We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Santa Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Santa Sofia
Ranked #30 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Special place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a solo visit to Rome.

It was a great place to stay and very reasonably priced ( Accommodation in Rome is expensive!).
The room was very basic, with a cupboard, single bed, bedside table, table and chair. All I needed was a place to sleep, so it was more than enough.

The breakfast was basic with cereals, breads, rolls, jams etc.

It was VERY VERY clean and I loved the smell of incence as well as the very early morning singing from the church next door. Do not worry! It is not loud enough to wake you up!

The people having drinks and dinner on the piazza however, will be loud enough to keep you awake! I was given the option to take a room with a view, or something quieter that did not face the piazza.

I chose the room with a view, but I took earplugs especially for that reason. I would say rather choose a room that face the back of the property. You will get a better night rest and the view is not really worth it. Rather go to the piazza for a drink or take in the rest of Rome's sites.

The location was excellent! The Collosseum is short walk away with many pizza places and little restaurants in the area. I arrived by train from the airport, and it was an easy walk from the station.

The nuns and other staff were all very friendly and helpful.

I won't even look for another place to stay when I am in Rome again.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, do not choose a room facing the noisy Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizJou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    171
    52
    17
    6
See reviews for
41
96
101
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 9 nights at this hotel in May 2014. I was traveling with a group of university students. The nuns were welcoming, proficient, and helpful as I tried to speak Italian. I loved that twice a day the aroma of incense would waft through the hallways from worship at the church next door. The rooms are small, basic, and very clean. We stayed for 5 nights, left for Sorrento for 2 nights, and then returned for 4 more nights. They permitted us to leave our luggage in one room at no charge so we only needed to take our backpacks with us for the mini-trip. It was very kind and convenient! Breakfast is typical... breads, spreads, cereals and juices. We felt very safe and were in a great neighborhood. One drawback: the Piazza della Madonna dei Monti is night central for the Monti neighborhood. People sat around the fountain talking, laughing and drinking until 1 a.m. or later. A room with a window on the piazza can be noisy for sleeping. I also had a room on the inside for part of the stay and it had little/no breeze from the interior shaft. One final note: one morning it was raining and a nun put out a container full of umbrellas for us to use for the day! So thoughtful! All in all, a good stay!

Room Tip: If you can get used to the hum of people, a room with a window on the Piazza is worth the breeze and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I picked this place for our stay in Rome based on the location and price. We took a taxi from Roma Termini (since we arrived after 10 pm). It was hardly a 10 minute drive and the gentleman at the night desk told us how much it would cost. They do allow check-in till 11:45 pm, but it is a good idea to call ahead. There is free WiFi in the room and the lounge area. The WiFi signal was weak in our room, but it was not important for us.

The hotel is operated by the nuns, who are simply wonderful! The rooms are simple and modest. Our room had a twin bed and attached bathroom. The room was very clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was simple (complimentary) and at a convenient time. For security reasons they do lock the automatic doors at night (although there is no curfew). If you do plan to return late to the room, I would recommend you talk to the person at the front desk as they will tell you the procedure to get in. There is also a lift to the rooms on the upper floors.

Just outside the entrance to the hotel is a square with a fountain and small restaurants and cafes around it. It does tend to get a little noisy in the evenings but my wife and I never felt insecure or frightened as the people who hang out there are not really the trouble making type. Besides, there are policemen standing there at times.

The Colosseum is just a stones throw away and we found this very convenient. The nearest metro stop is Cavour and is a 5 minute walk. There are some really good and affordable eating options around the hotel which we found very convenient.

Overall, a simple, neat and clean hotel in a great location and easy on the pocket. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is not caught up on luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have air condition but have air coolers which is equally good but may be a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostock, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Likes: One of the staff was especially very friendly and addressed our concerns, Clean atmosphere, Excellent location (300m to Colosseum), Good breakfast.

Dislikes:
The 1st room we stayed looking over the plaza was extremely noisy and too small.

Overall I would say this is a budget friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from the streets due to noises specially during weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuvakrithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

An old nunnery /seminary..still run by some nuns...some helpful...some not!! Man inthe evenings manning the reception was not helpful!
Good location to walk all over Rome.
Nice little piazza outside...restaurants....a hub in the evenings. Lovely little church opposite...check it out!
Rooms have no outlook really...especially inside facing ones so no where to suggest and relax in pleasant surroundings after a long day of walking...just tiny little rooms...like really tiny!! But they are clean!
Good wifi most of the time. Breakfast was ok but typically all cold!
Lots of positives for a cheap stay...good location!

Room Tip: Maybe request a room facing the piazza though it may be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The room is pretty average...
Decent breakfast, just ok for the amount you pay.
Very good location, right in the middle of the city with good connectivity by public transport.(Nearest metro is Cavour)
Lots of eateries & retaurants in the vicinity and Colosseum is just a 5 min walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwini I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This place run by nuns is a wonderful place to stay in Rome. I was looking for accommodation that was easy to get to and value for money. The price was very reasonable. I was travelling alone and dragging a big suitcase around, so wanted to stay close to the Metro. This place is very close to the Cavour Metro in Rome. easily accessible from the main train station in Rome, Roma Termini Stazione. Casa Santa Sophia looks onto a nice Piazza with a fountain. One also felt very safe in this area, especially when coming back after sunset. The piazza was always full of life, and Via Cavour close by had lots of restaurants and tourists walking around. The view from my room each day was great. The room was always very neat and tidy, and the staff friendly. Breakfast was sufficient. There are also many restaurants and shops nearby. Good location to go see the Roman Forum and Colosseum. They even provided a map of Rome for free. I travelled around with this map, which was very useful. All in all, if you are looking for budget and clean accommodation. This is it. I would stay here again, and recommend this place.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room facing onto the Piazza. Great view to wake up to, and nice to see people m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineK2014Apr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#83 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Trevi Palace Hotel
Trevi Palace Hotel
#234 of 3,755 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,590 of 3,755 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Sofia

Property: Casa Santa Sofia
Address: Piazza della Madonna Dei Monti 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Santa Sofia 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Santa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing