We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Heart of the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Melia Rome
Ranked #87 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Heart of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gran Melia. We loved the location as it was within walking distance to the Vatican, and to the great restaurants/night life in Trastevere and Pizza Novana areas. One of the best parts about he hotel was the pool! Especially for our family, it was great to take a break in the late afternoon and relax by the pool to rejuvenate before we headed back out for dinner. The service was very good, our room was updated with a nice layout for a family of 4, and we truly enjoyed our stay. The only thing I might do differently is request a room on one of the upper floors. Ours was on one of the bottom floors of the hotel, so it felt a bit dark as we looked out into an alley way.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wfitzgerald4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time spent in sharing your positive feelings about.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience, staying in what you define “a great hotel” and that you appreciated our exclusive service, the location and the relaxing pool area.

Since we do provide a range of different room’s categories, please, do not hesitate to contact me in the future, in order to suggest the most suitable one for you and your family, better according to your needs and preferences. I would be pleased to personally assist you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and let you keep enjoying the magic of the Eternal City.

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    272
    100
    36
    19
See reviews for
357
642
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

For an in-city hotel Gran Melia is amazing and surprising. Beautiful lawn and pool. Soothing and relaxing after a day of sightseeing, but walking distance to many of the city sites. We walked to the Great Synagogue, the Pantheon, the Vatican, piazza Bernini, Castle San Angelo and other sites. You can see the wall of the Vatican from the hotel-just across the street. The Tiber is a short walk out of the resort driveway.

From the front of the hotel or the patio bar you would have no idea that you are in the middle of the city.

The room was small (not surprising in a city hotel) but luxurious and lovely. Bed was very comfortable, pillow menu if you are fussy :). The shower may have been the best shower I ever had with excellent pressure and body sprays as well as overhead.

The pool was beautiful. The food in the restaurant was delicious. Breakfast buffet very nice.

The front desk and concierge very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisei2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

we are grateful for the time you spent in sharing your feedback as to your recent stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our facilities, the location and staff professionalism, besides the gastronomic experience through the Restaurants and breakfast service.

We really hope to welcome you back soon and let you continue your "amazing and surprising" experience in the heart of Eternal City...

Best regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wonderful hotel! Stayed with our son during the hot summer in Rome. The pool provided a terrific break, and kept everyone relaxed for sightseeing.

Pros:
Warm, attentive service - the staff was wonderful, and so helpful
Pool was fantastic
Breakfast buffet has something for everyone
Clean, elegant design
Great location! Close to the Vatican, a short taxi to the Coliseum, and a 20 minute walk to Trastevere
Very comfortable bed, great A/C

Cons:
Lunch at the pool was expensive, and the food wasn't great
No view from our room

Tips:
The hotel sets up tours; Tours leave right from the hotel, with guides who were excellent; much better option than the outside tour company we used
Trastevere is close, and has terrific restaurants
Taxi to the airport is half the cost of the airport shuttle, and more convenient

Room Tip: Ask about the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for the precious time you dedicated in sharing your opinions about the recent stay at Gran Melia Rome Villa Agrippina.

We really appreciate any comments and feedbacks from our guests because they are a valuable tool to further improve and assure a high quality of the services we strive to offer.

We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us while visiting the magic Eternal City, particularly highliting the staff attentive attitude, the breakfast service and the tour Company we suggest to live an authentic experience in the history...

Thanking you again for your support, we do look forward to welcoming you back to your "oasis" for your future visit to Rome.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having stayed here and experienced the combination of location, rooms, service and amenities I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else for a vacation in Rome. We were very keen on a centrally located room with a pool - and perhaps unsurprisingly options were rather limited. However we came up trumps with this hotel - and the ability to spend a couple of hours by the pool after a day of hot sightseeing is a godsend. The service was fantastic - really made you feel welcome - particularly at breakfast which is excellent. Rooms are perhaps slightly on the small side - but that's not a major complaint. This is not a cheap option - but I've stayed in more expensive hotels which have not been as good.

Room Tip: All rooms were good - but currently there are some renovations by the reatuarant and pool - so try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we are grateful to you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Rome at our Luxury Urban Resort and for the time spent in sharing such a great experience.

We are glad to know how much you enjoyed both our service –particularly the breakfast-, facilities and location, defining the Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina ‘the place to stay’!

We look forward to welcoming you back at Gran Meliá Rome to let you continue your unique experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with our kids, ages 10 & 12. Pool was fabulous, with excellent service all around. Breakfast was really amazing, and our connected rooms could not have been better...a room with two twins for our kids, and a room with a king for us. In-room espresso made for a lovely treat, as did turn-down service with chocolate every night. Location was just OK...kind of a hike down the hill (and back up later on) to dinner and most sites in Rome, but very quick walk to Vatican.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we wish to express our gratitude for taking the time to report your pleasant stay at our Luxury Urban Resort.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina while visiting such a unique city like Rome, and that you appreciated our facilities, location and exclusive service.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our property to let you and your family continue your 'impressive' experience in the historical heart of the Eternal City...

Yours sincerely,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Gran Melia. The hotel is in a great location within 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 20 minute walk to the Spanish steps. The service at the hotel is excellent and the staff always friendly and willing to help. The prices are expensive cocktails were between 16-22 euros but the lovely canapés that came with the drinks made the price seem more reasonable . Staying at this hotel defiantly made the trip to Rome a great experience and having the pool to relax at was great. On our 4th day we were exhausted from all the walking around Rome and spent the day by the pool they even brought round free fruit in the middle of the day to the guests that were sun bathing.
The only downside to our stay was that I originally booked a standard room and when the receptionist showed us the room the view was of a building that was covered in scaffolding yes it was a standard room (which the receptionist emphasised to us) but costing £300 a night I expected there to be some sort of view. We asked for an upgrade and the room that we ended up staying was very nice with a view of the Vatican and pool however this did come at an extra cost to us of 100 euros per night but it was defiantly worth it with a great bathroom. If booking this hotel and wanting a view do not book a standard room to avoid disappointment. Overall our stay at the hotel was wonderful and we would defiantly return, yes it is pricy but the service and standard of hotel, with a pool in the heart of Rome is well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we are extremely grateful for your lovely feedback as to the recent experience lived with us.

Your kind words addressed to staff professionalism and highlighting our excellent service and great location mean a reason of great pride and motivation for us all, since we daily work with passion to provide high quality service to our Guests.

We are happy to learn that we were able to transmit such service vocation to you, turning your stay into such a great experience...

Finally, according to the original room category you booked, we are glad to know that we were able to please you in moving to a different, upper category which contributed to make the difference for your overall experience at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina.

Looking forward to wecloming you back soon and let you keep enjoying your 'fabolous hotel' in the Eternal City...

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The gardens and the pool of this well located hotel make it the place to stay if in Rome during summer. The walled complex sits very close to The Vatican and only a short walk from the major sites of Rome. Going through the gates and having an afternoon swim after spending the day exploring this magnificent city was certainly a highlight.
We had the added convenience of our own garden and spa as well as the Red Glove service which was outstanding. The staff were brilliant, the decor combining new and historic elements appropriate and the rooms extra large in our case. The Hotel is next to two hospital which meant intermittent ambulance sirens were not uncommon as background noise.
On the whole it was a great stay, which was not cheap but of a high standard. The price of cocktails and gelato by the pool was more than comparable resorts/hotels we have stayed at throughout the world. It does have a Michelin star restaurant which was very good but not the best meal we had in Italy.

Room Tip: Family apartment with spa and garden was perfect for 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanaliSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Rome, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

fistly, we are grateful to you for choosing our historical and luxury property for your holidays in Rome, and for the time taken in sharing your positive feedback about.

We are happy to learn how much you enjoyed your "oasis in Rome", living our exclusive RedLevel service and appreciating the staff attentive professionalism.

Thank you also for experiencing our facilities, like Spa, pool and Restaurants which further enriched your great stay at Gran Meliá Rome Villa Agrippina with your family.

We look forward to receving you back soon, in the heart of the Eternal City.

Kindest Regards,

Maria Ansalone
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Rome

Property: Gran Melia Rome
Address: Via del Gianicolo 3, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening in 2012 of the exclusive resort Gran Meliá Rome, located in the historical and cultural heart of the Eternal City. Discover a luxury hotel located just 5 minutes walk from the Vatican and 15 minutes from the principal attractions of Rome (Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, Panteón, Castel Sant´Angelo or the popular neighbourhood of Trastevere). Experience the magic of classic Rome and enjoy this Garden of Eden in the very heart of the city, which is located in the old Villa Agrippina, belonging to Emperor Nero’s mother.In our 116 elegantly decorated rooms and deluxe suites, you will enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Vatican, Castel Saint Angelo or the beautiful gardens. You will have full facilities available to you, with elegant bathrooms, free WIFI Internet, Clarins® luxury amenities, Nespresso® coffeemaker, Ipod Docking Station, all in your room. Spectacular hydromassages, terraces and private gardens in superior categories. All rooms include access to our YHI Spa & Wellness Centre, Melia Hotels own line of Spas.Discover a unique hotel in the city and experience the most exclusive and personalised luxury of our RedLevel service, our Boutique within the Hotel. Elegant traditional décor with surprising avant-garde touches and luxurious details will make your stay a unique one. Italian and international haut cuisine, creative and signature gastronomy, magnificent private botanical gardens, spectacular terraces and panoramic views of the centre of Rome combine to conjure up a magical setting.This spectacular deluxe resort located on the banks of the romantic Tiber River, is surrounded by a 7.500 m2 park, outside pool and hydromassage with Vitality Pool. Its impeccable personalised attention and butler service, magnificent YHI Spa and Wellness Centre, sauna, interior relaxation area, Fitness area with personal trainer, Beauty Centre, gastronomic areas and fashionable lounge, will change your concept of a deluxe resort in the centre of Rome. Enjoy this Paradise in the centre of the most romantic city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gran Melia Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing