We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Rome
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel La Rovere(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lungara(Rome)
View Hotel
Emmaus(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Residenza Paolo VI(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,533)
Filter reviews
1,533 results
Traveller rating
1,035
313
114
46
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,035
313
114
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelpremium roomred glovepool arearose petalsbeautiful hotelclose to the vaticanlovely poolprivate gardenjunior suiteluxury hotelnespresso machinebreakfast buffettiber riverour honeymoonbusy cityeternal city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 1,533 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had an amazing stay at Gran Melia.
I booked this hotel for my husbands 40th Birthday as a surprise. The staff helped me to make a great experience.
We had a dinner at Viva Voce Restaurant. They also made a Birthday Cake for him. The food was delicious!!
The pool is great!
I would also like to thank the staff for a wonderful job!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooking i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina at the occasion of this important event for your husband.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience, described as “amazing”, particularly appreciating the VivaVoce dinner and the surprise by our chef for your husband, as birthday wishes.

Thank you for the kind words highlighting the staff professionalism and attitude, meant to turn each guest’s experience into unforgettable moments… we are just happy to know that we could convert yours in such an amazing one!

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon to let you continue your experience in the Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was totally impressed with this hotel and have stayed here several times. The service is warm and attentive, and the staff seems genuine. The entire hotel is designed well - very modern while maintaining respect for the history. (I heard the property was owned by the Vatican, and leased by Melia.) I love the glass shower in the middle of the room (although I can see how that may be a problem if you are traveling with your family, or friends. Room service is fast with great food (especially the coffee - I love a hotel with great coffee!) Best of all is the location - we had a great view of St. Peter's from our room! We walked everywhere - which is always fun to to do in Rome - close to the Vatican, Piazza Navona and the Trastevere. The only bad thing that happened is that on our second visit - when we were leaving - we had ordered a car to take us to the airport. It seems that the front desk forgot and it took about 20 minutes for a cab to arrive, luckily we had the time to wait. These things happen, though. The car (a Mercedes) is about the same a taxi - so we would recommend having the front desk reserve one for you, why not? In summary, I love this hotel - it's on my top 10 list.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOLAEXPLORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we are extremely grateful for your lovely feedback following the recent experience lived with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina, while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our historical property -framed in a suggestive and comfortable location- and attentive service by our professional team.

Thank you also for highlithing the high quality of Room Service that, together with the rest of food and beverage outlets, create such a unique and great concept, driven by the two Michelin starred chef, Don Alfonso Iaccarino.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your 'first class' experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very beautiful, comfortable and relaxing hotel situated in an excellent location next to the vatican. Very friendly staff.
I would have wished the hotel pool to be heated...this would have made the experience perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our service & facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your 'beautiful' experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, with fabulous rooms.
Great service.
Wonderful bar & restaurant, with a decent breakfast selection.
We stayed in January so were unable to take advantage of outdoor pool & facilities.
We didn't use the spa, but would definitely take time out there on a future visit.
Perfect hotel for a trip to Rome. Highly recommend it & will be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyDay247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time spent in sharing your positive feelings about.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience, described as “fabulous” and that you appreciated our overall service, with special mention to the Food and Beverage unique concept.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to let you continue your wonderful experience in the Eternal City, taking the time to enjoy also the Spa facilities and the outdoor amazing pool...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at Gran Melia Resort end of May 2014, to celebrate wedding anniversary. Had a very easy and simple check-in process, and the room was large and spacious. Outdoor pool was lovely and not overcrowded. Same with hotel spa facilities - cost a little on the steep side spa treatments, and even have to pay for access to spa area if you wish to use. but was totally relaxing and not over crowded. Breakfast was very good with alot of variety. Staff very friendly, and they even brought us choc strawberries n bottle of bubbly on our first night as they knew we were there to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.
Rooms are well equipped with fridge, plenty of cupboards to store away clothes and bags. Complimentary bottle of water daily in the room with turn-down service. Only thing that wasn't available in room was iron (due to health & safety reasons), so pack prepared for this. Huge beds, and they even have a selection of pillows that you can choose from, depending on the type of firmness you prefer.
Hotel is ideally located, and walking distance to all main sites. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t112p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your wonderful experience at our Luxury Urban Resort, which you define as a peaceful retreat in the middle of the City.

We are extremely pleased to realize how much you enjoyed the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina experience, at the occasion of your 1st wedding anniversary, appreciating our “RED touches” we like to personalize our guests’ stay with, to make their moments as Eternal and Memorable like the City hosting us.

Thank you also for the kind words addressed to our staff professionalism and attetive attitude, besides the high level of quality service of Spa and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your beautiful experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews