We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveller rating
1,095
333
124
47
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,095
333
124
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelpremium roomred glovepool areaurban resortrose petalsbeautiful hotellovely poolclose to the vaticanprivate gardenjunior suitebreakfast buffetnespresso machinefive star hoteltiber riverour honeymoonbusy city
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a great time at the Gran Melia in Rome with my wife and 2 children aged 8 & 9. Stayed in a Junior Suite which was fantastic and met our needs as a family perfectly.

A pool in Rome is a major plus!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Simon C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time taken to share your wonderful feelings about.

We are so glad to know how much you enjoyed your experience with your family, at the occasion of such a special event for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina for your future visiti to Rome, and to let you continue your family experience in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is an amazing hotel. From the moment we stepped through the reception doors we felt immediately welcome and special. Our room was small but was so beautifully decorated and well equipped it didn't bother us. We had the supreme room with private garden and we were lucky enough to have glorious sunny weather to use it, well worth the extra money. The nespresso machine was a nice little extra and when we asked for more pods and fresh milk it was quickly delivered. Bathroom was lovely, we didn't shower with the blind up - from the pictures you can see the bathroom (minus toilet) is surrounded by a glass wall but you can shower in private! Other standard facilities that you would expect in a hotel were there e.g. safe and hairdryer. We had a couple of drinks at the pool bar - complimentary snacks and well mixed cocktails, we didn't eat there but the food looked good. I didn't see many hotels in Rome with a swimming pool like this, they all seemed to be roof top ones, I could be wrong, but it was nice to have. Really comfy bed, amazing pillows - we both had a great nights sleep, the hotel was peaceful although it was full to capacity. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as we wanted to go out and have breakfast, although we did eat dinner (room service) and found the food very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, they wished my boyfriend a happy birthday, called restaurants and taxis for us and were happy to help wherever they could. I don't agree with some of the comments on tripadvisor that if you're not Redlevel the staff aren't bothered, we found this was just not the case. Overall, I highly rate this hotel - well kept grounds, very clean and tidy and great location. We can't wait to go back. If you want to eat out of the hotel, try Aroma at the Palazzo Manfredi hotel for a special occasion meal (quite pricey). Outstanding views of the Colosseum and wonderful food - just make sure that you don't go just before closing as they won't have time to make the risotto or one of the lovely looking souffles! We also ate at Open Baladin which is essentially a burger place with lots of special tap and bottled beers but with some really good proper italian food too, the scrocchette were delicious as was the ham and mozzarella. I love food and this was a good meal - good value too.

Room Tip: Supreme with private garden - on lower ground floor so very peaceful. Garden was a real treat... I am glad we didn't fork out for more pricey room as this was wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajh14878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to share such a pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define amazing!

We are pleased to realize that you appreciated our touches, since the special welcome, and all the room equipment, meant make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

Thank you also for the kind words highlighting our staff professionalism and warm attitude, meant to make each of your moments into memorable ones.

We are just happy to learn how much you enjoyed your overall experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome soon, to let you continue your luxury, romantic getaway in the heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

First stop with Adventures by Disney. New property in unbelievable location... literally across the street from the Vatican and walking distance to shops and sights. This is an oasis in the city: private, gardened, quiet, pool, restaurant, pool lounge and café...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank armone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time taken to share your happy feelings about.

We are so glad to learn how much you enjoyed your experience with us, particularly appreciating aour location and suggestive, relaxing ambience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina and let you continue your experience in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just stayed at The Gran Melia for our 25th wedding anniversary, what a beautiful hotel in a perfect location for visiting St. Peter's bascilia and The Vatican. The reception were very knowledge able about local restaurants they reserved us two separate restaurants both served lovely authentic Italian food. On our actual wedding anniversary we booked a table in the hotel restaurant. This was outstanding I am quite a fussy eater with a food intolerance. We opted for the taster menu, I explained my dietary requirement to the waiter and he assured me it wouldn't be a problem. The entire meal was beautiful and met all my dietary requirements.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Angela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Daer Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time spent in sharing your feelings about.

We are so glad to know how much you enjoyed your experience with us, at the occasion of such a special, personal event for you.

We are likewise pleased to know that the gastronomic experience at our Mediterranean restaurant, VivaVoce by Alfonso Iaccarino, made your anniversary further unforgettable.

Thank you also for highlighting our personnel professionalism and service vocation, daily addressed to make each stay into a memorable journey…

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and let you continue your romantic experience in the Eternal City, at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina...

Kindest regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We found a good deal for a holiday from London and we were very pleased upon arriving - it's a very impressive looking hotel in a perfect location. It was easy to walk around but also not expensive to take taxis if we felt like it. There was some confusion over our room as at check in they told us we had Red Level but then later told us they had made a mistake. The doors to the room seem to be more for aesthetic purposes than practicality - you can hear absolutely everything going on so it can be quite difficult to sleep. We ended up being moved twice until we were at the end of a hallway with a bed on the other side of the room to the door. We didn't find the hotel staff to be very helpful, but we were pleased enough with the hotel itself and its location. The breakfast was also less than exceptional considering its cost, but again the hotel itself provides a lovely atmosphere for all of the rooms. On our next visit we would certainly consider going back, but would be sure to get everything written and confirmed by their staff prior to arriving!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway and/or a bed far from the door - it is very noisy and the doors are far from soundproof: you can hear the other guests as well as the cleaners like they are in the room right next to you.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascade0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, particularly appreciating its facilities and suggestive location.

While being glad for the positive feelings about your stay, we also focused on the little issue related to the need to move room and your concern as to our breakfast service, which we regret, since we do take the comfort of our guests very seriously at our Luxury Urban Resort, aiming to convert each journey into memorable experiences.

We are sure that at the occasion of your future visit you will confirm such a good perception of this lived experience, maybe trying a different room category and experiencing our exclusive RedLevel service.
Please, do not hesitate to contact me directly, in order to personally address you towards the most suitable experience for you, in accordance with your need. I am sure that we will exceed your expectations…

Looking forward to personally welcoming you back soon in the Eternal City for another lovely Roman Holiday…


Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews