We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for small families! Walking distance to everything!”
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #98 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel set on beautiful grounds, very close to the Vatican! We walked all over Rome from here! The staff were really helpful and booked tickets for tours to Colosseum and the Vatican museum, for a few extra euro you completely beat the queue! Well worth it! Drinks by the pool in the sunshine are a fabulous way to end a day of sightseeing and the croque Monsieur is a great option for in room dining. We loved the Prosecco on offer at breakfast! Yum. The huge round bath in our room was so great. We travelled with our 1 year old and it was great to have grounds for her to run around! The staff were great and the grand delux room is large enough for a small family with a cot and lots of luggage :) we loved it here!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Littlebug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time spent in sharing your positive feelings about.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience, appreciating our service, particularly the pool and breakfast concept.

Thank you also for highlighting our staff professionalism and the beauty and peace of our suggestive location.

Looking forward to welcoming you back with your family to let you continue your relaxing experience in the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. It is an oasis of tranquility in a very busy city and the feeling we got on our return each day from the hustle and bustle of Rome was Aagghhh...it's good to be back! Everything was of a good standard. The breakfast was great. We had a 3 course meal included at the informal restaurant, which was a bit of a let down. Do not order the vegetable "casserole" dish. It is just a few carrots and cauliflower with some truffle shavings! And the lasagne was dreadful. The tiramisu however, saved the night! Very yummy! Our room was okay, a bit on the small size, but great shower, nice toiletries, comfortable bed and very clean.
Staff are also excellent. The service was always of a high standard.
We would definitely stay here again. There is no other hotel which could match it for location, beautiful amenities including a lovely pool area and gardens and a lovely spa facility.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foodie750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing to spend your stay in Rome at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina and for the time taken to share how pleasant it was.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your relaxing experience, defining our luxury urban resort as “an oasis of tranquillity” and that you appreciated our service and staff professionalism.

We will be waiting for you at the occasion of your next visit to the Eternal City to let you continue your fabulous stay with us...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautiful hotel in the middel of the best part of Roma. Small but nice rooms with a spectacular shower! A beautiful garden and a very nice pool-area. The surrondings are Perfectly romantic! I could stay there forever. The only problem was slow Wifee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Gina Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

we are extremely grateful for your lovely feedback as to the recent experience lived at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are plesed to realize how much you did enjoy your days in Rome, appreciating our service and facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 day break in Rome with our 4.5 month old son. It was perfect! The hotel booked us an airport transfer and we were met at the luggage carousel by our driver who helped us with all of our stuff and came with a car seat for our son. When we arrived at the hotel we were a bit early so our room wasn't ready - we had coffee and lunch by the pool while we waited which was perfect (great salads and cocktails and coffee). When our room was ready the receptionist accompanied us to the room and showed us how everything worked (really really modern facilities). The cot they provided was a proper cot rather than a travel one, and looked brand new. They provided sheets etc. as well. There was a Nespresso machine (and capsules and refills were free, very unusual), as well as an iPod dock and Clarins toiletries. We spent the afternoon sight seeing and despite not necessarily looking super central on the map we walked around all the sights very easily - it really is walking distance to all the key sights (plus by not being in the tourist centre it is MUCH quieter than some other hotels). That night we ate in Viva Voce the hotel's restaurant which has a 2 Michelin star chef as its ambassador, we had the tasting menu and it was amazing and pretty reasonable - similar prices to London (€125pp). The next night we got the hotel to book us another restaurant on a friends recommendation and they not only booked it for us, checked we were OK to bring our baby, and then I found directions posted under our room door - very helpful! On our final day the weather was glorious so we spent the morning by the pool, which is lovely. We had breakfast included in our programme, my only criticism would be that because I had porridge we had to pay an additional €12. This seems a bit tight when you have already paid for breakfast and because I had porridge I only ate some fruit from the buffet - so essentially paid twice! That being said, the breakfast selection was fabulous. All in all a great hotel - not cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for! I would highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We went for a deluxe room (the standard option) and it was great - I wouldn't bother paying more...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define as luxury in the centre of Rome!

We are pleased to realize how much you enjoyed your experience, since the very beginning form the airport, appreciating all our touches and service, like the Gastronomic restaurant and breakfast concepts, besides the suggestive location framing our property.
Thank you also for the kind words highlighting our staff professionalism. We are just happy that we were able to transmit you our passion for service and could turn your stay into such a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina to let you continue your unique experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Everything was amazing just few details did not much such an expensive 5 star as: room service (asked for 4 days just the breakfast, abundant caffe latte and fresh grapefruit juice, if not available fresh orange juice. We never got it right only once we receive fresh squeezed juice other 3 times preserved one. Caffe latte went from small to smaller first 2 days and then finally they got it)
Shower & bath amazing but truly dangerous because of accessibility and no anti slippery carpets.
Internet code to be type every time you log in was bit boring.
Confirmed late check out was denied at 11am of check out day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Maged L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina at the occasion of your recent stay in Rome and for taking the time to share your opinions about.
We are glad to realize that you lived a pleasant experience overall, despite some of your concerns which we are sorry about.
Please, be ensured that I provided to share your comments with the departments directly involved for immediate intervention both as to internet connection and room service.

Thanking you for your valuable support, we do look forward to welcoming you back to “la Dolce Vita”…

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently in a Junior Suite Red Level. A bit disappointed with the room, even though we upgraded to a loft suite (at a cost). The red level (which we had experienced in Palma) was no where near as good - the drinks/canapés (of a sort) were there - but on both evenings we had to ask for glasses and plates and ice! The red level lounge definitely lacked any ambience.

The red glove ladies were helpful, especially when it came to restaurant recommendations, but the dedicated "check out" was non existent.

We did attempt to have dinner in the main restaurant one evening (the menu looked lovely despite one guy working in there looking down his nose at us), but they could not fit us in - so we went to the less formal restaurant, which was good and had very friendly staff.

In general a shame really, as Melia Victoria in Palma had been so good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your last stay in Rome with us and for taking the time to share your opinions about.

We highly value each of our guests’ comments as an important tool to constantly monitor and improve the level of service we strive to offer.

While glad to realize that you appreciated our staff professional and attentive attitude and the Casual Restaurant experience, we do regret to learn that our RedLevel Lounge did not meet your expectations, since as you know it is an intimate space specifically addressed to our RedLevel guests in order to make their experience even more special and luxury.

We do hope that you will have soon the chance to visit the Eternal City again, and decide to stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina in order live the experience at our gastronomic restaurant Vivavoce, and the improvements made in our Lounge according to your suggestions.

Please, consider myself at your disposal for any further need.

Kindest Regards,
Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The good: most of the staff have a good service attitude. New rooms with classy modern deco. Nice grounds. Decent sized rooms for Rome.

The ok: location is close to the Vatican but on the other side of the river from all the other major sites. 5 to 20 minutes of additional walking to most places, compared to the other grand hotels (Hassle, de Russie, etc.). On the other hand, it is quieter.

The bad: this hotel is a part of a chain that includes many other average hotels with presumably lower service levels, and it shows in certain hotel policies. The hotel Internet speed is very slow, sometimes not much faster than a dial-up modem (remember those?), even during the middle of the night, presumably due to some kind of rationing policy in place. Reading plain emails is ok, but big attachments and sites with graphics are unacceptably slow. Video is impossible. In this day and age, this is not acceptable. We stayed at a junior suite, with a "Red-Level" lounge area. When I tried to take a cup of coffee to my room, a staff (Samuel) stopped me and said that it is against "hotel policy." In a Hilton, a staff can and may even be expected to enforce such a policy, but when the hotel tries to charge 650 euros a night, its staff should help a guest carry the coffee to his room, instead of stopping him, as long as the guest is not abusing his/her lounge privileges.

Take away: stay here if you are willing to trade some convenience for tranquility. Stay here if you are paying below 500 euros. Don't stay there if you are paying the prices of the other grand hotels in Rome and are expecting perfect and consistent service honed over many decades.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank B_Shao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spends your last stay in Rome with us and for taking the time to share your opinions about.
we highly value each of our guests’ comments as an important tool to constantly monitor and improve the level of service we strive to offer.

While glad to realize that you appreciated our location and staff warm and professional attitude, we do regret to learn your discontent mainly related to our internet speed, according to your specific needs.

Since, we take the comfort of our guests very seriously at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, and considering the importance of Internet nowadays, we do offer the service free of charge, contrary to many other five stars hotels.
Expressing again our regret for not fully meeting your expectations, let me inform you the maintenance department is currently working on the mentioned service in order to further improve it.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience but you will decide to visit us again at the occasion of your future visit to the Eternal City, to live the complete experience you could not perceive at this occasion.

Please, consider myself at your disposal for any need.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £206 - £656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing