We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely the best place to stay in Rome”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Planimetry
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Planimetry
Living room 1
Living room 2
Bed room 1
Bed room 2
Balcony 1
Balcony 2
Studio 1
Studio 2
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Travel2Li...
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best place to stay in Rome”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and two girls stayed at this wonderful cottage in a very authentic neighbourhood. We loved the location and our hosts were incredible. Even after our delayed arrival due to getting on the bus at the train station going the opposite direction. The location is fantastic, even with the stairs. The local grocer and restaurants were extremely friendly and very helpful. The cottage and outdoor space was fabulous. We loved the terrace and outdoor private space. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. Beds were very comfortable and the place was spotless!! We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Rome and we tell anyone who is planning, that this cottage is the perfect oasis in busy Rome!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the location and spaciousness. Very clean and location was amazing.
Liked least: sitting down to shower, but we managed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
697Jane
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We booked L’Orangerie for two weeks in August 2014. The property was clean and well equipped. There were plenty of towels and ample extra pillows. The kitchen was well equipped and dishwasher tablets were provided along with tea towels. There is a huge fridge which was able to take all our food shopping together with bottles of wine and beer!

The patio area is superb and very comfortable. The washing machine is located in a separate area on the patio and this was modern and very efficient. There are facilities provided to hang out your washing together with pegs.

The bath although a little small was adequate. There were plenty of toilet rolls provided together with soap/shower gel. There was ample hot water (the water did get very hot).

The air conditioning in the bedroom is modern (you can set the controls for sleep mode – this makes it virtually silent). The bed was large and very comfortable. The bedroom was spacious and there was no noise from the street outside.

The property is situated in a quiet and safe residential area. The bus and tram stops are nearby. There is a drinking water fountain at the top of the steps which lead down to the No. 8 tram stop. The water here is cold and is convenient for topping up water bottles before you head out for the day.

The property is very comfortable, modern, clean and well equipped. There is ample storage for clothes in the hallway upstairs.

Giacinto is an exceptional host. We received an email on the second day of our stay asking us if everything was okay and to our satisfaction. We had been bitten with mosquitoes the evening before whilst enjoying the beautiful terrace. He very kindly told us what to buy at the supermarket to eliminate the problem.

We have no hesitation in recommending L’Orangerie and we will definitely return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun terrace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhnygaard
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This place looks too good to be true, but in reality it's even better!

The house is compact, but perfect in every way. All you need is provided. Really nice terraces. The owners used to live in the house and have clearly put some effort into making this place special.
Very kind and helpful host. Even helped to arrange a happy birthday-welcome for my daughter upon the arrival!
Nice and quiet neighbourhood, easy parking, grocery store, café etc. max 100 m away.
Perfect location on a hill, walking distance to city centre and easy tram and bus connections.
Stayed 3 nights with kids, would like to come back for a longer stay next time! The city itself and this house make you want to stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the terraces and the location
Liked least: What's not to like!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAKH
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Rome”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is lovely, compact but well designed for comfort and the kitchen is very well equipped. The jewel is really the terrace; we had breakfast there every morning and sun downers in the evening. The location is perfect as it is close to the centre but away from the noise. Don't even think about driving a car in the city centre as it is impossible to park unless you want to a a fortune for underground parking. The owner is very helpful and gave us several recommendations for restaurants etc in the area. The two we tried were easy walking distance from the cottage were very good and reasonably priced. In fact everything you need is in walking distance. Bonus is free parking on the street outside the cottage. Highly recommended and we would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful terrace
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kam75
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived in Rome on Christmas Day and stayed until January 6th. The owners of l'Orangerie were absolutely wonderful to work with... since we got in on a holiday, Giacinto arranged for us to have a hot meal which was a wonderful surprise and hugely appreciated. Knowing that local shops might be closed around this time (Christmas is traditionally celebrated December 24 through January 6 in Italy), our refrigerator was stocked with basics--including wine. I know some reviews said how easy the payment process was, but I had a hard time with the wire transfer. Luckily, Giacinto said I could pay upon arrival. He also arranged for airport pick-up/ drop-off. What a gracious host!

For us, the location was perfect. Very centrally located. The Vatican is approximately 2 miles from the house as is Castel Sant'Angelo, Colesseum, Trevi Fountain, etc. We got lost in the city exploring everything. We never used the city transport because everything is relatively in walking distance. Yes, the stairs on return were at times grueling, but manageable. I go to the gym so I appreciated the daily workout. Trastevere has wonderful restaurants and they are often less expensive than other areas of the city. Around the corner from the house, Caffe Poerio makes wonderful cappuccinos (Italy has the best...only if they had a large to-go cup) and next door to that is a small grocery store. Another few blocks, we discovered a lovely bakery/ bar where at night we'd enjoy a nice glass of wine with a yummy dessert. I think it's called Bar Pasticceria?

The house itself is very cute. Being the time of year we went, we never took advantage of the terraces, but I could see how this would be an advantage with good weather. As others have stated, the pictures portray the real thing. And the price... what a wonderful plus! We took advantage of it with a quick trip to Florence. Ordinarily, I wouldn't pay for a place if I wasn't staying in it, but the price allowed us this luxury and bringing handheld instead of luggage through the cobblestone streets of Florence was ideal. Only one word of caution: be careful going down the stairs. I went down with slippery slippers and almost lost it. Go barefoot or have shoes on!

I love Italy and Rome is my favorite...I wonder if I had stayed elsewhere other than l'Orangerie, if I'd still have this opinion? Thank you Giacinto for the wonderful accommodations and sorry it took me over 6 months to write this review!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cute house in a perfect location.
Liked least: Handheld shower...but not enough to taint my opinion of the house!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hideaway in a quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Yes, it really does look just like the pictures! We had our breakfast and lattes on the upstairs terrace, which has a nice view of the street. The house is lovely, and clean and comfortable, and it was easy to get to town. We enjoyed returning to the quiet neighborhood and relaxing on the patio after a busy day. All amenities are close by. Definitely do your grocery shopping at the open-air market--the free-range eggs are spectacularly good. Our landlord, Giacinto, and caretaker/housekeeper, Elda, were very helpful with arranging transport, helping us find addresses, and anything else that we needed. We recommend this great place very highly and would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming, beautiful, and comfortable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdale123
Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a great location.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Excellent, huge terrace for relaxing. House was well equipped and spacious. Easy access to transport and local restaurants. In a normal Rome suburb so it was nice to get away from the touristy areas and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hard mattress!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing