Please, consider myself at your disposal for any further information and assistance.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and property. The staff is fantastic, and it's in a great location. However, we were unable to get the room to cool any lower than 26 degrees despite repeated complaints to the front desk staff. Apparently other guests had the same issue and the answer was that they don't have the AC working yet. So if certainly avoid this property if you like to stay cool at night!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank SanjayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property at the occasion of your recent visit to Rome and for the time taken to share your opinions about the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We highly value our guests’ comments in order to constantly improve the level of service we strive to offer.

While we are very glad to realize how much you appreciated our suggestive location, exclusive service and staff professionalism, we regret to learn of your discontent as to the air conditioning.
I wish to apologize for the incorrect answer you were giving while transmitting your disappointment to our staff, without being clearly explained how to proper use the system in the room, since the AC is actually working.
Moreover, the external temperature was never over 20 degrees during your stay that is why we are surprised too about the temperature of your room you mention.

Since we take the comfort of our guests very seriously at our Luxury Urban Resort, aiming to convert each journey into memorable experiences, we do regret very much not to had the opportunity to change your room at this occasion and let you live a more relaxing experience.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service, daily working to meet our guests’ needs and exceed theyr expectations.

I do sincerely hope you will decide to visit us again at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City.
Please, in this case, do not hesitate to contact me directly, in order to personally take care of all the details concerning your experience with us.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Service: lobby staff were ok, check-in/out was slow, but overall not an issue.
The room: Red-level urban suite was lovely, huge bathroom, large entrance hall which we felt was wasted space, only problem was one TV did not work and room was overlooked by a large terrace which would be an issue in high-season.
Location & amenities: You are slightly off centre, but hospitality bus is great, lovely driver and you are within easy walking distance to Trastevere for sights and restaurants (recommended). Do walk via the park at least once for an amazing view of Rome.
Liked Best: The treats waiting for us before bedtime, relaxing in the spa.
Liked least: Swimming pool and jacuzzi were not clean and we had to wait 2 days for it to be clean enough to swim; jacuzzi was never cleaned as it was considered out of season but being used to the sea around the UK this was quite Mediterranean when we finally made it in. The exec room lounge access is poor (compared to Hilton for example) and aperitvo and open bar are really not worth it. We travelled in April but clearly this was out of season and hotel was still not fully open.
Overall: Nice hotel, probably return again, but I suspect later in year (May) next time for pool. They do need to look at the Red level service as they are certainly behind what other hotels offer and DVDs, games, etc for kids would not be a bad thing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for choosing our porperty and taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our facilities and staff professionalism and attention.

Thank you for experiencing our exclusive RedLevel Service and its personalized RED touches, like the treats at night, which you express your aprreciation towards...

We are likewise pleased to know that you appreciated our YHI wellness concept, giving you relaxing moments.

On the other hand we are sorry to learn of your disappointment as to the RedLevel Lounge and the pool.
I wish to clarify that unfortunately the pool was still closed during your stay.
We are actually setting the external area -the bar and restaurants - for the upcoming season. The whole Liquid Garden & Pool concept has in fact just started to welcome the new season.

In reference to the RedLevel Lounge, while regretting that it did not meet your expectation, we wish to inform you that we are providing it with a new layout and a higher variety of food and drinks proposals to further improve the service.

Considering the overall positive perception of your recent experince with us, you have two more reasons to return and live the complete Gran Meliá Rome experience in the heart of the Eternal City...

It will be a great pleasure to personally welcome you back.

Arrivederci,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews