We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great distraction from the endless churches and ruins of Rome”

Museo Criminologico
Ranked #333 of 1,516 things to do in Rome
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great distraction from the endless churches and ruins of Rome”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

After spending three days in Rome with three small boys, they were keen to do something other than go and visit another church or Roman ruin, so the Crime Museum was a great alternative. It's really low key with a small entrance on a side road and very cheap to enter (kids go free). The museum starts with the history of crime and punishment in Rome, particularly focusing on the more gruesome aspects of medieval punishments. It then travels forward through to more modern times and touches on a variety of different crimes with examples and exhibitions of many of them, such as a large collection of confiscated guns, fake money, and pornography (for the prudish North Americans out there travelling with children, they may well be exposed to pictures of naked boobs, but given the preponderance of naked boobs in Roman architecture, I think they will be fine)

You could probably easily kill an hour or two in here and my boys actually rated it as one of the best things they did in Rome (kids, hey? *tsck*!) The place was practically empty when we were there (February), but I can't imagine it ever gets that busy given the proximity to sights like the Pantheon and the Piazza Navona

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank passepartout-tout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Only 2 euro entry, and I had the place to myself. The museum is pretty easy to find, but I found the man at the ticket booth knew no English but that's okay because you can just practice your basic Italian to ask if the museum is open. Free lockers are provided, and you can take photographs.

The beginning is different torture devices, with cute little dioramas displaying how they were used on people. The museum goes through many different rooms and up a flight of stairs, the descriptions are mainly in Italian but most of them have an English translation underneath. They cover the history of crime, with great items of interest. Lots of morbid stuff, but also criminal items, such as ropes and lock picks. I liked the small collection of Jail tattoo guns, made from pens.
The museum ends with a room filled with guns!

Definitely worth a visit and a way to spend the morning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Value for money”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Just as everyone else below describes....excellent value for money and if you fancy a change from all the major tourist attractions/have a couple of spare hours and don't want to be surrounded by crowds this is definitely worth a visit.
The suitcase that was used to contain a kidnapped man that arrived in Rome airport in 1964 was worth the 2 euros alone.............
English description available for many of the displays and those that didn't you just have to use your imagination!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Binlick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
998 reviews
675 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
“The dark and brutal history of Rome.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

At times I have a fascination for the dark side of history, unfortunately good comes with the bad. A visit to the criminal museum in Rome hit the spot, inexpensive at 2 euros each, the museum is very quiet, there were very few visitors there on the day of our 2 hour visit.
The museum is housed in a three storey 19th century building which once was a prison, the collection contains punishment and torture devices used over the centuries. On the top floor there are display cabinets which outline individual crimes which caught the attention of the public in the 1940s and 50s, and contains the actual weapons and evidence of the crime. The crimes are appalling, sickening. All the displays are in Italian but there are enough translated to English, or just one look tells the story. Check the website for the limited opening times so you do not miss out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fasinating and gruesome!”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

After spending a week in Rome, we were looking for something to do that did not involve statues or religion! Although hard to find its well worth a visit, there is no charge and when we visited we had the place to ourselves on Easter Saturday! There are some fasinating sights and some horrifing implements of torture.
The displays relating to real murder cases were fasinating, only criticism not all of the displays were translated.

Helpful?
Thank Passpertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Museo Criminologico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing