We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't confuse with Ciro”
Review of Zio Mario

Zio Mario
Ranked #9,824 of 12,438 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trevi
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't confuse with Ciro”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I looked at reviews online and confused this place with a placed called Ciro, which had very good reviews. Don't make the same mistake that we made!

This place hands out deals on flyers out front - that should have been our first indication that we should not eat there. However, we were hungry and wanted something quick and cheap. We do not recommend this place at all.

We sat in the back, where there was AC, but no Wifi. We ordered a couple of the specials (pizza plus wine or soda for $10 euro). The pizza was decent but the other food ordered was not very good - Caprese sandwich, fried zucchini flower, etc. We sent one dish back because my niece did not like it (fried bread with mozzarella - basically a grilled cheese). She said it tasted like old grease. When we got the bill - they refused to take it off - $9 euros for a grilled cheese my niece did not eat.

On top of that, they charged a 15% service charge. They kept calling it a tax and said we had to pay it. I made it very clear that it was not a tax and we were not happy with the service we received. In the end, we paid the bill, but we refuse to ever eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    44
    57
    44
    125
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Riped off.”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

It was horrible! So bad, it was funny. We got 4 slices of pizza and 2 sandwiches and 3 bottles of coke for 46 euro, we where taken. We couldn't even cut through the bread with a sharp knife. We had a good laugh about it.because it was so bad. Do not go here. Sooo not worth it. Just keep walking unless you need new teeth, in which case this may be cheaper than paying the dentist go an extraction.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tardis4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food. For sure not italian classic”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Risotto was swimming in a liquid ( it tasted ok, but for sure was not the classic risotto you would expect in Italy ;( The worst part was that they charged us 15% service charge. Not how it should be and for sure not a custom in Rome.

Helpful?
Thank katulienka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
“Not good”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

My feta basil & parmasin pasta had no basil and my mussel , clam , octopus risotto had 1clam. When I got the bill they charged an extra 15% and called it tax . Food was edible but i wouldn't go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Walkingpat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cannock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ripped off”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Have just returned from Rome, we sat down at this restaurant and we ordered a beer the waiter said small or large. I said large and a waitress brought out crisps and nuts, then the waiter appeared with 3 one litre glasses of beer, we also had one pizza and one sandwich which came to 56 euros so the beer was 14 euro each. When we were leaving the other two tables were also complaining of being ripped offdefinitely do not go to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malcolms758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zio Mario also viewed

 

Been to Zio Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing